We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and peaceful”
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is one of the most beautiful locations in Sayulita. Our room, Villa Linda, was so perfect it is difficult to describe. The management and staff are attentive and so cordial, meeting every need of ours. This is a definite destination....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 350 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Sayulita, we enjoyed the location on the beach. We had a wonderful time and would stay again. We went to many great restaurants and a bars and really got some nice sleep at Amor. The staff was excellent and the we were next to the Los Muertos beach which we loved because there were no vendors bothering us. We also took a boat tour on the Chica Locca which we really loved. Overall our trip to Sayulita was Fantastic. Thank you Villa Amor

Room Tip: Ocen Front room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

...and thank you for taking the time to review Villa Amor. I am happy you enjoyed the activity in town,,,Chica Loca is one of the best!!!! I agree with you reg. the restaurant choices in this little town: it isquite amazing how much is offered,,,in all price ranges and alot of it very, very good. Pls come back to Sayulita and hope you stay withus again. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a really great time in Sayulita and wanted to write an honest review -

The reviews for hotels in town all said how loud it was all night so we chose Villa Amor because it's about a 5 minute walk into town & figured it would be quiet. It was. No noise problem at all & it was a nice walk. Previous reviews said to bring a flash light - we did. We actually got a headlamp that my husband jokingly wore at night when we walked back. It's a little dirt road right along the beach that's not really lit up & we always felt safe.

Check in was a breeze - the people here are very very sweet but a few things take a little getting used.

We stayed in Villa "Del Mar" - I finally got it down that it takes around 5 minutes for shower water to warm . Also, the air conditioning unit is directly over the bed & it's hot here so you have to run it so that took a little getting used to and here's a warning to couples ... the bathroom area is wide open - no walls or doors in any area & by that I mean the commode area is wide open.

I would recommend the Serenata villa over the Del Mar - I think it's the same price & much nicer (my opinion)

Views are Amazing & relaxing. They bring fresh water daily to your room. Had Coffee everyday out on the patio for Sunrise. Also, it's true the walk is up a hill but we loved it after eating out so much & we were in no hurry for anything. Breakfast / Lunch / Dinner area is beautiful. We were relaxing in the lounge chairs so they brought our breakfast there while we messed around on our Ipads (Villa Amor comes with free Wifi) yummy breakfast.

Sayulita is a great little, relaxing town where everyone seems to hang out on the beach having fun & then meeting their friends in town. Many Americans & Canadians. We loved it & will be back staying at Villa Amor.

If I could make a suggestion to Villa Amor - for the price of the room ($260 a night) it would be nice to have a paper towel roll or napkins in the kitchen and the sponge they had to wash our dishes was used. At other resorts I've stayed at that have kitchens - the sponge is always still wrapped in plastic - this one here was used so I refused to touch it - Just a little suggestion that would probably cost around $1 to do. Hope this helps !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TDChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaAmorMngmnt, Owner of VillaAmor Hotel management at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Hello, Our reservations desk is trying to identify who this guest was,,,and determine which room they might have occupied because we do not identify them by the reviewers name,,,,not do we have any record of any such incident on the dates immediately before this review was posted. If an incident such s this were reported to us we would have bent over backwards to assist the guest and found a way to make amends quickly.

Within the physical area known as Villa Amor there are 3 different management companies: we are Villa Amor. There are two others renting a few rooms each who are not affiliated with us at all. I have written to the writer asking for help in identifying them,,,but without that information I can only assume this guest had he unfortunate experience of not being with Villa Amor Hotel.

When this confusion happens Trip Advisor is most often quickly able to remove the review from our page but until we can ascertain where this guest was there is nothing we can do abut this review at the present time. Naturally it is unfortunate any guest had a bad experience anywhere in the world,,,but until we know where this guest slept Villa Amor remains unguilty.

The other two management companies do NOT have a TripAdvisor page. One of them plays on our trademarked name, but adds the word Boutique and the the other simply rents privately owned villas without any identifying brand ne. We advise propective guests to be cautious when booking and make sure they are with Villa Amor HOtel only. Use a phone and call our always on call desk to verify/ Ask or me to make sure! Barbara .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location makes you feel like your part of a Pacifico Beer comercial. Absolutely a delicious view and very nice accomodations. Watched surfers from sun up to sun down and made the easy trip into the finest cafes. Golf carts are available and needed if it rains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a great time at Villa Amor! Francisco was very nice! Lovely hotel, with great views of the Sayulita bay and close walking distance into town... Will definitely return in the not too distant future... :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Zack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is awesome, the room we chose Serena was one of the better ones, because it had a small plunge pool. I did feel bad for my friends who did not have a pool, the ocean is very warm, not too clean and it's super hot in October. The rooms have air, but have window openings you can not close, so the air flies out the windows. It got very hot in our room in the mornings. Not to mention bugs are always flying in your room. If your going to stay at Villa ask for a room with a plunge pool, there is no common pool, which is a 4.5 star amenity. The local club music is loud until 4am, which was a little annoying. The town is close and very fun with a group, rent a golf cart. The staff is very nice and honest. Be careful in town if you do not speak Spanish, every place in town wants to get over on the gringos, thankfully we had 3 fluent Spanish speakers. Sayulita is not an ultra glamorous town, if your looking for 5 star everything choose another place. If you want good fish tacos and a relaxed surf village it's for you......

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Coco_Gangemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

HI,,,Thanks for taking time to write a review,,,and for pointing out to pótential guests that neither Sayulita nor Villa Amor attemplt to be in the category of the traditional 5 star resort. Quite the cointrary; we are a unique hotel,,,offering tguests beautiful accomodations, a spectacular sited restaurant and the best casual service we can arrange. You are quite right,,,a guest who wants strict 5 star rarified luxury is better off in Punta Mita,,,in a gated enclave without any local livliness.

For the guest who wants a visit to an authentic >Mexican village,,,a long beach,,,and a gorgeous room or villa to come home to each evening Villa Amor cant be beat. But I agree,,,we are not trying to do what is common to a commercial 5 star establishment...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cannot beat the water views and lovely refined Mexican interiors. A lovely resort for weddings, honeymoons, reunions and more. Perfect setting, walk up the dirt road to the town beach or to Los Muertos beach (my favorite) and enjoy this whole village.
This resort is vertical and those with any walking issues should look elsewhere in town. There are
many other choices. But this is #1 in my book, rooms, suites and apartments, 33 in all with different names, not numbers. Lots of surprise details taken into account, and a lovely outdoor restaurant that doesn't get more romantic!!!!!
Lovely time......
Suzan
St. Helena Travel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanRada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello,,,Sorry I did not meet you when you were here,,,no0t sure why,,,it just did not happen. Thank you for taking time to add your lovely professional review...it is absolutely appreciated by us.

YOu are correct to point out to potential guests that many of our villas and suites require stair climbing,,,but many do not. On the ground floor,,,with great ocean views,,but on the driveway there are 3 lovely airconditioned rooms,,,very reasonably priced,,,in fact the least costly in all Villa amor. There are also several villas with very few stairs...costa, Linda, Oceana, Hermosas to mention a few. Our r3eservation people are always willing and eager to help a guest select the best room for them....

Thank you,,,Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
0.0 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 24 in Sayulita
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#3 of 24 in Sayulita
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
Price Range: $78 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Amor is an eclectic collection of 26 oceanfront villas the tropical surf town of Sayulita, Mexico. Each villa has stunning views of the Sayulita Bay coastline, the Sierra Madre jungle, and the fishing village down the road. All of our villas feature unique, open-air designs with incomparable views from the terraces and lounges for sunbathing and nighttime stargazing. We're about 50-minute scenic drive from Puerto Vallarta International Airport but a world away from the cacophonous crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing