We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get-away!”
Review of Los Raqueros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Raqueros
Ranked #3 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Hans & Angie are truly fabulous. Their home (hotel) is warm, inviting, clean and friendly. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Breakfast was perfect, and Angie has excellent recommendations for lunch & dinner. We recommend Dona Nica's camarones al mojo de ajo for lunch. The only downside of staying at los Raqueros is having to leave! The dogs take excellent care of the guests as well! We can't wait to go back.

Alden & Heather
CO

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Los Raqueros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 133 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2008

My wife and I have been to several of the locations up and down the beach in Troncones and for the past couple of years have returned to Raqueros. It feels like home. All rooms are large by Mexican standards. Nothing super fancy, but very comfortable, colorful, and clean; the views are beyond compare. Hans and Angie are great. The support staff is young, friendly and energetic. There is breakfast and the chain link fence is a non-issue. Looking forward to our next visit in March 08.

Bill and Cheryl

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

La Casa de Pelicanos, a separate villa, was great for us (ma, pa, in law, and 2 teens). Week before Christmas and the beach was almost ours. Very amicable staff and truly fun - left us with a taste for more. Mind the loud Ocean waves at night.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank comogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

I healed body and mind in the mystical waters of the Sea of Cortez.

I'm a journalist in S.F who had just come off an appendectomy and too many noose-tight deadlines. I was looking for warm water, reasonably calm environment (i.e. not teeming with people) and plenty of water sports.

I got all of that in Troncones and couldn't have asked for better hosts than Hans and Angie.

I spent a week in the Mariposa Casita. The room was clean, the staff was super polite and friendly and the beach was superb for boogie boarding, swimming and snorkling.

If you're looking for high end hotel this isn't it. Los Roq feels like you're staying in the home of witty, warm and caring friends. The rooms aren't air conditioned and while I thought it was cool to see lizards and sand crabs running around nearby I understand not everybody might enjoy that.

If you're looking for a place to provide every creature comfort you probably don't want Troncones. On the other hand if you're looking for a tranquil place with pleasant people, then you'll find it at Posados de los Raqueros.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sandocnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This was my third visit to Troncones and Raqueros was, by far, the best place that I have stayed. Hans and Angie create a happy and peaceful environment that makes you feel like Raqueros has been your home for years. I was traveling alone and they treated me like family, providing great local recommendations and sharing their stories with me. The staff is also respectful of your privacy and you can find many quiet places to read, relax and contemplate. Troncones is not for everyone, but if you're looking for a beautiful Mexican vacation with a little character (this is NOT Cancun), Raqueros is an excellent choice.

Some details: they provided a simple breakfast daily including fresh fruit and juice. The staff is effective and courteous. The resident dog, Tufi, will guide you along the beach or lie next to you in the sand as you sunbathe. The surfing at the point can be excellent and is directly in front of the property. Families, couples and single travelers would be comfortable here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tufist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Posada. Tony and his family were delightful and most helpful, the grounds were quite nice and the stay was very peaceful. The 2 dogs who live on the property, Tufi and Marimba, completed the comfortable atmosphere. We commented several times that the Posada felt like a home unlike many hotels. We stayed in one of the "Cuartos" which was more than enough room but maybe next time we will spring for the beachfront Casita. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Posada!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleBigRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

My partner and I felt a little disappointed when we arrived. The location is nice, but could be landscaped better (the chain-link fencing and trailer next door doesn't exactly add to the ambiance), the interior decoration in the rooms is fairly drab and minimal, sleeping is difficult with the lack of a/c and abundance of bat/bird/bug/frog chirping, breakfast isn't offered, and food is difficult to get to.

We anticipated, based on email exchange with the owners, that a variety of services and activities were available. Just not the case.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatRaq, General Manager at Los Raqueros, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Please note that this review is from a time before Eden began managing Los Raqueros. We reopened Raqueros in November 2015. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Raqueros is a lush estate on Manzanillo Bay in Playa Troncones. The property includes a range of different accommodations at affordable prices, from US$75.00 to US$145.00 a night(depending on the time of year). Prices include breakfast, all taxes, daily maid service and access to our cloud based wireless internet system. Los Raqueros is comprised of two bungalows steps away from the water, each sleeps 4 (one king bed and two twins), one bungalow has a beach view and the other a garden view and each has a kitchenette. The main house which enjoys fantastic ocean views has two bedrooms (one king bed each), a full kitchen and huge dining and sitting area. A penthouse apartment which sleeps 4, (one king bed and two twins) with a small kitchenette and a large terrace overlooking Manzanillo Bay. The whole estate can be rented together, sleeping 16, or separately. Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing