We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun day on the water!”

Ally Cat Sailing Adventures
Ranked #2 of 30 Tours in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come experience an unforgettable adventure aboard our Catamaran "Ally Cat" a 56 ft, Luxury Yacht. We are a family run business, Sailing, Snorkeling, Fishing & Whale Watching, in Banderas Bay since 1985. The trips have been TONS of FUN for the whole family!!!! We are lucky to have a fantastic crew that has worked together for the past 25 years (except Noah the Captain, (Pancho's son), who is only 25 yrs old), but has been with this crew since he was born :-) With our new boat ...... "Ally Cat".... our family has created a genuine sailing adventure that is great for all ages & occasions....... A True Adventure To Remember! From the moment you step aboard you will be greeted by the Captain & crew. Sit back & relax on one of our many comfortable deck seats, sink into one of our marine bean bags, or sun bathe on our two front large trampolines, as we whisk you off to paradise. "Ally Cat" provides top of the line snorkeling equipment, 4 kayaks, 2 paddle boards, "Boom Netting," fishing gear, and a refreshing outdoor fresh water shower. There is a beautiful cabin with 2 sofas for lounging, and a full bar area. With built-in stereo speakers all throughout the boat, Day Trips include: Light Breakfast, Snacks, Mexican Lunch prepared on the boat, Open Bar, & all the boat toys for the day. Our Main trip is from the La Cruz Marina to Las Marietas Islands, where it is home to the Blue Footed Boobie birds & beautiful reefs full of colorful tropical fish. We also will sail anywhere in the bay that you would like to go. Trips are from 9:30 am - returning around 4-5 pm. There is no substitute for quality and experience. Fun...Smiles...Exiting...Memorable... that's what we're all about... TO LIVE THE DREAM!
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun day on the water!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

All 7 of us really enjoyed the day! From the moment we met Captain Noah we felt relaxed and welcome. The crew made sure we all had plenty to eat and drink. We saw a lot of whales, dolphins played next to the boat and the island (along with the history lesson) was enjoyed by all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachmumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    19
    2
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fabulous, Fun and Relaxing!"”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The trip to the Marietas was a great start to our vacation. The catamaran was beautiful and sleek and the crew went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. They made it a point to make sure everyone had a drink, food or both. I really love the fact that this company keeps the number of passengers small so everyone can move around, get to know each other and get to know the crew. While we were watching for whales my husband children were able to fish for skipjack, and they each caught one! When we did see whales they came up close to the boat, swam around us, flipped their tails and breached. And the whales stayed a long time! It was amazing to see such magnificent animals up close. Because Ally Cat is a privately owed company, Noah is able to change up the schedule as needed. Had we been with a larger company we would not have been able to spend the time we did enjoying the whales because we would have been on a more rigid schedule.

At the island we were able to spend a lot of time snorkeling or hanging out at the hidden beach. They also had some kayaks and paddle boards for those of us who preferred to stay on top of the water. On the trip back there was a lot joking, laughing, dancing, sunning and having an overall good time. Noah and his crew taught us boom netting by dropping a cargo net off the back of the boat, and we were able to ride the net. A lot of the kids felt comfortable jumping off the front of the boat, going under the catamaran, catching the net, climbing it and starting all over again. We were sorry to see the trip end, but the hospitality didn't end when the boat docked. Noah went to speak with the cab drivers to make sure we got to our hotels and paid a fair price. It was an amazing trip with an amazing group of people. We will be definitely be riding with Ally Cat again on our next trip into Puerto Vallarta!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Day on the Ally Cat!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We found these wonderful people on line and took a chance on cabbing it 30 minutes to marina La Cruz even though our hotel was walking distance from the marina in Puerto Vallarta. I'm so glad we did! I knew in my prior communication with Debi that this was an upstanding outfit. Our family ranged in age from 18-50 and we ALL had a FANTASTIC time. The day revolves around what the people on board want to do, not just what the time line says you have to do, which makes all the difference in the world. We weren't a number, but part of the adventure ... loved that ... and the size of the group enables you to do things you couldn't do on a larger more rigid operation. Good water sports, great nature, good food, good drink, great boat & a great, sincere crew. Thanks guys! We'll be back. - PattyD

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bowled over....”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As an experienced traveller, world wide, over the last 50 years or so I cannot say enough about the experience we had with our children last week. Totally above and beyond. Noah, our captain, went above and beyond constantly throughout the day. His expert crew were ready to offer drinks, advice, delectable cuisine (and laughs) all day. From the warm greeting upon arrival through a constant offering of drinks and cocktails coupled with outstanding meals and snacks and nature described at its' best we were entertained and feted at the highest levels possible. Only 30 people can participate each day......make your reservations before you arrive or you might be disappointed. Even tho it was Christmas Eve Noah stayed out longer than normal in order to give us more whale time in the morning. That says it all...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day out ever!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Captain Noah and crew were all so helpful and knowledgeable. The boat was beautiful, the food and drinks were amazing. All the gear was well maintained. So relaxing and fun, whales, dolphins, snorkeling and blue footed boobies!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ally Cat Sailing Adventures also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Ally Cat Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing