We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Raqueros
Nearby Hotels
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Las Piedras(Troncones)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Troncones Point Hostel(Troncones)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abadia(Troncones)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay(Troncones)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa del Faro(Troncones)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
110
18
1
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
18
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanzanillo baythe penthousethe main housequiet elegancemexican rivieravw vanpristine beachbeautiful placeboogie boardinggreat swimmingevery morningother guestsslice of heavenlong weekendperfect place to get awayfell in lovetuna
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 134 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Hi -

I've stayed at the Posada twice now, and am convinced that it has some special magic. The layout is very simple and open, and gives you a very relaxed feeling. There's a new place down the beach that I saw (turn right - with the pool and restaurant). The food there was good, but the feeling was very confined compared to the Posada. So! Great place to go and relax!
Thanks -
Shuka
PS - I saw one bad review of this place, and really wonder what that person was smoking. There is a chainlink fence to the beach, but it's short, and just keeps strange dogs out. There are sun beds etc on the other side for our use, in any case. Oh. And Hans makes a great margarita!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShukaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

I currently manage a hotel in the Lake Tahoe area and we very impressed with our stay at Raqueros. The welcome drink upon our arrival was a nice way to break the ice with our hosts. From the beach access, to grilling up fresh fish and lobster on the BBQ pit (which we used more than once). We would have liked to have a pool on property but it was not too big of a deal since the ocean is right there. Its location was perfect and reminded me of some similar locations in Central America. It was only a short drive to the surf breaks (such as Saladita) and within walking distance to a number of restaurants in the evening. There were people about but you still felt secluded. The rooms were nice and spacious with the bedroom being located on the 2nd floor. Thanks again for a great trip. If our travels bring us to the area once again we will be back

Eric Hudock
Truckee CA

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erhudock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Maybe the property is best when its owners are present, which from the looks of things is rare. I could be wrong—maybe they think their property is great, but it sure doesn't look like their website. Isn't it this kind of insight you're looking for here? Mexico is full of inexpensive, charming, unforgettable finds. This is not one of them. Hope they've removed the chainlink fence that surrounded this property when I was there late summer last year. It needs to be removed, but that still wouldn't make it worth spending your time in Mexico there. There are so many better places—just going down there and looking around you'll find stuff you'd never expect. If you want to book here, do less days than you'll expect because of their no refund policy.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sono3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBr, owner at Los Raqueros, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2007

We regret the words used by Sono3120 to describe his experiences at our Posada. . They have written before, last year and just as we said last year we have written Sono 3120 and asked to let us know who they are. We have no records of him, her/them staying with us. The description of our property as wriiten in the review is completely wrong and inaccurate. So far we have not heard from Sono3120......

We pride ourselves to check with our guests if everything is to their liking and also ask to write a review in our guest book. Noone has ever made complaints of the sort as expressed above.

We encourage Sono3120 to contact us, so we can attempt to correct, whatever we did to wrong him/her/them. We cannot do anything without this feedback.

We encourage all who see this review to check out the many other reiews written about our Posada at Tripadvisor.com, our web site and other similar tourist review sites.

Thank you.

Hans J. Brouwers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in a casita we've stayed in for 8 years in a row. Though we talk about traveling to other places, we come back every year to Troncones and Raqueros because we can't imagine any place we'd love more. The beach is just lovely, the water swimmable, the pace slow and relaxed and we love Hans and Angie who are gracious, helpful, and make us feel at home, visit after visit. Raqueros is not fancy- it is simple and lovely and asks nothing of us but to be ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lois.gore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

The area was absolutly beautiful, the beach and little local restaurants. But I was honestly disappointed in Raqueros. The rooms were not very comfortable ( I was able to view the casitas as well, they seemed no better). I just didn't feel relaxed there. I checked out some of the other places up and down the beach and i would definately go back and stay elsewhere. (Eden or Present Moments looked to be of higher quality). The hosts were nice enough, especially Angie while Hans kind of gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unpackunwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBr, owner at Los Raqueros, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2007

We regret the experience described above. As a matter of principle and routine we always ask our guests to write their comments in our guest-book and after reviewing these we have not found reference of the sort of experience described above. We also have sent a message to the e-mail address of the writer in an attempt to resolve this issue, but unfortuanetely have not heard a response.

We are looking forward to working with any of our guests about any issues good and bad and offer to do the same in this case.

Thank you very much.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews