We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Anthony
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent two lovely nights at the Grenfell Hotel, what a lovely spot! The hotel is immaculate, the beds are so comfortable and we had a lovely view of the harbour. St. Anthony is a beautiful little town, I would definitely visit again and would no doubt stay at Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJKJ1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    87
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
107
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Although Newfoundland never seemed crowded during our vacation I had a hard time findings available accommodations in St. Anthony for the end of July. Luckily, I found the Grenfell Heritage Hotel. The location is right on the road to the lighthouse (great for whale watching - be sure to bring binoculars when you come to Newfoundland!) Our room was a very spacious, updated suite with a king size bed and luxurious bedding and towels. There was also a full kitchen, excellent internet, and air conditioning which we never thought would be necessary this far north, but was appreciated as we were fortunate to have fabulous, hot sunny weather. The housekeepers should be praised for maintaining superbly clean rooms and the front desk staff was exceptionally congenial and helpful.. It was a wonderful end to our fabulous, Newfoundland vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel has clean, comfortable rooms, and ours had two easy chairs and one of the strangest pieces of furnture we've ever seen - a large dresser that somehow converts into a bed. We like hardwood floors for their cleanliness, but here the person above us sounded like they were pacing back and forth all night long, making the floor squeak. So, you might ask for a room upstairs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This accommodation was a pleasant surprise. The hallways and rooms are beautifully decorated. The floors are hardwood and makes everything feel so much cleaner than carpet. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only thing was that the reservation was mixed up and we didn't get the 2 queen beds are requested and instead had a queen and a closet bed (which was reasonable) for $120.00. There is a continental breakfast available from 7:30 to 10 and the room has a full kitchen and balcony. We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed another night here (if we had the 2 queen beds). A great hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a email confirmation for the room to ensure your accommodations are as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Grenfell Hotel worked very well for our family. Large, clean, quiet rooms. Flat screen TV and free wifi. Continental breakfast was a plus. I'd stay here again in a New York minute.

Room Tip: Loved the view from room # 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimT091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The best bed we found in Newfoundland was at this hotel. We really appreciated having a kitchen to cook meals in. The location was great and so was the size of the room. I forgot to ask for a second-floor room -- the floors are wood and we could hear people walking above us, but they did respect quiet hours so it wasn't a problem. The views from the hotel -- or at least from the side we stayed on -- were not great. Well-priced and great value. Probably our only complaint was that the town was working on the water system and so there was a boil water advisory on -- and the only notice of this was a sign posted in the lobby. We didn't notice it until later -- at which point we had already brushed our teeth with the water. We had no ill effects but we thought it would be a good idea to tell guests or to leave a note in the hotel suite itself.

Room Tip: Second floor -- avoid the sound of people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I travelled up here with some friends and had the best time! This would have to be one of the nicest and cleanest places I have stayed in NFLD. Very clean, very friendly and very well priced. I would stay here again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms upstairs as the floors are thin and you can hear people walking around upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmtreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Anthony
0.8 mi away
Haven Inn
Haven Inn
#2 of 4 in St. Anthony
91 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wildberry Country Lodge
Wildberry Country Lodge
#4 of 4 in St. Anthony
44 reviews
16.3 mi away
Burnt Cape Cabins and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Quirpon Island
20 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tuckamore Lodge
Tuckamore Lodge
#1 of 1 in Main Brook
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites

Property: Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites
Address: 1 McChada Drive, St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Anthony
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Anthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites is your home away from home. It is a 4 star, modern, well appointed 20 room hotel. Each room is very spacious and most have their own balcony and kitchen area. It offers the latest in guest amenities such as wireless Internet, cable television, air conditioning, continental breakfast, etc. Also a great place for a small conference or business meeting as there is an on-site conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenfell Heritage Hotel St. Anthony
Grenfell Heritage Hotel And Suites
Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites St. Anthony, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing