We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracias Amigos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Ranked #15 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Waldport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracias Amigos”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A gem hidden in Troncones, Manzanillo Bay Mexico; Tronco Bay Inn; recommended to us by a couple of professional friends and also by a new acquaintance. We are accustomed to the amenities of a private villa in Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca and Las Hadas, Manzanillo. We were delightfully surprised and rewarded by this small oasis, lovingly manicured and spotlessly cared for by a staff and ownership unequaled in any of our over 40 years of travel in Mexico. Gracias Silvia y hermana, Beta, Alondra, Tao, Pedro, Diego, Sergio, Juan, Moira, & Jonathan! Con Mucho Gusto!!! Christy y Clint

Room Tip: If available request one of the unobstructed ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I truly enjoyed staying at Tronco Bay and extended my 3 days to a week. I was alsone and had a nice room, walked right to the water, the beach. The restaurant faces the water, food is delicious and the staff and owner are super nice people.

I have many photos and can post them (where?) or send to you if you want to see some of what I saw, smelled,dreamed of after wards...

Woman (sola)

Room Tip: You'd probably travel to Zihua / Ixtapa (plane) if not driving since it's off the "beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at The Tronco Bay Inn for 2 weeks in October, 2012, and it was a perfect experience:)
The owners and the staff are wonderful, and make you feel completely at home. They help out in any way they can, accommodating all your needs (which was wonderful as we were traveling with our 14 month old daughter)!
The food is fresh and authentically Mexican, the tiritas (like ceviche) is amazing! Meals are prepared from fresh, local ingredients, like fresh fish from the fishing village down the road.
The beach straight out front is probably the best swimming beach in the area, with few rocks. It was wondeful to be able to enjoy the sea with our young daughter. There is also a surf break (left point break), about 300m from the hotel...you can check if it's breaking from rooms 1 and 2!!
The rooms are wonderful and cleaned thoroughly daily! The upstairs rooms have lovely, high thatched roofs.
The pool is lovely as well:)
Would gladly return and see Juan and the gang!
Kim.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kojenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The staff are all incredibly helpful, happy and completely sincere.

This place is owned by a young family who ar a delight.

The food is always excellent.

I went for a week and I stayed for 2 weeks and even then I only left because I had business commitments elsewhere. I could have stayed for a long, long time...

Paradise as yet unspoiled and known to only a handful.

Room Tip: Rooms number 6 and number 8 are probably a little more quiet but in fact all rooms are notin any way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This April 2012 we flew into Zihuatenejo without a long-term hotel, and ended up spending the night in Ixtapa. The pool was really nice but everything else was a little off, until Elena, one of the other hotel guests, told us about Troncones, and said to drive up there and check it out - a quiet laid back resort town, inexpensive, beautiful and mellow people, locals and american ex-pats both.

We rented a car and in an hour were driving down the dirt road through the center of town, easy to find, pretty ride. There was an old pickup truck ahead of us overflowing with beautiful local produce that the driver was dropping off at the local restaurants.

We reached the beach and it was also very low key, beautiful waves hitting the beach, a few restaurants and small hotels, and another dirt road up the coast.

We drove along, stopping in at a few hotels and inns that looked good, and eventually followed the signs to Tronco Bay Inn (they definitely have the best local advertising!)

We loved it right away. Not as fancy as Manzanillo Bay Inn, a little more private and secluded than Mi Casa Su Casa, owned and run by local Mexicans that definitely added a mellow and authentic vibe to the place, and very affordable for the quality of the rooms, awesome local Mexican cuisine (the freshest coconut shrimp on the planet), pool right on the beach, and really friendly staff that made us feel at home immediately.

This place is great for those of us that don't want or need the higher-priced-poolbar-and-a-jetski-ride resort.

Our son is somewhat handicapped and so needs a little extra attention, especially in public places, and the Tronco Bay staff made him and us feel like the whole property was home and safe. There were some older couples staying there, and later on in our stay some families with very young kids, and throughout our two weeks there the place felt very friendly, including among guests, thanks to the staff and their local Mexican hospitality.

We took a few days in the middle of the stay, and drove along highway 200 to Rio Nexpa, Maratua, and few other places that we heard were rustic but beautiful, but none of them compared to Troncones and the Tronco Bay Inn. We quickly found ourselves happily back by the pool, horseback riding on the beach, surfing off the point (a mellow left break that a beginner can catch, at least when we were there) or racing hermit crabs at night.

I would happily stay at a few other places we scoped out in Troncones, but the total deal from Tronco Bay Inn is too good to beat...we'll be going back and soaking up some more of the local tranquility again soon.


Diego from San Diego (Jim M.)

Room Tip: they're all good - only eight of them...ones fronting have better ocean views but ours one row b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jprm8888888888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We love this hotel! We have come each January for 3 years in a row and each visit has been perfect! The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are lovely, the ocean is beautiful, the pool is small but fun, the fish tacos and beer are so yummy! We always come without the kids but it seems super family-friendly too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyeranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself, my husband and our 5 year old daughter had the most wonderful 3 weeks at this idyllic bed and breakfast. juan and his wife Moira make you feel like part of the family in this beautiful 12 cabana roomed hacienda which is quiet and tastefully decorated with a beautiful refreshing pool and of course the beautiful beach right there beyond the pool and restaurant. All of the staff are extremely friendly and most of the guests are Mexican families which was a delight for us.
My daughter had a wonderful time searching for hermit crabs, horseback riding and even learning to swim. she also practicec her spanish mainly on the kitchen staff much to their delight. We would highly recommend this beautiful place to everyone. in fact i already have.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
188 reviews
13.0 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tronco Bay Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tronco Bay Inn Resort

Property: Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Address: Avenidad de la playa Troncones | Manzana 15 Lote 9, Troncones 40807, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tronco Bay Inn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel, offering beachfront Restaurant and Pool, air conditioning suites,with King size beds,private patios overlooking the ocean,smooth finishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Tronco Bay Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing