We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residencial Salema

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residencial Salema
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We are a couple who were traveling with our 27-year old daughter and we wanted a beach in a less touristic part of the Algarve. Hotel Salema (a small hotel in a small town)was perfect for us and practically on the beach. We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, each had a view of the ocean. Parking was free, but crowded during the day. The rooms were small but fine and clean and the balcony a great place for reading or afternoon Happy Hour. Breakfast was included and very good and ample. The lift failed one morning but was immediately fixed. There are a couple nice restaurants within a short walk, and there was an active bar in the hotel. Staff friendly and welcoming. Salema is within a reasonable drive to Sagres, Cabo de Sao Vicente and the charming town of Lagos where you can surf or snorkel and visit the dramatic sandstone cliffs of Ponta da Piedade.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

As far as I know this is the only hotel in the village though there are numerous apartment options which generally require more than the 2 nights we stayed in August. All the rooms have sea view across the road and a small car park--the beach is about 50 metres away. We were woken a few times by people talking as they walked beneath the window but its a quiet resort so its unlikely to be too rowdy.

The room had a small balcony with just enough room for two to sit on. The room itself was a standard mediterranean style affair with spartan decor and a tiled floor. The bathroom wasnt particularly modern but it was clean and was prefectly adequate. The room had A/C which worked well but with the door open and a sea breeze wasnt needed even in August.

Breakfast was adequate if a bit too centred on cake for my liking! There is no parking and in summer the small centre gets busy-you may have to park a few minutes away. My only gripe was that we arrived around 1pm and were told the room wouldnt be ready till 2, which was ok. We returned at 2 to be told it would be another half hour. This happened again at 2.30 and we eventually got in at 3. It seemed that the lady on reception (who was very helpful) was reluctant to tell the cleaners to interrupt their routine and clean a room for guests who were waiting to check in, at the expense of those rooms already occupied by people who were out for the day. That would be my only feedback to the management. In all we had a nice relaxing stay in a pleasant resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We found this small hotel through Rick Steve;s travel guide and booked through booking.com and we were thoroughly pleased with it.The room was very clean and spacious although a bit sparse but we only needed it for sleeping.Very quiet room so we slept well. We had a fantastic view of the beach(only a few metres from the hotel)from a lovely balcony which we appreciated and spent every evening having pre dinner drinks there. The bathroom although small was clean and we had fresh towels on demand.
Breakfast was exceptional,we were a little unsure as what to expect as the hotel only advertised a continental breakfast, but there was everything from eggs, bacon, cold meats,cheese, fresh fruit ,yoghurt, a selection of croissants and cakes, fresh bread and preserves. Fruit juices and freshly brewed coffee on constant supply.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, we would like to say a special thanks to Andrea the German lady and Stelio the Greek who efficiently ran the receptionand made everything worthwhile.They recommended nearby beaches other than Salema and some excellant restaurants.We will definately be returning here again and suggest to anyone who wants a quiet laid back relaxing vacation to stay in Salema and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnybabePisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Was very relieved to find this hotel in Salema as I'd walked 7 hours from Lagos without having anything booked in advance. It's a very good hotel and I was happy with everything,
especially the breakfast, which was very nice. I paid 65 euros, which struck me as a bit pricey (all the other hotels I stayed in on this trip were in the 40-50 euros price range). But maybe that's because there's not much competition in Salema, compared to, say, Lagos or Sagres?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Salema is a fabulous place to visit if you want a beach holiday, away from all the hassle and you are into food and relaxation. We'd visited before but never stayed and we booked into the Hotel Residential for a week in late August - a little earlier than we normally go away.

The village was very busy by day as this was the last week of the Portuguese holidays but it never seemed crowded. Some restaurants needed booking if you wanted tables overlooking the ocean and there is a good variety of food on offer including very fresh fish, lots of meat and great tasting vegetables.

On the beach it was 10 euros a day for a pair of recliners under a sunshade - good value when the temperature is in the mid 30 degrees :-)

The hotel was basic - the room was small but the view from the (also small) balcony was huge. A tiny bathroom with a shower - a very good shower by the way - and small beds with hard mattresses.

That said it was spotlessly clean - always a good thing - the rooms tidied every day with clean towels daily. The aircon worked well and quietly.

The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast that could have benefited from a fresh coffee machine but there was always fresh bread and fruit and it was all very tasty. Service was friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome and the bar in the evening was very pleasent.

On one occasion the lift failed and, being from England, we thought we'd be using the stairs for the rest of the week but the engineer had arrived before we finished breakfast and fixed things immediately.

Overall this is a great hotel as long as you don't expect 5 star luxury. We really only slept there as we spent the rest of the time on one of the many great beaches or out and about exploring and for that type of holiday it was excellent. Probably would be seen as great value at early or late season prices.

We had a great holiday and the hotel was a big part in making it a success.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannymantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed 2 nights here in late September. The hotel was fine. Unfortunately, when we got there, there was a very, very intense storm raging (nearly hurricane force) and it rained and rained for hours. We had been hoping for a warm, sunny beach diversion from our trip, but we spent the first day huddled in the room (outside, the storm made anything else impossible). The room was nice enough -- clean, comfortable, with a small balcony and a (partial) view of the beach (all the rooms have the same view - it's across a small parking lot, at about a 45 degree angle, not a big, wall-to-wall window directly overlooking the beach). TV with some international channels. Bathroom was fine, spacious by European standards, functional. No complaints, really, about the hotel at all. A little spendy, but there are not many options there that one can book before arriving (our guide book listed many rooms in private homes, and I'm sure those were cheap and nice enough too, but I wanted to book via email in advance, and that's not an option for the rooms in private houses). Booking via email was simple and straightforward.

  • Liked — Clean, good location
  • Disliked — The weather when we were there - but they can't exactly control that
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga, spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

Overprized. Very small bathroom. Clean and nice with views from the terrace.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labedabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
7.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
6.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial Salema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Salema

Property: Hotel Residencial Salema
Address: Rua 28 de Janeiro, Salema 8650-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial Salema 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Residencial Salema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencial Salema Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing