We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked my return trip before i even left!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I led a yoga retreat to Present Moment last January. We all had such an amazing experience that we've already signed up for another retreat this coming January, and 7 of the 12 students that came this year have already signed up for next year. That should say enough in itself. Staff was WONDERFUL and very accommodating. This will be an annual trip for MANY years to come.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogaTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 389 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

From the moment I got to Present Moment I felt embraced by profound care and comported by the brave Pacific who roared with an infinite comporting Om.... always present as my flowing drishty for meditation and yoga.
Present Moment was effortless, purposeful, meaningful rest. You could find silence and time alone, or join in any table to feel the warmth of everyone there who seam under a contagious spell of natural gentle being. You could spend all day in the best of yoga, meditation, massages, and life coaching, or simple get lost walking and swimming in one of the most beautiful pristine undeveloped beaches I have seen. I am still glowing from every detail that made me feel honored, cherished, and allowed me to unwind from the disconnectedness of hectic leaving of our busy everyday lives.
Here is in images:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swXhDKhL5zY

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triana33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This is the first time that internet pictures paled with the reality of a destination for me. I hoped for a restful yoga retreat but my time at Present Moment was so much more. From the moment I arrived, I felt completely welcome, safe and at ease in a tropical paradise. What a delight to practice yoga and meditation in the beautiful yoga sala open to the view and gentle breezes of the Pacific! The bungalow was simply but beautifully decorated with local materials and set in exquisite gardens. The staff treated guests like welcome friends. Meals were delicious and their presentation was impeccable. The body work I had as part of my package was so enjoyable. Troncones Beach itself was pristine. It was a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiamcpherson246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

From the moment I first contacted Present Moment to inquire about availability to the moment I left after a blissful week in Paradise, my experience was beyond my expectations.

This was my first time traveling solo out of the country and Tom graciously answered all of my questions with care -- no matter how small. I had the feeling from the very beginning that he truly cares about the experience of the visitors that choose Present Moment for those few days we get away from our day to day lives.

My open air bungalow was perfect for one, and would have comfortably accomodated a couple. The room was tropical elegance all the way with a very comfortable bed (a rarity in Mexico) and a roomy stone tiled shower that always had hot water (another rarity).

I started most days with meditation or a walk on the beach followed by some of the best yoga I have practiced. The instructors do an excellent job of offering a class that accommodates all levels from the novice to the experienced yogi. If yoga is not your thing, no worries there is dance, live music, QiGong, pool aerobics, or just being.

The restaurant never ever disappointed. The menu is diverse enough that you'll have healthy choices all week long for each meal. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fish.

I initially was cautious with booking body work as vacation massage can be disappointing -- not the case at Present Moment! Teneva's deep tissue massage was one of the best I have ever received (and I have had alot of massage). I also took advantage of Thai Massage and acupuncture and was happy with all of my sessions.

Present Moment is a few short steps to a long walking beach. Go left and you are in Troncones proper in minutes, go right and you may see no one else on the beach for miles. The mornings were my favorite time to walkm -- evening offers spectacular sunsets.

Present Moment is a rare find. The Tom, CJ and the entire Present Moment Family are there to support the experience you choose -- whether it is a lazy getaway, an activity filled trip of horseback riding and surfing, or a time of spiritual reflection and yoga.

For me Present Moment really proved to be a little slice of heaven. A fun, sacred sanctuary that I just did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissfullife7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Our cabanna was all open air with a fabulous shower that came down like a private waterfall. The peaceful ambiance was such a welcome retreat from the rat race at home. The food at the 5 star restaurant was absolutely wonderful and I cannot say enough about the entire staff, including office, housekeeping, wait staff and chefs. Everyone was literally at our becon call. There is a huge filtration system so the water on site is all very safe and they also have bottled water in the restaurant / bar where they are happy to refill your container. The beach is beautiful, water was warm, and sunsets were stunning! Highly, highly recommend this great escape!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoddessJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

What a wonderful place! There are plenty of other cosmetically great places in this world, but none will have the hospitality that Present Moment has. The team graciously spending time caring for us made all the difference. Present Moment has intimacy, yet lots of room to do stuff if you want. One cannot say enough about the food and the service associated with it. We were drawn one night to another restaurant nearby that has the best steak we have ever eaten. Sorry Tom. I do not practice yoga, but my partner only had the highest praise for what transpired, and she has been in some great locations. I read lots, walked the beach and was not in the least bit bored. We saw the release of baby turtles and had long talks with Juan Carlos, a young environmentalist, about what he does to protect them. I can’t say enough wonderful things about this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

What a wonderful stay. We all forgot our at home troubles surrounded by pleasant staff, clean rooms and restaurant, beautiful expansive beach, lovely atmosphere and yoga, pool classes,horse back riding, and the BEST food ever.
What could be better??

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanTenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 8 in Troncones
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
16 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
440 reviews
12.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: $115 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing