We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic getaway”
Review of Majahua Palms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majahua Palms
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My wife and I decided to get away from the dreary Seattle winters with a vacation south of the borer. Some riends of ours highly recommended Trancones and we set about to research hotels. We happened accross Majahua Palms randomly and liked what we saw from the online photos and ammenities. We contacted the proprietors and setup our vacationfor Febrary '08.

Upon arrival it was like finding an oasis in the desert, litterally. This resort is located remotely from much of the over developed Mexican coastline, private, calm and serene. The hotel staff was increibly helpful and courteous. We were shown to our rooms and blow away by the beauty and relaxation of the open air cabanas right near the beach. The whole vibe of the resort was relaxed and calm, just what we were looking for. The entire stay was a dream and we got to know many of the hotel staff well and they always treated us like family. The meals were great and the drinks were fantastic. You gotta try their guacamole!! The pool was perfect, just the right size and not over crowded like all the other resorts. You can walk the pristine beaches and also hit some of the other resorts near by for some variety and action. You will want a car if you plan t do much touring, this placeis better suited for the traveler looking for solitude and tranquilty. But a ride into Ixtapa or Zihuat is a good getawaywhich will make you race back to the peace of Majahua. We highly recommend it, this place is a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

We have stayed at Majahua Palms every February during the past four years. Majahua Palms is truly a tranquil and relaxing experience - the beach, the pool, the rooms and the staff make it a place we want to come back to every year. We start the day walking and beachcombing, where we've found sand-dollars and all kinds of cool shells. In the afternoon, we relax by the pool and sometimes nap in a hammock. As the evening closes in, we've seen the most unbelievable and spectacular sunsets you can imagine. After a wonderful dinner and maybe a margarita or two, we turn in for the night and fall asleep to crashing waves outside our bungalow.

We would highly recommend Majahua Palms to anyone who needs to get away from a busy life and enjoy a totally relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGringos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We arrived at The Resort at Majahua Palms on November 16, 2009 and left on November 21, 2009. We stayed in bungalow #1. The bungalow had 1 queen bed and 1 full bed. They were very comfortable. Great sheets and bedding. The beds both had mosquito netting. The bungalow was beautifully decorated. Great bathroom and towels. The bunglow was cleaned daily and they did a great job. The front of the bungalow opened up to the ocean. In the morning coffee would be waiting on our porch, all we had to do was open the doors and enjoy. We enjoyed sitting on the covered porch and watching the ocean, laying in the hammock, or we could access the internet.
There is a wonderful restaurant at the resort where we had most of our meals. There is a full bar and they make great margaritas. There is a pool and the landscaping is beautifully maintained. I enjoyed shopping at the fun little gift shop run by Lorena who also does water arobics in the mornings. The whole staff is very welcoming and helpful. There are many activities available....fishing, whale watching, boogie boarding, surfing, golf, excursions into Trancones or Zihuatanejo. If you need anything just ask Miguel. He manages the resort is from the U.S. and lives on the property.
I especially liked taking long walks on the beach right in front of the resort. It was really fun loading my pockets with shells and enjoying the ocean on one side and the jungle on the other. This was our second visit to Majahua Palms and we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washingtonkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Majahua Palms is heaven on earth. Located about 40 miles north of Zihatanejo/Ixtapa right on a beautiful beach that has the best surfing waves on the Mexican Pacific coast. We used body boards and had a blast. You can beach comb without hardley seeing other people. The resort is very well maintained and the guest bungalows have privacy and beach/sunset views. Full service resturant and bar seving fresh local produce and seafood galore. Great fresh water pool for kids and adults. Rates are cheap compared to Ixtapa. Bungalows are cleaned daily beautifully. Just can not say enough great things about Majahua Palms!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Yes, we choose Maujahua Palms to get married. Best vacation we have ever had. Benito and Mike are the greastest along with the rest of the staff. This secluded resort is truely a find that you must add to your list.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialtyplbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We came to Majahua after a super rough experience at another inn down the road in Troncones and it was such a relief. The managers of the place work as a team and the overall dispositions of the staff show that they are also a team and treated well by management. Everyone is happy. We were assisted in dealing with our prior inn keeper's malicious tactics on us by the staff at Majahua and we were grateful to have the help.

The property here is enormous compared to other inns and resorts along the Troncones coast, because it is located at the northern most point of Troncones, about a 15-20 minute cab ride from town. If you plan to stay at this resort for your whole stay it would save you money to rent a car. You will drive a very rough road through a village to get here, but again it's not a big deal.

There are very spacious bungalows spaced out in the whole property and the result is peace and privacy. The resort was chalked full of nothing but families and kids during our stay (we had kids too) and the sound of the ocean and the space between bungalows essentially took care of the noise problem of shouting toddlers, etc. We heard it a little bit but it was peaceful heaven compared to the place we came from.

The grounds are pristine, the cleanliness of the place is 100%. There is working hot water in the rooms though you do need to leave the water running quite a while to get it, we were thankful for hot showers.

You will eat in Majahua kitchen every day unless you drive to town, there are no restaurants around to walk to at all. Our child liked the food, and we got along pretty well with the menu. The staff are definitely here to please and will go to any lengths to try and make your stay the best.

The ocean up here is a tad rougher, but gorgeous and safe enough to swim in, the pool is clean and there are plenty of towels for all. There is a great surf break within walking distance to here if you're a shredder, River Mouth. Car rides are needed to surf other famous breaks nearby. We would highly recommend Majahua Palms, especially for families.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeramundial2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Majahua Palms is one of my favorite places on the planet. The location is off the beaten path yet within walking distance or a horseback ride to world-class restaurants. Not that you would ever want to leave the poolside, oceanfront restaurant. The service staff cannot be beat and Benito's fishing excursions complete the package. Mexican, american and european families create an international atmosphere. Spanish and english spoken. A place where local Mexican culture still predominates and your hosts, Miguel and Lori, treat you like honored guests.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
12.6 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
13.9 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majahua Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahua Palms

Address: Lote 402 | Playa Majahua, Troncones 40134, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Troncones
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#4 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: $69 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troncones beachfront hotel and private bungalows. 3 miles of remote beach but only 45 minutes to airport. Large pool, excellent restaurant, full service bar, friendly staff. English spoken ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahua Palms Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing