We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away from this one... management dishonest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Lyons, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run away from this one... management dishonest!”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I've been waiting a while to write this review with the hope that the owner would follow up on what he said in terms of refunding my deposit. Tired of waiting, so hoping this helps other travelers save the headache and book somewhere other than Tronco Bay Inn.
I booked in April of 2010 for a Dec stay with three other families. Cancelled our trip in October, well before the 'point of no return' in terms of my $900 (cash) deposit being refunded.
Long story short... it's been one lie after another from Tronco Bay Inn. Still no refund... (last promise was they'd refund at least two of the four families by Dec 10th) No email reply or returned phone calls either.
Book elsewhere and please let them know you're NOT booking with them due to their dishonest business practices!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan-j-f2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Just visited,, we loved the fish tacos.. definetely try them, the hotel is very clean,, and the staff very friendly, first time in the area, definetely coming back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny8255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We spent a week at Tronco Bay Inn with a group of 10 people. Service from the staff was excellent, and Esteban catered to our every need. He was great!
Troncones is about 40 minutes from Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo, where we went about every other day.
On the days that we did stay at the hotel, there was plenty to do, including eating at the full service restaurant, lying in the pool or lounging in the beachchairs, and exploring the seashore. I would say that of most of the places that we saw once we arrived, Tronco Bay had the best view of the entire shoreline.
Three of the people that we traveled with were avid surfers who thought that the area was perfect. While they did surf at many of the more popular destinations around us, they also enjoyed the waves right in front of the hotel.
I think that it's a great place for young travelers/surfers, but would not recommend it for families of small children, since there are many rocks in the water and it is kind of in the middle of nowhere (aka, hospitals).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiga_ln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2010

terrible attitude, poor service and snobbish with loical people

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed for i week or should i say until the power was shut off due to the owner not paying the power bill. No power so no water either plus they had to shut down the restaurant which ended the breakfast which was included in the price. No refund because Tronco Bay Inn policy is you pay your full bill upon arrival . The owner lives in California so the staff are left to deal with the guests and as one staff put it to me (We are in a crisis).

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenayconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Great time-Excellent service. Good waves at The Point -about 5 minute walk along the beach. Stepan the waiter at Tronco Bay was extremely helpful and our all around "go to" guy if we needed any hep or information. - He even personally drove us up to Majahua for our fishing trip. Taxi's are readily available to take you to the town of Troncones. The Manager Juan was also very accommodating during our stay. The beach was uncrowded, the rooms were very clean and the restaurant good what more could you want? There are a few other restaurants walking distance along the beach as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I got married just down the street from Troncos Bay Inn Resort. I booked a room for friends to stay here and paid a substantial deposit. When the swine flu hit, my friends cancelled their trip. I cancelled the room a full month before their stay (hotel policy was just 15 days for a full refund). I had to e-mail and call the owner several times. Two months later he finally sent a check which bounced. I was charged a bank fee for the bounced check. I called and wrote him several more times. He promised to send another check, which he never did. After four plus months, I've given up. I feel the management is dishonest and have basically stole my money. I was lied to many times. It turned out to be a major hassle. I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tronconesbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
193 reviews
13.6 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#51 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
13.0 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tronco Bay Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tronco Bay Inn Resort

Property: Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Address: Avenidad de la playa Troncones | Manzana 15 Lote 9, Troncones 40807, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tronco Bay Inn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel, offering beachfront Restaurant and Pool, air conditioning suites,with King size beds,private patios overlooking the ocean,smooth finishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tronco Bay Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing