We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, okay room, quite pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Qualaa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Qualaa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Sidon B&B and Inns
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
167 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“great location, okay room, quite pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at the Al Qualaa for one night. We did not book in advaned and paid USD 120 for a double room incl. breakfast.
The location of the hotel is great. Right next to the corniche. The room was nice, but not USD 120. The lift which connects the ground floor with the first floor was right next to the wall. Sleep was okay, but would have been better without.
Reception staff was nice, but (content-wise) not very knoledgeable. The bathroom was clean. Breakfast was okay, with a great view from the second floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

to start with that hotel was the only decent choice in Saidon.been there with my wife for three days we couldn't get a discount for our room so we ended up paying the 100$ they asked for.our room was beautifuly decorated with paintings on the walls and a nice furnature.the view was over looking the harbore and the old citadele.the bathroom was very clean with a lot of hot water,toillet paper,shampoo.etc.there is one nice rooftop restaurant and several cafes in the street in front of the reciption.which give us more variety of food.the complementry breakfast is a joke.(you better off trying some of the local food in the street).the staff are helpful with very little english.
it is not a star hotel by any mean.but it is good enough as there is no other choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai,United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

To begin with my initial reaction to the hotel was one of suprise and delight as the hotel itself is really quite nice,moroccan theme and interesting decor. There were no reviews of the hotel on trip advisor so we just went with it,there isn't much choice in Saidon anyway.The guy at the desk asked for 100 dollars a night,we said 75, he agreed-we were glad not to have to start bargaining. All sorts of things went wrong however,the electricity in our room went on and off continuously during the 3 nights we spent there,our shower was broken,only 1 towel every morning,no toilet paper etc etc. What really annoyed me was every morning when we went for breakfast we left a ''do not disturb'' sign on the door but the maid went in anyway,made up the beds without changing the sheets, threw all our clothes,luggage etc on the bed and mopped the place-she left everything in a heap on the bed?!!! It was so strange and quite tiring lifting everything back down every morning. We charged all our bills to the room and verified at the beginning that they would accept credit card as it was the end of our holiday and I didn't want to walk around with loads of cash. On the last day I recived 3 calls to the room between 11-11.45am asking me if the cleaner could come in,I said we were showering but leaving shortly. Both the receptionist and cleaner insisted on calling asking when we were checking out....it was literally to the point of harassment even though it clearly states check out is at 12. (it was clear the cleaner wanted to go home)This was really aggrevating as I couldn't pack/shower etc. When we came down to pay the bill there were 3 teenagers at the desk. They just said '290 dollars total' and looked at us-no reciept,no manners-nothing. I asked if the manager was there (who I believe is called Nadine?) but they just looked and said 'La' (no). They said their credit card machine was down and as I didnt have cash they made several calls until one of the young boys told us to follow him. We walked around the whole of Sidon behind him like idiots for over an hour stopping in 6/7 shops while he asked if we could use our credit cards in their store and they pay him the money. It was the most OBSCURE and embarassing thing I have ever encountered and as a result of all the drama we were late for our trip to Jeitta Grotto and instead had to go straight to the airport. I wouldnt recommend this joke of a hotel unless you were eating in the restaurant which is located on the top floor, it is efficient and delicious. Serious improvements needed because even at 75 dollars a night-the price is ridiculous for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of our trip round Lebanon.
This is a lovely old stone building & inside the rooms you see the bare stone. Lovely furnishings with a Moroccan theme. Almost all rooms have a seaview over looking the Sea Castle.
Our stay would have been great & quite romantic if not for the fact we had no hot water & the staff did nothing to remedy the problem other than intermittently give us key for another room to use a shower. Considering the room cost was $120 per night (altho we did get a discount - ask for Nadine) - the service was pretty shabby.
Bring ear plugs as the rooms are noisy at night as there are street cafes below the hotel that are open till after midnight & the main road is right outside. There is also a restaurant on the roof of the hotel where there are also several rooms - I believe they would get quite noisy as they are situated between two eating areas & the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Qualaa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Qualaa Hotel

Property: Al Qualaa Hotel
Address: Seaside Road | Mina Street, Sidon, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > South Governorate > Sidon
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Qualaa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Al Qualaa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Qualaa Hotel Lebanon/Sidon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing