We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived in Sayulita late at night and found this place right on the beach. The reception area was closed, so we spoke with someone at the restaurant next door who ended up calling this guy named "Nacho", who nicely gave us a room for the night- although it was actually a tent, which is fine, just not for 960 pesos! However; the next morning as we were woken up by squawking birds (and not the nice kind of squawking birds) and were able to see our surroundings, we found that there was black mold all over roof of the tent and on the furniture which had been strategically covered with sheets, not to mention there was an army of ants crawling inside my bag. Bugs are to be expected when staying in a tent, but the mold was a different story. I immediately tracked down this Nacho person, who acted totally oblivious to the whole thing and seemed to not even know what mold was. He ended up showing us a different suite, which was nicer and much cleaner, but refused to give it to us for the same rate as we originally paid. In my opinion, this is just bad business. We ended up leaving and staying in town for almost half the price in a much nicer room. As an aside, he had given us a free drink ticket for the bar/restaurant next door. We ended up returning the next day to give it a try, but everything was closed in the middle of the day. We returned AGAIN to see if they were open for dinner, and this time there were people preparing pasta outside, with flies just sitting all over it. We left, and for good this time. I'm rating this based on my experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fallon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

First off I will say that the staff were warm and friendly, everything was clean and we felt very safe here. We wanted to like this place so badly. We opted to stay in one of their ''luxury yurts.'' It was very nice and well-equipped. The problem we had seems to predominatly only effect the eco yurts which are located closer to the sites. Ocean-front properties don't seem to be effected. The problem is that at this point in time the resort is sandwiched in between two loud construction sites which work 6 days a week starting as early as 6 AM and working well into the evening. When the crews go home they left their generator running all night- it's obnoxious hum wormed its way into our dreams, even with ear plugs. When we complained we were moved into a next door yurt, about 10 feet further from the construction- not exactly a solution when half of the property sat empty. We complained again days later when one of us fell ill and started getting sever head aches. Though there were quieter suites available they did not offer to move us into one of them.

We understand that the construction is not the fault of the owners and we sympathize with their dilemma. However, the sound was so loud it completely ruined our vacation. If they had merely warned us about the noise and advised us to upgrade to an ocean front bungalow at the time of our reservation we would have done so and been grateful for the honesty. Not being warned however made us feel taken advantage of and for this reason only we would never go back.

We would still recommend this place but be sure to inquire about weather the construction is over before you commit to anything.

Room Tip: Ocean front bungalows are the worth the extra money as the ocean completely washes out the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmillar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuntoAlRio, Gerente at Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello,
We're very sorry that the construction that was going on next door ruined your vacation.
As you mentioned, unfortunately there's nothing we can do to change or to control this situation, neither is it our fault, so sorry.
We see our hotel as a very relaxing and quiet place and we keep working to maintain it that way, but sadly, at the time you visited the construction sites started working.
We would have been very happy to advise you to upgrade to an oceanfront bungalow at the time of your reservation, but unfortunately, we weren't aware that it was going to get noisy next door.
We're sorry if our attention wasn't what you wished for, and hopefully we can get the opportunity to welcome you with us again so you can enjoy a peaceful vacation.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Me and my friend stayed there for 2 nights on a 2 bed bungalow. Our plan was to stay in Junto al Rio for 2 nights then head off to Punta Mita. We were coming from Guadalajara so we made the trip from Guadalajara to Vallarta to Sayulita.
We arrived Junto at Rio at like 1pm and the manager was right there waiting for us. This place is right by the beach, we were there mainly for surfing and so this turned out to be on a great location. We paid like $120 usd/night which at first seemed too much to me but everything in Sayulita is a little overpriced in terms of accommodations. So at the end it seems like it was a good price for a stay right steps from the ocean which was our main must have while we were looking for hotels at Sayulita. We paid 50% in advance and the rest at the time of our arrival. I was a little hesitant about staying there since I saw complaints online about some bad smell due to a waste water treatment plant. That odor thing is history. I didn’t ever thought about it that while I was staying there.
Our room was equipped with 2 comfy beds, satellite Tv, full kitchen and bathroom. The bathroom had clean towels, shampoo, hot water, good water pressure. There is Wifi and enough outlets to re-charge your electronics. The Bungalow was well equipped with fans on the sealing good enough to keep the place cool and comfortable. Everything was clean. The kitchen have a big window that you can open to have a clear view of the ocean, we had a decent fridge, dishes, spoons, pots, and a couple of gallons of purified water! After a lons session at the beach or on the morning after heavy drinking this water became such a plus….. right outside our bungalow we had a small porch with roof and a table a couple of chairs…. Just a few steps from the room is the beach bar of the hotel, the barman there was really nice and helpful in giving us directions to bars and good restaurants. The only downer in our trip was that we got stolen an ipod and a cellphone from the room. I wont blame the hotel since we left a couple of windows open at some point so, if you are staying there or any other place near the beach make sure to lock down every door and window while you are away surfing or dining... Just be sure to leave your place locked and you should be fine. Sayulita is far from a dangerous place, the whole town is super friendly, it just that these things happen if you are not careful enough on a trip.
Overall our stay on Junto al Rio was good, the manager of the Hotel was very friendly and available at all times… cant wait to go back to Sayulita for more surfing… I would stay again in Junto al Rio.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neto_saavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuntoAlRio, Gerente at Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for all the good comments!
It's really sad though, that you've got stolen from your room. We haven't had this kind of situation for a long time now and our staff is always around, but seems like you had the bad luck of going through this. We do advise to lock doors and windows when going out, unfortunately Sayulita gets a lot of people from other towns and unfortunately these kind of situations get to happen sometimes in town and at the beach, like everywhere else (not only Sayulita, like you mentioned). So sorry! We'll notify the authorities about this and hope they increase security in town.
Sayulita is a lovely and very friendly place to be and, as you mentioned, it isn't dangerous or anything like that, but sadly we're all exposed to these kind of things anywhere all the time.
Hope to see you here again soon to enjoy our place as well as Sayulita again!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was there in June 2010 and took my two teenage boys and daughter. All I can say was that the place was great because of its rustic decor, its kitchen facilities, and its cleanliness. The sewage issue had long been fixed. The owner and his wife were super cool and I want to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuntoAlRio, Gerente at Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us!
You're always welcome to visit us again. We're constantly trying to improve our accommodations and services. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February, in the 'Mangle' suite, a duplex type building right on the sand. It had two comfy beds, a simple restroom, and a small fridge, hot plate, and sink so you could prepare small meals in your room. It was clean and we loved it! We came to Sayulita mostly for the surf, and nothing can beat being right on the sand, and walking out of your room onto the beach. The little adjoining bar has a nice ambience, the bartender's guacamole is delicious! The owner was very friendly and helpful. The other HUGE perk to this place is the Italian restaurant right next door, 'Il Vizietto'. HOLY COW! Best food I might have ever eaten, he makes all of his own pasta nightly, and its affordable. I also loved how everything was in walking distance from Junto al Rio.. no need for a rental car, and every convenience you could want. I didn't notice any of the 'stink' that others have complained about, but I was told that the water treatment plant next door had installed something that was supposed to control the odor.. So no complaints really! The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is not a super fancy place.. clean, comfy, but simple.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is really amazing...I can't understand any of the negative ratings. This has been our second time at the Junto al Rio. I can highly recommend it to everybody. At nighttime you can hear the ocean. In the morning you wake up with all the birds in this oasis. The entire place is very clean and the staff is friendly too. If you want to escape your hard daily life, come to Junto al Rio.

Step out of your bungalow - take another 10 steps and the beach is yours. They also have their own beachbar with all the things you need to relax.

This is really paradise and we will come back a third time for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germexcoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I had read all the mixed reviews before booking and decided to go for it because of the beach front location. I managed to cancel the 3rd night and received a full refund.
We, my husband and my 8 year old son, stayed in the mangles suite and the room was terribly small, with almost no space for using the "kitchenette" even if we tried. The palapa was moldy in places.
We got totally chewed by mosquitoes because they had no bug nets on the beds ( bring bug repellent!).
The stench is horrifying and hard to ignore. It was more the constant lingering septic perfume ( a weird combo of bleach and ?) that stunk and not so much septic itself. The smell was better with an offshore breeze, but out in front on the beach was worse because the river is dumping into the ocean and it reeks.
i am not a picky hotel person but there are a few basic things you can expect for 105$ us a night. 50$ is a more suitable for this place for what it is. Frankly, i think the owner should shut down until Sayulita figures out its septic plant issues.
Good things? the beds were comfy and laundry smelled good and was clean, and we met some great friends staying in the ecotents.
Now i know so that is good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
0.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Chulavista
Hotel Villas Chulavista
#20 of 26 in Sayulita
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas Vista Suites
Villas Vista Suites
#10 of 51 in Sayulita
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
OZ Sayulita Hotel Boutique
OZ Sayulita Hotel Boutique
#8 of 26 in Sayulita
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites

Address: Av del Palmar 10, Sayulita 34000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Sayulita
Price Range: $71 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the beach and by the river mouth, under the shade of coconut trees and surrounded by lush tropical garden and mangroves, Junto al Río offers the perfect choice to enjoy Sayulita's beauty and tranquility.Its location is ideal, only a short walk on the beach to the village's center where you'll find shops, cafés and restaurants and right in front of the local surf spot with both right and left breaks. Relax and sunbathe on the beach a few steps from your suite's door or enjoy the ocean breeze on a hammock in a natural terrace and sleep with the whispering of the waves...Enjoy one of Mexico's most beautiful and unspoiled beach villages on the Pacific at Junto al Río where the bungalows are a quiet and inexpensive beachfront accommodation to suit different Sayulita vacation budgets.The accommodations are all built in a traditional style, made with regional materials like riverbed rocks, sand, palm tree wood, bamboo and "palapa" (palm roof) and decorated with colorful original paintings. All bungalows and suites have an ocean view and are right on the beach where the ocean breeze keeps them fresh year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Junto al Rio Beachfront Bungalows and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junto Al Rio Beachfront Bungalows Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing