We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very memorable”
Review of Il Vizietto

Il Vizietto
Ranked #71 of 137 Restaurants in Sayulita
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frontenac, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Very memorable”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owner of the house we're renting recommended Il Vizietto, and what a good steer this was. The restaurant is set in a grove of palm trees, with lights in the trees, swings hanging from trees if you're waiting for a table, or at one table if you want to eat in them, and a remarkable show of two Italian men making fresh food to order. The pizza guy looks like a dancer, the way he moves the dough, and the pasta guy is like a percussionist, moving amongst bubbling pots and skillets with precision and flare. The food is stunning, fresh, and all the better for how interesting this place is. the margaritas were killer good and we can't wait to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of a kind italian restaurant in a great town! Food cooked to order or just ask the chef to surprise you. You will not be disappointed. Add to that the unique swing seats around the high top tables and you have a unique and fun experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ct92109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best meal of our trip!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned from a month long trip to Mexico. During our Tay we traveled to Sayulita to meet up with some friends. The told us about this amazing resturant they had eaten at and wanted to return.
When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly young woman, who seated us on swings around a large bar/table. There were regular seats on the opposite side of the bar. The chef told us what was being offered for the night (no menus) and told us about their pizzas. I selected the Blue Cheese and Pear Tortellini and Gnocchi. It was my first time eating Gnocchi, and I have to say it was fantastic. The group also shared a pizza, and I have to say it was one of the best pizzas I have ever had (now pizza I have a lot of experience with) period. The crust was crisp and light, and all of the ingredient were fresh.

We are planning a trip back to Mexico soon, and will be staying in Sayulita. We are looking forward to visiting Il Vizietto. If vacationing in Sayulita, if you eat nowhere else you must try this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poucedeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Still the best Italian and a must-try, even with the smaller summer menu”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went back to Il Vizietto in July, during the low season. The restaurant does not offer pizzas during the summer, but Luca is still making his hand-made pastas daily, and they offer a variety of salads.

One night we went and he had made tortellini with beef and ham stuffing. We had a salad, then the tortellini and and order of shrimp in coconut milk (which was enough for us, to be honest) and then proceeded to order another order of tortellini because it was just so good. Still is the best pasta I've had in Mexico. Can't wait until the high season again when the pizzas are back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but best pizza I've had in Mexico, best pasta I've had ever”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place is right by the "river" in the street parallel to the ocean across from the baseball field. No real signage, but when you get there, you see mounds of fresh pasta, and Luca telling you what the specials are. Look for the swings and outdoor seating. We had the soup, which comes in a bread bowl - absolutely delicious - and then two pastas. Both were fantastic - the texture reminded me of Italy and the flavours of both were excellent. Finally, the pizza - we've been living in Mexico for almost two year now, and I can honestly say the meat pizza was the best we've had since we moved here. The leftovers were just as good the next day. This was is a must visit in Sayulita, and I can guarantee that you will find us here at least once on every visit to the town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vizietto also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Il Vizietto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing