We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy and Undercooked”
Review of john dory's

john dory's
Ranked #50 of 113 Restaurants in Lisburn
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greasy and Undercooked”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had fish and chips from here last night (Monday 3rd Feb) and the fish was really greasy as were the chips which were also white and undercooked in my opinion.
Thought it was important to put this up as other people are waxing lyrical about this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    12
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good old John Dory's!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food and service are second to none! we go regularly to the Carryduff branh but the Lisburn one is just as good. The chips are the best I have ever got in a chippie. Burgers and chicken goujons are always tasty and there's quite often a voucher offer on if you pick up one of their brochures in the shop which gives good value meals when you are buying two or more!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our "go to" place for fish and chips in Lisburn. The food is always good and the portion sizes are excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin_Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and nasty product in a nice bag”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cardboard tasteless burgers, dry buns and greasy fish. If this place spent more on its product and less on LCD screens and fancy bags then it might work. I have had food from a few in the East Belfast area also and its the same story. I went for one of their "Deals" lately and my sons kids meal had more food in it than my supposedly adult meal. Mutton dressed as lamb - far better elsewhere - might not have a color changing sign mind you. All fur coat...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best in Lisburn”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visit this chippy regularly and have never had a bad experience. The staff are lovely. The food is lovely. And it is always very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Good-grub-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed john dory's also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to john dory's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing