We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Weekend Escape!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de la Costa
Ranked #2 of 26 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a perfect weekend get-a-way to Hacienda de la Costa. The natural surroundings are absolutely gorgeous: gardens, palm trees, ocean views (including whales in the distance!), to die for sunsets and dark starry skies...what a treat! The house itself is also lovely and really well designed. Much attention to detail here, you will not want for anything. Each Guest suite has its own, or access to a fully stocked kitchen. So bring some snacks and drinks to enjoy for lunch so you dont have to go into town if you dont feel like it. You can also pack a picnic and go to one of the two close by beaches for a beautiful day of sunning, beach combing and boogie boarding (coolers, beach towels, boogie boards, umbrellas all available for guest use). The beaches are secluded and yours to enjoy on your own... besides maybe a few late afternoon local surfers.

We loved staying in La Palma Suite. The room was spotless clean, spacious, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was large and luxe.

Breakfast was original and delicious. Your hosts are welcoming and accommodating.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to back!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheTravelMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

It's so great that you noticed the whales! I feel so fortunate to look up from my computer and see them lolling about November to March, I usually only see their blows but they occassionally put on a great show of jumping straight up out of the water, I never tire of seeing them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 238 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

The seting was incredible , the room beautiful, awesome food, and super hosts. I would love to take my entire family there for a week or more !

Room Tip: THey are all good, depends on your needs, ie : one unit is totally self-contained like a well appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. We're happy you've chosen Hacienda de La Costa as your tropical escape from the high-pressure business world. We always look forward to your visits. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week at Hacienda de la Costa relaxed and recharged by the peaceful retreat provided by Terri and Steve. This five suite property is situated two miles from Sayulita within a forest of palms, figs and other unidentified trees. This is a destination for those wanting to chill with an occasional trip to town. But do not judge the property by the road in from the highway. It is a mostly dirt road that, after a heavy rain, may be have ruts making the trip by van rather bumpy. But the trip is rewarded by the sight of the Hacienda with all of the great gardens and hospitality.
We stayed in the La Palma, one of three suites together with a common kitchen for lunch and dinner preparation when not in town. Terri offers dinner on Friday and Tuesday which are perfect for those days when you want to stay at the Hacienda or return early from town. She is a great cook and the daily breakfasts are delicious, helping to get the day started right. Steve provides an honor bar for those not wanting to bring their own refreshments from town.
In addition to the pool and lounge chairs, there is an isolated beach fifteen minutes walk from the Hacienda with great surf and scenery that is usually yours alone. Be sure to walk to the south end of the beach to be rewarded with boulders and a walkway through the rock to another beach.
Terri and Steve arranged for two excursions: a whale watch from Punta Mita with Rudy, an entertaining Austrian, who knows where to find the whales; and a Thursday trip to the market in La Penita. We would highly recommend both. The whales are magnificent and the market is huge with authentic crafts and souvenirs.
The walk to Sayulita takes about forty minutes, less for younger hikers, through a scenic forest. In town you will find shopping opportunities for weavings, pottery and paintings as well as t-shirts and other typical souveniers. Restaurants rang from street vendors to gourmet food. When tired from shopping, beach chairs and umbrellas can be used all day for the price of a drink or snack. Be prepared for the strolling venders who can be quite pushy. However, a polite but firm "no, gracious" usually helps them get the message. Usually when ready to return to the Hacienda the walk may seem like a challenge. There are taxis at the plaza available for roughly twelve dollars (120 pesos plus tip) will get you back to your suite.
We highly recommend the Hacienda de la Costa for anyone wanting a relaxing experience combined with authentic Mexican culture. Steve and Terri are gracious and willing to make your vacation informative as well as relaxing. You will not regret making this your destination.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cschaeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences, other traveler's are sure to find all of your tips extremely useful. Rudy is very entertaining and always takes such good care of our guests whether it's a whale-watching excursion, snorkeling or fishing. The quality of our guests vacation is really important to us and we know that we can entrust Rudy with the responsibility of making sure their outing is a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife an I recently got married and from the great reviews we found decided to make the Hacienda de la Costa our honeymoon destination, it turned out to be better than we could have ever hoped for. The property was a perfect setting, the rooms comfortable and very clean, all the amenities you could possibly ask for and two of the greatest hosts in Terri and Steve you could ever hope to meet! We were looking for a quite place that we could base ourselves out of where we could sit and read a book and relax one day and go exploring the next. Hacinda de la Costa was the perfect spot to do as much or as little as you wanted, there are amazing private beachs ten minutes away in either direction, the walk into Sayulita was the perfect length to get a bit of exersise and work up an appetite, and if you wanted to explore the surrounding towns the busses were easily acssesible and the taxi fares were very reasonable. Terri and Steve took amazing care of us, the breakfasts and Tuesday dinner were unbelievable......! Terri is a worldclass chef and host and made us feel like we were part of the family. Steve is a wealth of knowledge about the towns and destinations surrounding the property, and is able to point you in the right direction every time. Sayulita is a great little town with some amazing authentic restauraunts and shops. The fruit stands and fish shops are very inexpensive and fresh, we were able to cook some great meals in our kitchen from what we picked up in town. The kitchen has everyhting you need, there is a great bbq at your disposal and the self serve bar is stocked with every possible drink you could imagine. We stayed pretty local, loved the beaches, the walking, the swimming and relaxing, we did venture out a bit and found the market in La Panita to be really interesting and great for gifts. Hacinda de la Costa was the perfect spot for us it offered everything we could of hoped for and would highly recomend it to anyone who is looking to get away to paradise! Thank you Terri and Steve and the Hacinda de la Costa family we will never forget you and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Thank you for all your wonderful comments, we're so happy your honeymoon was everything you had hoped for. It's especially gratifying for us when our guests share our enthusiasm for our little corner of paradise. We'll keep our fingers crossed that we see you again on your first anniversary ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Hacienda de la Costa four days in April 2011 and look forward to staying with Steve and Terry for our next visit to Sayalita. I have never stayed in a 'bed and breakfast' where I was made to feel so welcome. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and full of light with great view of ocean and gardens with the sound of the surf. The kitchens are clean and well equipped. The grounds are as pretty and well-kept as the best of Mexico's resorts (wait until you see the pool!) and the decor represents the best of Mexico without being kitsch. If you are lucky, you will be invited to enjoy one of Terry's home cooked dinners--offered at a reasonable price. Her camerons diablo are awesome. Steve's bar is well stocked and operated on the honor system. He clued us to a secluded beach down the hill that we shared with only two surfers. Sayulita is 2 miles away and, though discovered, is still charming and beautiful. We think the Hacienda de la Costa is a stay in Paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlcosta, Owner at Hacienda de la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt welcome. We would like all of our guests to feel as if they have found a second home, one with secluded beaches just down the road. We hope to see you again real soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hacienda de la Costa for 9 days and right from our arrival to the day we left, everything was more than what we expected. Terri and Steve are the ultimate hosts. Terri's culinary talents are far above anything you can imagine and Steve makes a pretty mean margarita and is also a sensational server when it comes to meal times. We explored everything from all the neighbouring villages to the selcuded beaches and ate some great authentic Mexican cuisine. The trip into Sayulita is an experience that everyone should have. Sayulita is a great with many shops and places to eat as well as a truck serving the best Churro's ever. We also visited San Pancho which is a short drive north or Sayulita and found it to be a great place to shop and play a game of dominos on the beach. Hacienda de la Costa is great place to relax but if you want more there lots to be found within a short drive from Sayulita.
Thanks Steve and Terri for some great memories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northernfisherman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and I just got back from our first trip to Western Mexico. We decided to stay at the Hacienda after reading the excellent reviews, and now we can say that the experience truly lives up to the reputation.

Starting months earlier when we reserved our room, Terri was very helpful in answering our many questions as well as arranging for a convenient transportation service to pick us up at the airport. Miguel met us at the airport with a cooler of ice cold Pacificos, and our stop at the Mega supermarket allowed us to stock up on plenty of food, both familiar and authentic Mexican, for us to enjoy during our downtime at the Hacienda.

Upon our arrival Steve and Terri showed us to our room and invited us to come down to the poolside bar to have a Margarita (delicious, by the way) after unpacking and getting settled. Steve is very knowledgable about Sayulita and as we had our drinks he told us the best places to go during our short stay. Terri made a great dinner of butter poached shrimp, pistachio crusted chicken, and asparagus, and during the meal we got a chance to meet some of the other guests who were also at the Hacienda.

The Hacienda allows you to enjoy whatever kind of vacation you are after. We just wanted to get away from our busy schedules and enjoy some quiet time, laying by the pool under the hot Mexico sun - this vacation was ideal for us. When we wanted to explore, the town and various beaches were never too far and returning after dark was nothing more than a short cab ride home.

I couldn't say enough about Terri and Steve's hospitality. They genuinely wanted us to enjoy our time in Mexico and were more than willing to help us make the most of our time. When we wanted to enjoy an authentic Mexican meal, they gave us directions to a little house whose owners pretty much opened a restaurant in the backyard of their home, where we had a delicious meal at an amazing value. When we wanted to enjoy a nice meal on one of our last nights in Sayulita, they made reservations for us at the Calypso restaurant, and even ensured we were seated at one of the best corner tables overlooking the plaza.

In the end, what separates the Hacienda from a more commercial resort is the unique combination of a tranquil and private setting, attentive and delightful hosts, and the flexibility to make every day of your vacation whatever you want it to be.

Room Tip: Book early and reserve La Vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StoliMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
1.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 26 in Sayulita
390 reviews
2 mi away
OZ Sayulita Hotel Boutique
OZ Sayulita Hotel Boutique
#7 of 26 in Sayulita
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#3 of 26 in Sayulita
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Costa

Address: Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range: $125 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda de La Costa is an adults-only secluded haven offering a spectacular location with ocean views, jungle surroundings and close proximity to secluded beaches. Hacienda de La Costa is an ideal destination for nature lovers, the adventurous and the young at heart. Whether you have your sights set on adrenaline charged activity or you just long for a peaceful spot to unwind and relax, our location within an ecological preserve provides the perfect backdrop for what is truly an “off the beaten path” getaway.Located just two miles from the bustling ocean side village of Sayulita,Hacienda de la Costa enjoys the privacy of an exclusive retreat while the attractions of pueblo life are within easy reach. The romantic natural setting boasts secluded sandy beaches, sun-drenched days and starry nights perfect for making unforgettable memories. With 5 spacious suites, accommodating a maximum of 10 adult guests, tranquility is assured. Complimentary breakfast served poolside with a different entrée each morning in addition to the daily selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Costa Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing