We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best accomodations!”
Review of Macondo Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macondo Bungalows
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We had another place booked for Sayulita that fell through, and found this spot. It was the best acommodation we had on our entire trip! An open bed, wonderful kitchen, and great living space. Mary Ann and Richard are wonderful hosts, and had everything we needed for our stay and visit to the beaches. I can't wait to go back there again!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank nrg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

We found this place last year while staying somewhere else in Sayulita. We booked it shortly there after and stayed there two weeks in February. This place is kind of hidden on a quiet side street three blocks from the beach, or three blocks from El Centro, depending which way you turn when you go out the gate. Several grocery stores within a block or two. Easy access from the highway and coming into town. We stayed in the Terrace Bungalow. It was very clean and modern. Wifi worked well. Very secure. Some of the things that were really stand out was as I mentioned, it was very clean. The second is that the area of beach that is closest to the bungalows, probably three blocks, is a short way up from the downtown area. This means that it is less crowded. At the same time, it is just a few minute's walk to downtown along the beach if that is where you want to go. There is a small bar right where the street reaches the beach. Nice place and the staff are very friendly. We went out to the beach every day, got drinks at the little restaurant, and soaked up the sun. Speaking of nice and friendly, the owners of Macondo, Mary Ann and Richard, were gracious hosts and were always on hand. There are clean beach towels and surfboards available for guests at the office, for no extra charge. There are several restaurants and bars close by if you decide to eat out. No need to walk downtown if you are not in the mood, however it isn't that far if you are. Walking around after dark is not a problem. We went downtown almost every night, and walked back. We never felt unsafe. There are a number of little villages up the coast from Sayulita that are fun to explore. It is easy to get out of town and on the highway from Macondo, making it a good base of operations if you are inclined to check things out up the coast. I could go on and on about this place, but suffice it to say that I booked next year's stay on the way out the gate to come home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rllink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I (and now with our 2 small children) visit Sayulita almost every year and we always choose to stay at Macondo.

There are different styles of bungalows to meet our changing needs, and all of them are beautiful, affordable, exceptionally clean as well as secure (we never worry about leaving our belongings). The location is ideal as well - 5 minute walk to town, 5 minute walk to the beach.

We have found Dick and Maryann to be the nicest people you could ever want to meet - not only are they gracious hosts, but they are knowledgeable about the area and activities available. They also have a ready supply of beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc that you can take with you to the beach. They even had a bucket of sand toys for the kids!

Macondo is a great "home-base" for exploring the area and we plan to continue visiting as often as we can!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTM1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitacion Toscana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulueos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones del segundo piso son mejores, con más ventilación y luz natural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josué G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
253 reviews
15.3 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Amazing Hostel Sayulita
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#4 of 25 in Sayulita
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macondo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macondo Bungalows

Address: 14 Calle Manuel Rodriguez Sanchez, Sayulita 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Sayulita
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macondo is a complex of 6 unique bungalows located 1 hour north of Puerto Vallarta in the Pueblo Magico village of Sayulita. Each unit is uniquely designed and decorated and comfortable for 1-4 persons. Macondo Bungalows provides Beach Chairs/Mats/Towels/Umbrella(s) Boogie and Surf boards at no charge for our guest use.WiFi is available.Owners/manager live onsite and are available to meet the needs of guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing