We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misled...”
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The description on the web site does not match the room "COSTA". It appears the room was staged for photos and then replaced with much less comfortable furniture. The art was nearly laughable mix of mesoamerican, Buddhist, late 60's macrame, and pre-WW II modernism. The bed's netting was a constant distraction but, quite necessary. A coffee maker is provided, provided you bring your own coffee, sweetener and milk. The bathroom is dark and dank, 4-5 minutes for hot water. The electrical system scared me the most, given the fact the room is a palapa made of dried palm fronds, there were loose wire hanging down near the palm fronds for no apparent reason. And, the fire extinguisher is located in the most inaccessible place.
However, the views were absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abqlocal505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

I AM TEMPTED TO SIMPLY IGNORE THIS REVIEW,,,AS WE CAN NOT FIND ANY RECENT GUEST WHO STAYED IN cOSTA IN OUR REGISTRY FROM aLBUQUERKIE. I have asked the reviewer to please contact me,,,but have not had an answer back yet.

There are no hanging electricl wires,,,the fire extinguisher is placed exactly where the fire department wanted it, we provide all guests with approx. two days of organic coffee,, creamera nd sugar and will replace it if requested. Most guests prefer to purchase their own favorite blend. Costa has a recently installed 'on demand' hot water heater and no one else had any problem with it. Our bathrooms are known for their originality and exotic-ness...and no one else has ever found a problem with the bathroom in Costa. Regarding the various art items within Costa...beauty is in the eye of the beholder...and this reviewer obviously did not find any beauty. Perhaps the writer will respond and I may have the opportunity to identify them,,,to ascertaqin they really were guests at Villa amor....naturally I would ask why they remained in Costa, when obviously they were so unhappy. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Villa Amor came highly recommended for us to attend a wedding on our first visit to Mexico over a six-night stay. Reservations were made for the first three in Sayulita and then three more closer to the Puerto Vallarta airport.

We began with three nights in the Villa Amor Peninsula room of which the first two were absolute bliss...

Front Desk staff welcomed us with warm smiles, excellent English and infused us with an immediate sense of tranquility.

Yes, a 'few' steps indeed to reach our room but certainly not enough to be a deterrent for most folks in their late 50s and no reason for concern if wearing 'sensible' shoes. Besides, the resultant bright panoramic view over the bay was tremendous whether gazing from the wonderfully comfortable king-sized bed positioned on the threshold to the veranda or directly from the choice of furnishings on the massive corner unit sheltered veranda. (Peninsula abutts a hillside.)

The room appeared very clean, including the dishes/cutlery and glassware, although on our first day, we noticed very, very tiny ants scrambling over the countertop small kitchen appliances. We did not also mention this with another problem * to the front desk as the room concept overall is a tad rugged and very 'open air' as per hotel website photos. (For example: no kitchen cupboards - just one low fully exposed shelf underneath the bar counter.)

*A rather large pool of water from the leaking empty bar fridge near an electrical multi-receptacle extension cord which seemed far more important, was promptly tended to by very apologetic and friendly staff.

There are full-height articulating glass doors extending across almost the entire width of the wide and deep room, separating the veranda from the sleeping/bathing/food preparation area (without ever fully eliminating the soothing sound of the waves). Windows are screenless.

Even the rather dated yet still effective huge whirlpool tub was squeaky clean as was the 'toilet-only' room which also housed a single cozy clothing rack with ~ six convenient wooden pant/skirt clip hangers.

Filtered water was provided daily via a refillable large glass jug with a pressure control spout, inverted onto a metal stand. As a result, we were 'problem-free' since we used that exclusively for drinking, teeth, making coffee, hot water for porridge, filling our water bottles before treks, etc. and only ordering carbonated water when off hotel property.

The staff were exceptional. Natcho (?sp), at the front desk, especially so.

Now, our third and last night....

Near midnight on a Monday, we gleefully returned to our room and were mortified to discover tons of swarming huge black ants (honestly, the largest we have ever seen) exiting from underneath the bed and climbing the surrounding walls (including an outcropping upon which lay an open packed suitcase...) As there is no telephone in this room, one of us immediately raced downstairs to try to nab a staff member before the front desk closed for the night.

Only a security guard was available other than restaurant staff. Luckily, desperate charades overcame the language barrier with the guard who made a phone call, drove somewhere to purchase a large can of 'Raid' (?) and subsequently liberally sprayed our room. Now, remember, it is late, it is our last night, and there is no one available to ask if we could change rooms.

The lingering odour was overpowering; we were concerned about what we were inhaling and hopeful that if we used the bed that the ants were sufficiently equally overcome! And, as the nights were quite chilly, there was no option and/or extra blankets to camp out on the veranda; anyway, we still had to keep the folding glass doors completely open for ventilation which, with keeping a light on in order to watch for ants potentially scrambling onto the bedsheets, inadvertently invited other insects to join in. Sleep was in short supply.

As we knew that we were due to check out the next morning, we did not have housekeeping tend to our room earlier that day; did we as a result, potentially miss out on preventative daily insecticide spraying as in: is an ant problem already known? (We subsequently found an older TripAdvisor ant-problem review.)

One side of the room nestled into a hillside, with the bathroom counter complete with built-in sink and its drain-pipe forming the bed's headboard, we suspect having realized the ants' conduit; we had only dined at the kitchen bar, so there no foodstuffs near the bed...that we were aware of.

It took this long to finally write-up our review as we wanted to have time for a sober second thought. Upon check-out, we naturally mentioned the ant situation with effusive kudos for the security guard since the staff were not acknowledging anything, first. After reciting what happened, we received a standard 'sorry' but since it was included with hopes that we enjoyed the rest of our stay, kind smiles, and the overall friendliness we were initially charmed with, we just felt ready to move on and catch up on our sleep later that day in our next planned hotel.

Perhaps ours was indeed an isolated experience.

Villa Amor is still a lovely, albeit pricey option for a stay in Sayulita. Although we felt quite safe, we were surprised that there was no secondary locking mechanism whatsoever for privacy and overnight security on the interior side of our room door. Wedging a high-back chair under the door lever, helped.

It was disappointing to be provided upon arrival with only one complimentary dual-serving sized coffee grounds, filter and packaged dry creamer with an accompanying note indicating that we could purchase more from the front desk. For the room price, booked directly with the hotel, really?!!

The associated restaurant is top-notch for food quality, service, pricing, and the setting. One evening in particular, we enjoyed delicious desserts and richly-brewed coffee at the 'best' seaside table. So relaxing, We did not realize until too late that there is a 2 For 1 drinks period.

Others have mentioned disruptions from loud music from afar but we were either lucky or helped by the closed doors over the two weekend nights as that was not a problem at all for us.

Room Tip: Peninsula, albeit a lovely comfortable room with a vast fantastic view over the water and town may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you very much for the care and obvious meticulous attention to detail your review indicates. I wish your experience with us had been more consistent,,,and worty a a 5 star reaction. The problem with ants,,,or other insects is an ongoing one that we try to always keep one step ahead of,,,but without over fumigating as this is so bad for the environment,. We do what we believe will continue to keep the insect problem at a minimum,,,but not hurt humans etc. Once in a while it just does not work...I dont know why the larger ants found your area so appealing on your last night with us,,,but I am starting a new 'rule' for the night watchman::: when and if a guest ever has a serious issue,,,as this was,,,we will request he call our manager Juliana at hiome,,,and ask about moving the guest to another villa for the night. Until now the watchman does not know what is empty or not,,,but he will in the future,,,actually starting today. I would rather you had been moved...very often, particularly during the week we do have an empty room and we probably could have accomodated you...unfortunately this policy was not in place when you were with us. Please come back,,,ask for me, Barbara when you call....we want to make up to you.

Just for the record Peninsula does not have a specific ant issue,,,these healthy little creatures just seem to choose where they want to go...and do it!!!! Villa amor is on the beach,,,in a jungle...and just like we love it so do bugs!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in both the Peninsula and Serena units. The pictures on the hotel website were accurate, as the views across the bay were stunning and the architectural/decorative elements were very interesting. The website and its hotel map were misleading in a very key part, however, in that they indicated that the villas were free standing cottage type units. In fact, the units were just ordinary multi-level hotel type units with fancy names. The staff was very good and helpful the whole time. Villa Amor pricing was simply too high, however, for the value received. By far the biggest problem was the extremely loud music that traveled across the bay from the town's disco bar/nightclubs every night until around 4:00AM. No amount of wine/beer /ear plugs could solve this problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the Peninsula unit; the jacuzzi shower/tub unit was disgusting. All other units are probably O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Wow,,,this is not good! We prefer when our guests are pleased and swhare these thoughts with Trip advisor and with us.

I am not aware of any attemplt to mislead guests with descriptions of villas,,,on the website there is a map of the property and the guest selected two villas in what is known as 'the new building.' Serena has its own privatge entry and staircase,,,making it feel totally jprivATE AND ALONE. pENINSULA IS WITHIN THE BUILDING,,,ENTERRED THRU A COMMON INTERIOR HALLWAY,,,AND THEREFORE FEELS MORE TRADITIONAL. i DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE REVIEWER FOUND A PROBLEM WITH THE SHOWER IN pENINSULA,,,BUT WILL CHECK IMMEDIATELY AND IF WE FIND ANYTHING LESS THAN VERY VERY GOOD IT WILL BE CORRECTED RIGHT AWAY. hOW MUCH BETTER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THIS GUEST INFORMED US AT THE TIME....

and the music!!!!! yes,,,it is a problem for all of us that new owners of these clubs ignore the long established rules and play their noise late at night!!! We, like others in Sayulita have joined together and are trying to curb this problem,,,I am sorry it was such an issue for this guest.

I am glad the rerviewer liked various things about villa amor,,,and I am equally upset that the things that were less than pleasant so negatively influenced the rating,,,,jI wonder why the reviewer found the sjtaff helpful but never told them of the problem with Peninsula shower,,,had we known it could have been corrected immediately....not now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've been to Villa Amor probably 4 times. It's ideally situated in the town, on the far right side of the beach so that you can see the surf break perfectly. The staff are so gracious, smiles everywhere, and the pizza at restaurant O is fantastic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderfully suscinct, well written, to the point review of Villa amor. Glad you liked us,,,hope you come back!!!!! Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Villa Amor for our honeymoon this past week. We have been to Sayulita before and always have wanted to stay at Villa Amor. We loved our experience and were really wowed by the staff, all of the staff at Villa Amor are amazing. The two shining stars were Romiro and Uriel they both work in the restaurant/bar. They were so helpful and we loved getting to know them both, I mean it when I say I miss them both!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Villa Amore last weekend for a wedding. The location is great as you're very close to the beach, restaurants, and town. There is no pool but the restaurant is very good and the employees are wonderful.

We stayed in the Vista Verde villa. Although I would come back to the resort, I would pick a different villa. This villa had a great view and was very clean but you walked into the villa through the bathroom. Because everything is open air, the windows closed enough so that people couldn't see in but every time someone walked by it sounded like they were walking through your bedroom. The bathroom was very dark too. This villa had a microwave, toaster, and coffee maker but no other amenities meaning we had to eat out every meal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, General Manager at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Good morning,,,,,Thank you for taking time to review Villa amor. It sadens me that the room was not a good match for you. Often when a guest is with us because they are part of a larger wedding celebrationa they do not select their own room,,,and the individual selecting does not know all the things important to the one sleeping in the room. Vista Verde is one of the very very few rooms we have tht does not have a refrigerator or adequate kitchen equipment for making small meals. This unfotunately did not suit you. Each of our villas are laid out according to the terain of the land....and this requires where specific parts of the villa are placed. for some reason your bathroom was at the entrance...Please,,,come back to us,,,and next time spend a little more time on our website reviewing the details of all the villas, floor plans and many pictures are there for you. Next time speak with us and together we will find you a much happiuer villa.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

While I can take or leave the restaurant scene in Sayulita (except for Mary's!) and a few great taco places, the view from the outdoor bar at Villa Amor is "to die for"! Get there during the week between 4 and 6pm for happy hour, 2 for 1 specials--we sampled margaritas, pina coladas, and a few more that I now forget the names of! Really a nice vibe and you may even have the place all to your selves--we did! The bartenders were great and played Cuban Son music! Can't say much about the rooms--but they were running a special for $60/niught while we were there (1st week of January) and that's a great rate for the real estate and the view...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank aquatic-cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, General Manager at Villa Amor, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi,,,It sounds like you really know how to enjoy yourself....congratulations!!!!! Glad you enjoyed the bar at Villa amor,,,,but the hotel was not offering rooms at a low of $60 per night during the winter high season. That price was for the two small rooms directly on the driveway,,,,not operated by the Hotel Villa Amor. Those two rooms are handled by someone else entirely and not up to the standards expected of Villa Amor; nor unfortunately do guests in those rooms enjoy the amenities and comforts of Villa Amor. Our rooms start at $110 and go up to a high of $1200 per night....these are winter in season rates and are discounted off season by as much as 40%. Certainly tho...everyone is welcome to sit at the bar,,,and gaze at the ocean.....Thank you for your review,,,,we hope to see you again...lets share a tequila!!!!! Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
9.3 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#4 of 25 in Sayulita
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
Price Range: $78 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Amor is an eclectic collection of 26 oceanfront villas the tropical surf town of Sayulita, Mexico. Each villa has stunning views of the Sayulita Bay coastline, the Sierra Madre jungle, and the fishing village down the road. All of our villas feature unique, open-air designs with incomparable views from the terraces and lounges for sunbathing and nighttime stargazing. We're about 50-minute scenic drive from Puerto Vallarta International Airport but a world away from the cacophonous crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing