We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wow !"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lightkeeper's Seafood Restaurant

The Lightkeeper's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in St. Anthony
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Wow !"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

On a point jutting into the North Atlantic, surrounded by cliffs, the view and ambience of this restaurant is unique and special. As one eats, there is the possibility of seeing a fox or a whale or an iceberg.
I work in St. Anthony on an occasional basis for one week sessions. I eat as many meals here as I can. The food could be described as "casual gourmet". There are vegetarian options. An interesting dish is Thai Moose Spring Rolls. A favourite is the Seafood Linguine.
One of the main highlights is the service. The staff is efficient and show great warmth and respect.
When I am in other areas of the country and people mention that they visited the St. Anthony area, I always ask about their favourite memories . The invariable answer is the L'Anse Aux Meadows Viking site and the "little red and white restaurant" on Fishing Point.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    109
    48
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are in St Anthony you should drive out to the lighthouse and stop for lunch or even a snack. We saw whales offshore from the lighthouse adjacent to the restaurant and found numerous picture opportunities. The restaurant is not great but it is better than average and the food is good and well priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great location as long as there is not fog.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location right overlooking the water. I think it was there as it was foggy during our visit. Basic but good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dodgyrodgy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
333 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Tasty entrees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came to St. Anthony to see the Grenfell museum. We decided to look around the town first. It was the first "real" community that we had seen in days. We drove down the main street and found a cute little lighthouse at the end. Next to it was the Lightkeeper's Seafood Restaurant. We went in, looked at the menu, and decided to return at 5 o'clock for supper. The restaurant closes from 3-5 in the afternoon.

For Newfounland standards, we found the restaurant quite charming. It was all done in red and white just like the a lighthouse. We sat at a table overlooking the lighthouse and the entrance of St Anthony's harbor.

I had linguine in a bechamel sauce with shrimp and scallops for $19.00. It was very tasty. My husband enjoyed his cod au gratin for $18.00. He got two sides with his meal and he chose a baked potato and baked beans. Nice rolls came with our meals.

All in all it was a very good eating experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“the view almost makes it worth the expense.....almost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

if you're looking to dine on traditional fare within view of a lighthouse and iceberg alley (icebergs travel along the channel between newfoundland and labrador from spring through mid-summer), then this is the ideal place for lunch or dinner.

due to the changeable weather that day in northern newfoundland, we wound up taking shelter in the restaurant while a pretty decent downpour raged outside. after the weather cleared, though, the view was wonderful.

however, you might want to budget a little extra money. the total bill for our party of three, including tip, was about $80, and i don't think any of us left feeling completely stuffed. my companions dined on burgers and fries, while i branched out and ordered a soup, entree, and dessert from the menu.

my soup was a seafood chowder, which i'm pleased to report featured plenty of large chunks of fish and shrimp. salt and pepper provided a little assistance flavorwise, but i found myself wishing i had access to some of my spices and condiments from home to perk it up a little bit more.

i followed the chowder with the "thai moose spring rolls", which seemed like an intriguing choice of entree. they were tasty (or maybe that was because i bathed them in the slightly spicy/slightly sweet dipping sauce), but small, as was the portion of coleslaw served on the side. (in fact, the coleslaw came in the exact same size cup as the dipping sauce.) i am not normally a rice eater, but i practically inhaled mine, as i was still hungry after clearing the rest of my place. as i said, the food was quite tasty, but unless the small amount of meat in my rolls costs $50/kg, i can't really justify the $15 i spent on this entree.

finally, i followed this with a bakeapple cheesecake. at $7, this was slightly more reasonable. the informative card at the table stated that bakeapples have a "distinct honey/apricot-like flavour". i'm not really certain i tasted those flavors, but it was a pleasant finish to my meal nonetheless, and i seriously considered trying to come up with a way to take home another slice or two.

the waitresses were pleasant, though i did have to flag ours down for a refill of my water, as well as for the check when we'd finished our meal.

would i go again? yes.....but unless they increase their portion size or lower their prices, it'll most likely be just for a slice of cheesecake while taking in the scenery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duffpaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lightkeeper's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
 
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Lightkeeper's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing