We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Superb accomodation with super friendly and helpful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de la Costa
Ranked #2 of 20 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Superb accomodation with super friendly and helpful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

What an amazing place - so peaceful and relaxing with a very happy energy in the forest. Steve and Terri are fabulous and very welcoming hosts. Terri went above and beyond helping us plan our trip to Hacienda de la Costa and our onward journey. We highly recommend a stay here as you will be well looked after!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
172
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hacienda de la Costa was the best lodging decision we could have taken for our stay in Sayulita. It is close to town but offers the tranquility of a gated community, with gorgeous gardens and lovely pool area. The rooms are spacious, bright and offer intimacy. Views are stunning and you can walk to a quiet beach with a nice surf break in 15m. Steve's shared precious advices for our day trips and Terri's cooking skills were our daily morning highlights. We'll miss it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is quite simply the nicest place we've ever stayed. We often travel on a moderate budget but occasionally splurge for B&Bs that are highly reviewed on Trip Advisor. This one lives up to its billing. The rooms (we stayed in La Vista) are exceptional: spacious, comfortable and immaculate. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. Yes, it is a good 40 minute walk to town on a rutted and roughly cobbled road. We loved every trip as we saw so much on the way including innumerable butterflies, an elegant trogan and an amblypygid. Sayulita is a funky little town, a bit touristy, but a far cry from the Puerto Vallarta scene. We loved walking beaches we had entirely to ourselves. We did a little body boarding (they had a couple boards to borrow) but it wasn't for the faint of heart and you had to be mindful of the rocks. Sometimes, it was simply too rough. The dinner on the terrace is a must-do. While it wasn't really the birding season (Nov. 2011), we had a great time spotting several trogons and a masked tityra as well as many others. You can see many just hanging out on property. Steve and Terri were great hosts and even drove us into Punta Mita for a snorkel tour to the Marietta Islands. This is a perfect romantic getaway, you may want to rent a car if you want to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esoteric_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First off, I feel safer walking/driving around Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit at night than down town where I live. The people of Mexico are the nicest, most helpful people anywhere. The only ones you have to worry about are the time share sales people. Just say no and they usually leave you alone. Of course, at Hacienda de la Costa nobody is trying to sell you a timeshare.

Next, we spent a week having a great time at a Nayarit resort on the Bay of Banderas. Everyone else left, but we had arranged to stay a couple extra days by ourselves. We had two relaxing nights at Hacienda de la Costa. The peaceful, rural setting was fantastic. We had a great view of hills, valleys, and the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms and facilities were clean and luxurious. The road is a little rough getting in, but well worth the drive.

Finally, our hosts, Terri and Steve were great. They gave all kinds of great information. Breakfast was unbelievably delicious. They even let us pet their very sweet dogs.

We have traveled to Mexico a dozen or more times and this was the most relaxing two days ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve196312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a bit of a hard time finding the place.... lots of turns and twists in the jungle. But we finally got there, it was instant relaxation in a beautiful environment. Our room was spacious, with 2 balconies, and huge washroom, tastefully decorated, and extra clean. We had access to an open air kitchen, but didn't use it because of wonderful served breakfasts, and close proximity to the town - full of interesting restaurants. Beach, accessible after a short walk, was wonderfully private. Relaxing by the pool side, taking in the beauty of the surroundings - it was an absolute 10! Thank you so much to our hosts, that were very informative, helpful and pleasant to chat with.

Sincerely,

Craig and Suzanne from Vancouver Island, BC

Room Tip: top floor room is beautiful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Steve and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the guests that chose to unwind in our little corner of paradise this past season. We've had the pleasure of meeting a lot of really kind and interesting folks and we have enjoyed every minute. We're looking forward to the upcoming season, to the opportunity to meet new guests and hopefully we'll see a few familiar faces as well. See you soon!
Sincerely,
Steve and Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Hacienda in Feburary and had the most wonderful experience. Terry and Steve go out of their way to make their guest feel comfortable and will arrange for anything you feel up to doing. While my husband and I are usually more active on our vacations the Hacienda was so beautiful and comfortable we found we had to tear ourselves away to take trips into town!! The whales were migrating and everyday we would sit on the balcony of our room (La Vista) and watch the whales breech! Bring your bonoculars, if you don't have any Steve will accomodate you as he does with everything else. He even stayed up and greeted us when we returned from our nights out on the town. We experenced some really delicious inexpensive meals in Sayulita but nothing riveled Terry's meals...don't miss them, and the breakfast!!!! All and all I cannot say enough about our stay with Terry and Steve. The honor system bar, the furry friends, the beautiful surroundings! Thank you Terry and Steve. We want to return with our grown children for another stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Vista but quite honestly you cannot go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here in mid April and it wasn't long enough. Steve and Terri have done a fantastic job with the property and are such great hosts. You should enjoy a little solitude here, as you can have as much as you want. The hike to the (almost) private beach is not bad, and gets easier after you do it once. You basically have a beautiful beach all to yourself. The hike into Sayulita is scenic and fun to do once or twice, but plan on taking cabs most of the time (not expensive and a fun ride) if you want to go to town regularly. It would be useful for those staying awhile to stock up on some food supplies from town. The amenities in the room are great - bed was very comfortable and nice to be able to watch movies on DVD. Pool is fantastic, as are Steve's margarita's and Terri's cooking.

We will be back in the near future for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
1.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Costa

Property: Hacienda de la Costa
Address: Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda de La Costa is an adults-only secluded haven offering a spectacular location with ocean views, jungle surroundings and close proximity to secluded beaches. Hacienda de La Costa is an ideal destination for nature lovers, the adventurous and the young at heart. Whether you have your sights set on adrenaline charged activity or you just long for a peaceful spot to unwind and relax, our location within an ecological preserve provides the perfect backdrop for what is truly an “off the beaten path” getaway.Located just two miles from the bustling ocean side village of Sayulita,Hacienda de la Costa enjoys the privacy of an exclusive retreat while the attractions of pueblo life are within easy reach. The romantic natural setting boasts secluded sandy beaches, sun-drenched days and starry nights perfect for making unforgettable memories. With 5 spacious suites, accommodating a maximum of 10 adult guests, tranquility is assured. Complimentary breakfast served poolside with a different entrée each morning in addition to the daily selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Costa Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing