We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”

The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery
Ranked #17 of 116 Restaurants in Lisburn
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Tap Room is a unique venue for any event from Barbeques to Formal Dining. A working brewery with a Licensed Restaurant in a beautiful and historic georgian setting at Hilden House which is located in the village of Hilden just off the main Belfast/Lisburn Road. Enjoy a beer or two over a relaxed lunch or dinner in the converted stables of Hilden House.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to the Tap Room on a Friday night. Not many people there which is surprising because the food was excellent. All four of us were completely satisfied with our meal - two of us had the bream which was excellent. We had a very friendly and efficient young waiter who took great care of us. We saw that there was a deck area outside with a heater which would be very pleasant for a post-dinner drink on a fine evening. Beautiful decor and could imagine that it would be a wonderful venue for a (small) wedding. We were able to buy some of their own brewed beers to take away which went down very well with my brother-in-law who likes his ale. All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I recently visited the Tap Room for dinner and have to say I was disappointed. Having read some good reviews I was hopeful of a pleasant dining experience.
The restaurant was drafty and cold. The service was terrible with the waitress unable to provide any supplementary information on the meals, wine or beers available. Very poor service.
The food was good but not spectacular. Overall it was disappointing, I will not be visiting again nor would I recommend this establishemnt to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank OJB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a small party”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I attended a family christening lunch in the Hilden. It had a nice relaxed atmosphere and the children were able to run about safely in the grounds. The food was really nice and the desserts were gorgeous

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeR496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I went here for Valentines day dinner. They had a set menu that was amazing, one of the best meals out we've had in a very long time. The prices for dinner were ridiculously good and amazing value. I don't know what their normal menu is like, but my husband and I will be back.

It is a bit outside of Belfast but the train station is right there which makes it super handy. The atmosphere inside is lovely, delicious food, helpful staff. We loved it, look forward to going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Read the fine print”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Make sure to get a member of the management team to go through the full terms and conditions when booking a wedding here. An impression was given that full exclusivity would be awarded to our wedding party but shockingly discovered members of the public being served in the restaurant downstairs while the wedding party were being served their food in the function room.....this set up had not been explained when booking the venue (a situation that shouldn't of had to have been dealt with the day of the wedding and could have been prevented if fully explained by the hilden staff). The members of the public were permitted to stay while the music and party took place downstairs. As a result, the first dance by the bride and groom felt somewhat impersonal and a fully relaxed night could not be had by all, with strangers seated in the venue amongst guests. It seemed that staff could not fully concentrate on the needs of the wedding guests having to split the service between the wedding upstairs and the public downstairs.

On a positive note, the food was fantastic and extremely filling. The portion sizes were of a generous size and the kids were well catered for. Despite only serving their own home brew, the drink was enjoyed by all and a good variety of wines were available. Alcopops were made available upon request.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing