We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we finally stayed there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Eden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Eden
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So glad we finally stayed there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We started coming to Troncones when it was just a dirt road from the highway in the '90s but had always stayed overnight elsewhere.

We have just returned from our stay at Eden and could have stayed there forever. Jim and Eva are amazing hosts, their staff is friendly, and the accommodations are perfect for beachfront living. Jean Pascal does a terrific job with the restaurant and his staff is equally engaging.

We look forward to visiting again soon!

Suggestion - Being from California, we are quite spoiled with the smoke free environment in public areas. Thankfully we only experienced a few guests that smoked during our stay. Perhaps designating a specific "smoking area" would do the trick???

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemomma_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Loved our stay here! Our hosts, Jim and Eva were very helpful in every way. Jean Pascal runs the restaurant and does a great job with the menu. Food was great and the staff friendly. Our little bungalow was comfortably snug and overlooked the infinity pool and the beach. This truly is our idea of Eden. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
320 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed here 8 times. Why:
beautiful—it is as nice as the pictures, consistently
uncrowded—there are no big hotels within many miles
friendly, peaceful—you can mingle with other guests or not
english-speaking reasonably understood
really warm ocean, sometimes fun body surfing and boogie boarding
great food—local ingredients creatively prepared, best in the area
cheap—the airfare is the only potentially big expense
slow-paced—surfing is common (though not right from Eden beach) and snorkeling, kayaking and horseback riding are possible but we do nothing and like it
remote—drive to city for shopping or hospital but only half hour with the new highway
hot—it is at 17 degrees latitude; the sun tans you through the beach umbrellas
pool--just added this year, the infinity edge pool is a great addition
hosts--jim and eva are attentive, caring, on premises owners

Caveats. Not an issue for me and my family, but reality:
undrinkable water—bottled for everything
malaria?—Mexico supposedly has it but I’ve seen very few mosquitoes here regardless
book early—we’re not the only ones who reserve far in advance

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms, just options. Bungalows are closest to the beach (literally a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this gem a few months ago when visiting Hacienda Eden's great restaurant, Jardin del Eden. When we saw the location and charming environment we knew it was the type of place we're always on the lookout for. After meeting Jim and Eva we were convinced this would be the place to take our son and daughter-in-law. They loved it as much as we did. Wonderful rooms, great pool, delicious food, perfect beach and interesting company - they have it all. The fact that most guests have stayed there multiple times is testament to the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere that characterizes this place. We are returning next year with our son and his wife and this time bringing along their four kids. They recognized right away that Hacienda Eden is a perfect place for quality time with their family. We can't wait to return with them and then to stay another week just for ourselves.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DanandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is my first on-line review. I felt compelled to write it because our stay at Hacienda Eden was just so much better than most of the places we have stayed on past trips, and by far better than any at or near this price. We spent a week (myself, my wife, 15 yr. old son and 12 yr. old daughter). The rooms were generous and well tended, the beds and bedding were very comfortable (kings!). A lot of care went into the design and construction and it is all maintained meticulously. Eva and Jim are wonderful and very helpful hosts, and at least one of them is always around. The new pool is an excellent addition and we spent a whole lot of time in there as well as body surfing and boogie boarding countless waves out front. For us surfers, it was great to be able to paddle right from the inn to the Troncones Point break.

The restaurant is also really good and we at there for nearly every meal. I really just can't say enough positive things about the place. The capper was that one of the staff members was also the U16 boys soccer coach and he invited my son to play in a match against a neighboring town, even getting him a player card and setting him up with a full kit and uniform.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a sublime place to stay! Charming, charismatic hosts; exquisite rooms; fabulous pool; hop, skip and a jump from your hammock into the best sea swimming/ body boarding in the town; lovely restaurant with sweet smiley staff; imaginative gift shop packed full of Central America's finest hand crafts. Why would you book anywhere else?

Room Tip: they are all delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinkleminkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We've watched Eden being built and being added on to but because of having a family home in the area we never stayed there. This time we did and were really impressed with the comfort of it all...beds, cool bungalow even without A/C on 85 degree days, convenient access to dining (and shopping) and the nicest hosts ever. Now with their new pool they truly have it all!

Room Tip: The bungalows are the most unique but I've never heard a bad report from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
16.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Eden

Property: Hacienda Eden
Address: Playa Troncones | Manzanillo Bay, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#2 Family Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Eden is a beautiful 14 room hotel in the center of the best swimming beach and the best surf break in Playa Troncones. We are an owner operated business and have been in operation for over 15 years. The hotel is comprised of 6 sea view rooms in the main hotel, each with hammocks and large private porches and a large screened in bedroom; we also offer 4 sea view bungalows, each cabin is directly on the beach, with a sky shower and porch. We also have 4 air-conditioned suites, super deluxe with and extra sitting area and balcony. On the premises you will also find a full service restaurant and fantastic gift shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden Beach Hacienda Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing