We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taco Stand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EL ITACATE

EL ITACATE
Ranked #1 of 135 Restaurants in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Los tacos mas chicos de Sayulita!!
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Taco Stand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I agree with the superlative reviews...the food is outstanding, so much so that during a four night stay in Sayulita, we ate there 2 nights. I pride myself in making good tacos at home, but left El Itacate with my wimpy chef's tail between my legs. The beef tacos (arrachera) were filled with chopped marinated beef, so succulent. People we met said that currently shrimp are in season here, not surprising given the unbelievably freshness and amount of the shrimp they cram into your taco. Just writing this review is making me hungry for more. The wife and I split five tacos and four beers for $20 US. Stuffed. That said, calling this place a "restaurant" is stretching the definition a bit. The indoor part of the place is about 10 X 20 feet, and serves largely as the work area. Customers sit outside at either 4 barstools adjoining a window/counter, or at one of three outside uncovered tables sorta actually on the street. Other amenities usually had at a restaurant are missing but not necessarily missed; i.e., no side orders, appetizers, or desserts. It's pretty much tacos and beer. So, if you are in the mood for a more formal sit-down experience, you'd better get over it to eat at this place. The quality of their limited menu makes it well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHilarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    65
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
380 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“All the superlatives in all the reviews are true. Just Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I ate here last night. We had 3 shrimp tacos and 1 steak taco. All were hot and overflowing and with the great sauces to choose from, this a complete meal. We were stuffed. Vegetarian taco options are available as well. If your here for a few days, this is definitely a restaurant deserving of repeat visits. The value is unbelievable. Service is very friendly and fast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Tacos Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ate there twice during our 10-day stay. Loved the pollo and pablano chili taco as well as the steak. Lively and fun, and the service was friendly and attentive. A must for anyone visiting Sayulita!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j7jhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best food in sayulita!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate there as often as we could! The specialize in beef taco, but the shimp and fish were very good. Nicely grilled shrimp on amazing tortilla's They have great sauces to go with! Exceptional service! The value is amazing for what you get 25 pesos for a shrimp taco that is overflowing with shrimps!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hornbyisland84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best tacos in town, and then some”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

After walking out of Sayulita Cafe due to poor service and lousy drinks, we landed here, with help from the local photographer, Beth Berman. What a find. The 8 of us had at least one of everything, and then started reordering and sharing. Fresh ingredients prepared just right with lots of seasoning options made this a go-back-to place. Late lunch through evening, this is the taco joint of choice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnaysrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL ITACATE also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to EL ITACATE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing