We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Little Hotel”
Review of Petit Hotel d'Hafa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Hotel d'Hafa
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed here at the start of our honeymoon. For the price, we were so pleasantly surprised. Christophe and his wife have done a beautiful job of decorating, with a Morrocan inspired rooftop with day-bed - perfect place to have an afternoon drink and look over the town. Rooms are clean and again, gorgeously decorated. Hotel is close to everything, 2 min walk to the beach and all the restaurants. Their bar downstairs is also awesome - try their margaritas! We did hear the noise at nighttime if we went to sleep early but it didn't bother us too much.
Lovely place to stay and such terrific value.

Room Tip: We had the best room, think it was Room 1. We loved it, nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsabelP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 121 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

One caveat before I proceed with this review - if you're a light sleeper, do yourself a favor and don't stay in the center of town or you will be disappointed. There are bars and nightclubs just a block or so away and they stay open late! This is a great place and it's a shame for people who don't know what they're getting into to complain about something they can easily avoid beforehand if they did their homework.

Having said all that, my friend and I can sleep through anything and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and LOVED the Petit Hotel Hafa. The décor is absolutely unique and charming and really makes you feel like you're in Morocco, especially the rooftop terrace, which is where we generally began and ended our days at the hotel (usually with no one else around so we had it to ourselves!). Loved the bright red exterior and various design touches throughout, the plants, lighting, everything. Very hip, eclectic and boho-chic, and absolutely in line with the overall vibe of this chic little surf town.

The hotel provides really good, quality tequila and shot glasses on the terrace, complimentary for guests, the couches are comfy and the views of the hillside homes and the town itself were lovely. We stayed in the best room, Room #1, with the lovely walkway leading to the room painted with a trail of hearts. very romantic and super cute! the bathroom was all cement, with a tall palapa roof, separated from the bedroom by a thin curtain. not much privacy, granted, but a minor quibble considering the beauty of the surroundings. Beds were a bit on the hard side, but that's generally true throughout Mexico. A/C is available, but we found we didn't really need it with the fan on. Also, I was pleasantly surprised to find no bugs or other critters in the room at all, despite the openness (the palapa roof, screenless windows, etc.) Very clean and well-kept property!

Overall, I'd say the hotel is best for adventurous, independent travelers who appreciate good style and architecture and don't expect resort-style amenities or concierge service (the staff were very nice, but pretty much leave you to your own devices, which suited us just fine). The location is excellent, with bars and eateries just around the corner (including the great little bar right next door! owned and operated by the hotel, with similar stylish decor and handsome bartenders). Choco Banana nearby is great for breakfast and has free wifi. And of course, the beach is just a few short blocks away and fun for beginning surfers/paddleboarders, or just lounging under an umbrella all day. We both agreed we'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor if you can, less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolboxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Petit Hotel Hafa is a beautiful hotel perfectly located in the center of Sayulita.

It has 8 rooms, a very nice rooftop deck, and the coolest bar in Sayulita right next door "Le Zouave."

The mediterranean architecture and colorful palate make it stand out above the rest of the buildings, and it has very nice lighting at night. The rooftop gets cool when there is a breeze coming in from the ocean, which is only two very short blocks away. It was very convenient to have the hotel so close to everything.

The place is run by Cristophe and Marina, a beautiful and fun couple bursting with "joie de vivre" that have been living in Sayulita for eight years now. The entire town knows and loves them, and their disposition to make our stay awesome was indispensable to our stay. They also have some pretty cool stories from their days sailing around the world.

Their staff is incredibly kind. The receptionists very knowledgable, and Julien is the man when it comes to Margaritas, Mojitos and "Pintados" his specialty over at Le Zouave.

I highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to get the full Sayulita experience, and we can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GueyOfLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Petit d'Hafa is a boutique hotel, it's located in the very heart of town and just a few minutes walk away from the beach. Loved the decor and cleanliness of the whole place. Much needed air conditioning is available and felt pretty safe. Customer service was excellent and plenty of restaurants to choose from near by. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace where you can lounge and soak up some sun, you can also find a bottle of tequila just waiting there!

Room Tip: No need for alarm clock, early roosters croak at crack of dawn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0tusEater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay if you're on a budget in sayulita, which is not cheap! It is always clean and cute, with fans and comfortable beds. It is above a shop and it is hard to find the entrance. Just go into the shop below. That is their reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaandIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at d'Hafa for two nights on August, 2013.

It is a very nice hotel, well located, easy to find; the rooms are clean and pleasantly decorated in a mixture of native and Moroccan style, which makes it a rather charming location. The staff was quite helpful in suggesting locations and activities. We would have loved to have planned for a longer stay.

Next time we certainly will.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdelaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my girl, went for a surfing trip to mexico and found hotel dhafa. Our trip basically went from a surf trip to a honey moon. Great people, great family and great town. The vibe on the hotel was increrible, the way they painted the doors, everything was top. Really happy i got to stay there. Hopefully I'll have the chance to go again.
Super good times and super good surf near by.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
0.3 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 24 in Sayulita
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#4 of 24 in Sayulita
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel d'Hafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel d'Hafa

Address: Calle Jose-Mariscal, Sayulita, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is on the corner of the plaza, in town centre, and has a roof deck overlooking all of Sayulita. It is a quaint hotel located between two side streets, surrounded by jewelry, clothing and lotion shops, as well as cafés and restaurants. It is two blocks from the beach and also has free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petit Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing