We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Jim's - A good choice whil ein St. Anthony”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Jim's

Jungle Jim's
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in St. Anthony
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Jungle Jim's is a restaurant chain. They recently added a location inside the Hotel North in St. Anthony. Swing on in and visit our Location Today!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jungle Jim's - A good choice whil ein St. Anthony”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in St. Anthony for a week and stopped here my last day. Although I did not know it at the time, apparently this is a chain since I now see two other Jungle Jim's in St. John's.

Jungle Jim's is a pretty typical "sports bar" albeit smaller. A bar, booths and a few table all in a bamboo decor. Like all of St. Anthony, this is very casual so while the service was fine, don't expect what you might find in larger US or Canadian cities.

I ordered a "Surf n Turf" dinner with steak, 4 shrimp, bacon wrapped mussels served with a baked potato and corn. The steak was very tasty and well prepared, better than the Haven Inn up the road. I was very pleasantly surprised.

If you are looking for a good meal, this is the place. It does not have local flavor or histor, but for good food you will be happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great meal at Jungle Jims”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My experience at Jungle Jims was very good. Had the mexi-combo meal and I thought it was delicious. A nice change from the seafood restaurants I'd been visiting, although the seafood elsewhere was great too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upsydaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ended up at this restaurant because the one we had planned to go to was closed and we didn't want to drive far on a wet night. We had calamari as an appetizer followed by a vegetable stir fry for my husband and a shrimp stir fry for myself. Considering all the wonderful local seafood available, the meal was dreadful. Both veggies and seafood were obviously frozen and dosed in a horrible sweet and sour sauce. Served with rice that I can only describe as "wet". I think I can say this was the worst meal I have ever eaten!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not much to look at from the outside, but a good roadhouse style of dining and food. Bamboo everywhere and a friendly atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dodgyrodgy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value for Lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent a morning wandering around St. Anthonys and at the light house whale watching. When lunchtime arrived we thought we'd try Jungle Jim's since we'd seen the ads across Newfoundland. They have a "Two Can Dine" special for lunch and we both opted for a French Onion soup and sandwich special. The food was good, the service was quick, although the server kept calling us "You guys" - a personal peeve when one of the folks with me is my wife (not a guy!), The only other concern we had was the ladies washroom which was not maintained very well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Jim's also viewed

 
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
 
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
 

Been to Jungle Jim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing