We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the greatest.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Salema B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not the greatest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

I’m sorry to say that I was disappointed with Pension A Mare. The hostess was very nice, but it didn’t make up for the fact that the B&B was dingy and in need of an update. The bathroom and tile seemed kind of dirty and the showerhead was only about 4 feet high. I don’t understand why one would make a shower like that. The water just shot at you. The glass shower surround didn’t close properly so water went all over, even outside the bathroom. The sink was outside the bathroom in the room, which took up precious space. What I really didn’t understand was that there was a bigger room with a normal bathroom directly across the hall that was empty. It was the same price as our room so I don’t know why we weren’t given it. There was free internet, which was nice. The breakfast wasn’t anything special. It had the normal Portuguese fair, so if you don’t like cold cuts and cheese for breakfast, plan on not having much of a selection. Our room did have a wonderful view and the beach is very close.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    34
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We were in Salema on a Saturday in October, and it was pretty dead. We weren’t planning on spending our time on the beach which is all there was to do. Our main objective was to see Cape Sagres and Cape St. Vincent so we was perfectly happy, but a weekday in Salema may be more entertaining for non-sunbathers. Pension Mare is a nice hotel a short uphill walk from the beach. Each room has some type of patio or balcony with a view and there are a few free parking spaces close by. The room was cute and comfortable, although the shower was unusual. It worked fine, though. Breakfast was really good with coffee in a two-person moka pot. The hostess was originally from Germany and very nice and helpful. We didn’t have time to explore any other areas of the Algarve, but if restful is what you want, Salema on the weekend in October is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

You can't go wrong here. Bettina who manages the property is the most welcoming hostess and is extremely helpful.Our room was not large, but comfortable with a tiny balcony. The view of the ocean (just a few yards away) is amazing from the terrace and common room. Bettina provides a wonderful breakfast to get the day started. They also have free internet access for guests. John the owner was on site when we arrived and made us feel most welcome and gave the best restaurant recommendations. The Mira Mar restaurant has the tastiest meals, don't let the "shabby" exterior fool you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INDIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is absolutely the best place to stay in Salema. Our hostess, Bettina, went out of her way to ensure that we had a memorable trip. Her breakfasts were wonderful. When my cousin became ill, Bettina not only made arrangements for her to be seen, but she followed up on her care. When surgery was needed, Bettina went to the hospital daily to check on her progress, while keeping me informed several times a day. When Bettina no longer had a room available due to our extended stay, she personally located another place for us. She was definitely our personal angel at a time when we needed it the most. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting with a caring hostess.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaPat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at the Mare for 3 nights and although it was the most expensive place we stayed in Portugal it was also the nicest. The location is excellent, just up from the beach and above the bus stop with views over the beach (you can see the fishing boats coming in and being unloaded while eating breakfast). The breakfast is good - fresh orange juice, coffee, bread/crossants, fruit, cheese and ham etc. The hosts are friendly and were happy to let us check ourselves in since we were arriving at a time when they weren't home. The room wasn't huge but it as nicely decorated and the bed was confortable. Booking is simple and you can pay the deposit by paypal rather than expensive bank transfers like some other places in Portugal ask for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

The A Mare is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The B and B is located just a few hundred metres from the beach in Salema, a great place to stay in the Algarve. Bettina runs a wonderful place that is well kept, and provides a fantastic breakfast. We stayed in room 4, which is small but perfectly comfortable, and the little balcony has a nice view. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a clean, quiet and friendly place to stay in the Eastern Alagrave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tj654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

It's still spring in the Algarve and on a weekday so we were the only travelers in the hotel. Bettina, the Manager, was just wonderful. The common area looks out on the little beach. We stayed in two inside rooms but Bettina showed us around to the apartments and they look wonderful. There are several balconeys and terraces were you can spend an evening sipping wine and looking out over the tiny town.
The next morning there was a breakfast fit for a king (or three queens in this case!).

This was probably the best hotel we stayed in while in Portugal.

We are already making plans to come back during the summer with friends!

Helpful?
1 Thank suzgoodman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.0 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
0.0 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.0 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast
Address: Praia de Salema, Salema 8650-194, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly B&B style guest house just 100 meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Free Wi-fi. Traditional fishing village with lots of local restaurants serving the catch of the day, 2 bars (no discos). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension a Mare Bed And Breakfast
Pension a Mare Hotel Salema
Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast Salema, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing