We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what you expect from an italian experience”
Review of Mangiafuoco - CLOSED

Mangiafuoco
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
california
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not what you expect from an italian experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

the food was just OK, nothing to rave about. this is not the italian experience that i was expecting. i mean, you expect, a nice atmosphere, not paper napkins and only ONE waiter for 12 tables?? ridiculous!! i've had better italian and doesn't deserve the rating in Sayulita. It's overpriced for the quality. Period.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexfoodie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We were not sure what to find....but the pizza and the tiramisu were delicious!
True Italian pizza, wood burning oven and homemade fresh pasta done with the best Italian ingredients...
Marco the owner very professional and of course very Italian !
We will be back for sure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank patrizia53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I've been to Italy in Mexico”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Oh ....
.....my......
............goodness!
Charming waiter.
Beautiful ambiance.
Rich delicious & very flavorful food.

Helpful?
Thank Becki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the extra walk for great Italian food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our party of 12 was well received by the owner and our server for the evening. 12 different orders all enjoyed immensely. The restaurant is not much to look at but the chef is very good and food excellent. Walk through town on Ave. Revolution, past the square up the street past Rollie's and it is on your right.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“BEST RESTAURANT in SAYULITA!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my 4th trip to Sayulita and this restaurant is unbelievable!!! Off the beaten path, you will find so much pride in your food / dining experience. Marco, the owner, is such a sweet and knowledgeable person. I watched the chefs making the pasta and cheeses with such passion and joy, that is simply made our dining experience so much better.

I don't believe you will find better food quality, price, and experience anywhere in Sayulita. The only downfall was, that we discovered Mangiafuoco the second to last night. Therefore, we only got to go twice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangiafuoco also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing