We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Escondida - Paraíso Pacífico”
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We loved everything about this place! The quaint rooms (we stayed in Sol 3), the beach, the restaurant, beautiful sunsets, hammocks, the pool....

Playa Escondida is the place for those who *really* want to get away from it all. Yes, they have internet but please, don't come if all you want to do is work online at the bar. The beach is perfect for relaxing and getting some sun, the pool is great to swim in and the spa offers soothing massages. The restaurant selections are fabulous - every meal was prepared beautifully and was delicious. There was some kind of food available all day and Jorge and Sergio work their magic with drinks at the bar. The staff works hard to make sure your stay is perfect but it is Mexico - things may not always run like other places but to me, that's what makes it so special.

Sayulita is a decent walk (30 minutes) but you can take a taxi if you want. Typical Mexican surf town. We would rather stay in our little paradise but it is there if you want a change of scenery or need more sunglasses (which we did).

So, if you like sand in your toes 24/7, good people, great food, and the sound of waves against rocks lulling you into slumber, Playa Escondida is for you. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, please go somewhere else...like Puerto Vallarta, and leave Playa Escondida to those who can truly appreciate it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 642 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was a four all the way. This is definitely a place to relax since the town is quite a walk away. Surfing is moderately good, even the beach gets a four. Our room was very light and airy, however, noise drifted in from other rooms. Staff was very cordial but since we don't speak Spanish some of our requests weren't answered. Pricewise, it deserves a four just because of the thin walls. The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband chose this location for our 20th wedding anniversary . We stayed in Villa #3. The property is secluded, gorgeous and the staff exceptional. Kenya & Diego have done a wonderful job creating a place of peace & beauty. We rented a jeep and toured nearby towns & PV (good for a day trip) but if you just stay here, it's fabulous. We like to explore. The owners take pride in their property, food (exquisite), staff (wonderful, full of personality!) and services. We were amazed at how relaxed we were, enjoyed the peace & quiet, and savored every morsel of food. My husband loved have quiet time in the small kitchen villa near our #3 and we had our own pool outside our room or a few steps to the beach. We would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Mexican Riviera. Skip PV hotels, head to Playa Escondida!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookieLeeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We initially booked just four days at Playa Escondida and ended up spending all week here. We loved the location on the private beach and the unique personality of each room. We stayed in Villa 4 which walks out to a pool with the ocean and beach a few steps down a short hill. We then moved to Luna Serena which overlooks the ocean and beach. True there's about a 25 minute walk to Sayulita from the property which may be difficult for elderly or people not up for the uphill portion but, we enjoyed the walk to burn calories from all the great food. We'd definitely come back and recommend to our friends. The beds were comfortable, rooms clean, the staff was extremely friendly, food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevadaneighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My husband and I religiously look at trip advisor before we plan a vacation, and we were a bit nervous about some of the reviews, but decided to go anyway! Overall we found it to be a wonderful place. The landscaping was unbelievable, and you can tell they go to great lengths to make this a beautiful place-we would definitely go back, but think it will be better next time knowing a few of the things we know.

1. Rooms: The first night we stayed in Luna Serena-it was a beautiful room with a beautiful view. There were 3 downsides: 1. Bring a sleep aid if you don't like the sound of the loudest ocean you've ever heard! 2. The shower had hot water for about 1 minute- who knows if that's a regular thing or just a fluke. 3. We were never very confident about the power of the toilet- it just didn't seem like it would flush! With all the "issues" traveling to Mexico, it's comforting being confident that the toilet will always flush well! The last 3 nights we stayed in Beach Villa 1- we absolutely loved it! The room was perfect. The shower water was warm, and the toilet always flushed nicely! It was a clean room. We liked the privacy of the villas, but never got into the villa pool really because it was cold.

2. Food: We loved the food, we loved the atmosphere of eating by the pool each day. We had no expectations for the food and were pleasantly surprised- especially by the fillet! The chips and guacamole were perfect. The pecan pancakes were the best! Food is very well priced.

3. Beach Bar: Great- Jorge was a fabulous bartender!

4. Service: There have been very mixed reviews on service! What we noticed down there was that for the most part everyone was very friendly and helpful, but it was the language barrier that may create a perception of unhelpful staff! The majority of people working down there are not exactly fluent in English, and as most of the reviews have been in English it's probably a safe assumption that there was a bit of a language barrier. I think that creates a little bit of an uncomfortable feeling because you never know what you're going to get when you ask a question, and you don't want to be that obnoxious American who only knows how to say hola and gracias! We found some of the wait staff to be very friendly and helpful, but always felt a little stressed out when we really needed to communicate with those who didn't understand English- our few semesters of college Spanish 10 years ago wasn't fresh enough to be able to communicate well! It would be wonderful if the hotel would pay for their staff to take a few English classes- normally when I go to another country I don't expect someone to speak my language, but when you own a resort visited by a majority of people who do speak one language, it is helpful if the staff speaks that same language!

5. The Kids: One thing we know is that we will never go there during a time when kids are out of school! The owner's kids were around on the Saturday and we actually moved up to the villa area because they were quite irritating. They were just loudly playing, throwing their toys around, getting on lounge chairs, and just kind of disturbing the peace- it wasn't horrible, but just not what you want when you go on vacation!

6. The Spa: Skip it! Totally not worth it. In the first place they didn't understand one word of English so I somehow got conned from a foot massage to a deep tissue massage! I'm not normally a pushover, but when you have such a big language barrier it's really hard to explain things and argue! The massage was probably the worst I've ever had...it wasn't painful or anything, but just not worth the money. If the hotel wants to promote that, they need to bring in some experts to train them.

7. Pool: Amazing! Totally warm, like a big hot tub, fun to have drinks in. We'd go in for an hour at a time. Jacuzzi was really nice at sunset.

8. Bill: Check your bill! Make sure each little thing you sign adds up! We had several hundred dollars of mistakes- part of which was because we booked two rooms, and the people who stayed in our first room after us booked things we didn't and they got the bills confused. They were very nice about it and helpful-we never got the impression that it was intentional, but it's a good idea to just double check everything...

9. Walking into Sayulita: We really enjoyed the town, it was a neat experience. Be warned though that it's not an easy walk-it's literally over huge boulders and we didn't realize how far you had to walk to get to the path. It was a nice walk though, good exercise. Sayulita is a neat place, good restaurants. We mostly ate at the hotel though. We were debating between Villa Amor in Sayulita and Playa Escondida, and we were really glad we chose to stay at Playa. While the Sayulita was really nice, there was something about the privacy at Playa that was just great!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnycakes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I heard about the town Sayulita on the Today Show and researched the area to find a resort. We've traveled all over Mexico, Manzanillo, Puerta Vallarta, Cabo, Cancun Etc. We've stayed in the luxury resorts but decided to try something a little different this time. Playa Escondida was Fabulous! Our open air 2 story palapa was right on the beach, the surf put us to sleep and the sunrise woke us up. We never really had to leave the resort, the food was fabulous, try what the staff recommends, their taste is excellent. The activities there were great, the pool scenic, the spa great! Angie, Armando, Mario and Joel were fantastic as were the rest of the staff. We did enjoy some of the area activities, snorkeling, ziplining etc. but boogie boarding on the resort's beach was my two teenagers favorite. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Playa Escondida. It was fantastic. Our room was beautiful; the food and drinks were great; and the hotel staff *absolutely amazing.*  My wife and I travel quite a bit for work and we've had the pleasure of staying in some nice and highly rated hotels and honestly, I don't think I've ever encountered a staff as warm, friendly and on-point as the one at Playa Escondida.

I find the reviews here describing the management and staff as cold and unhelpful perplexing since my experience was so vastly different. An example: we’d gone to the hotel to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Prior to the trip, I e-mailed the hotel staff asking if it might be possible to have some flowers and champagne in the room when we arrived. I was told it would be. I’ve made requests like this before and didn’t expect much -- a rose or two maybe.

We got quite a bit more than that. We arrived to find out room completely decked out in rose petals and candles with a happy birthday message spelled out on the bed in red Bougainvillea flowers (see picture below). A dozen roses and a bottle of chilled champagne had been left on the table.

It was wonderful gesture and that set the tone for our entire stay. In the ensuing days we were very well-treated by staffers, many of whom we knew on a first name basis by the time we left. To a one, they were warm, friendly and helpful with everything from special food requests (of course we’ll make you some fish tacos) and dining recommendations to advice about surf fishing from the beach.

There is no question in my mind that we will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GernBlanstonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.7 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
8.7 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sayulita
#1 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
Price Range: $100 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 30 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing