We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food and service”
Review of Mira Mar

Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Salema
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, food and service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was our first time to Salema. We had read the restaurant reviews on Tripadvisor and then after looking around decided on reserving a table here. It has an excellent location right on the beach front. The service was good but the food could have been better. My husband had a meat kebab that came with only potatoes and no veg/salad. I had the spaghetti with prawns which was again OK but not brilliant. We would go back but only after trying other restaurants within the village.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ma_JasPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    28
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairseat, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fairly average compared to other places”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant has a fabulous location right next to the beach looking out to sea but our food was nothing to get excited about. My daughter and i had the spaghetti with clams which was very dry and we had to look hard for the clams. Having said that my wife's prawns were pretty good and the fish soup was also rather good. Unlike many other local restaurants the whole process felt very transactional rather than that the owners cared that we had a good meal, many other local restaurant owners seemed to try much harder to impress in the hope that you would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickfamilyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still the best in Salema!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I absolutely love this restaurant and would eat here every night, but they are closed on a Saturday! The menu is small but beautifully formed, with fresh local produce and regional dishes, including wild boar, rabbit and pasta.Their fish soup is sublime. My friend had the seafood linguine and she said it was the best she has ever tasted, including top London restaurants. It was made with black linguine (squid ink) and looked magnificent. The wild sea bass was fantastic too.
I just hope that it never gets the facelift other Salema restaurants have had as it is perfect just as it is.
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YayaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So tastey.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Mira Mar is set overlooking one of the best beaches on the Algarve. This patio restaurant is tiny but the food is excellent. On our last visit I had the spaghetti with clams which was so tasty, the clams were fresh and the pasta had just the right chilli bite to lift it out of the ordinary. All of the food is freshly cooked and the staff including Sylvia and Pedro are friendly and attentive. I can highly recommend this restaurant but make sure to book ahead as its no longer a hidden gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always superb”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great beach restaurant featuring mainly fish, cooked by very talented German chef
Piri Piri Prawns are about as good as you get anywhere. We always try to come here at least twice on a weeks holiday

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggersBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mira Mar also viewed

Salema, Faro District
 
Salema, Faro District
 

Been to Mira Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing