We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Pinto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Pinto
Ranked #4 of 11 Monsaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Casa Pinto is a gorgeous place. This small hotel has beautifully appointed rooms with fabulous bathrooms. There is a an outdoor breakfast terrace plus a fabulous, roof top terrace with honor bar. Staff speak limited English but are able to communicate and eager to please. Breakfast is excellent. Monsaraz is out of a fairy tale, yet very affordable. Casa Pinto was our favorite place of two weeks in Portugal...simply the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

1. Gilberto (we did not meet Joao who was in Barcelona)
2. The charm of the property
3. The outstanding terrace with the most amazing view of Alentejo hills and the sun dawn
4. The generous breakfast in the small magic garden
5. The beauty of the room (Dili)
6. The cleanliness
7. The attention to every small detail in the rooms and public areas
8. The Wi-Fi
9. The flat cable TV.
10. The air condition
11. The comfortable bed and linen
12. The bathroom ammenities
13. The charming town of Monsaraz

Aren't those reasons temptating enaugh to select Casa Pinto?

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are good, ours is the Dili Room, facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ori888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was amazing are arguably one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in! The backdrop of the beautiful hilltop village, with amazing views and tranquility makes this a must see for any visitor to Portugal. From the moment we arrived, the host was warm, friendly & accommodating. The decor is wonderful and every room we saw had a different well crafted relaxing theme. There is an amazing terrace with an 'honesty bar' which we made full use of as we relaxed on a sofa during the day & night looking over the surrounding countryside. A great breakfast too & loved the chihuahuas!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sclate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We planned to drive from Lisbon to Sevilla with a stop for couple nights in the countryside. I based our decision to stay in Monsaraz mostly on the glowing reviews of Casa Pinto and none in my party were disappointed. The town itself is quiet and charming and provided a wonderful escape from all the city life we'd been experiencing. Our host, Gilberto, was charming and gracious and provided lots of information on the area. We used Monsaraz as a base for exploration of the area and stayed for two nights. The rooms are comfortable (we had Dili and Mombasa), quiet and our view was the lovely church across the plaza. The breakfast was spectacular and the view from the terrace is magnificent.

Be forewarned that there is not a lot going on in this town with things to see or shops or restaurants and services however if you want a peaceful place to stay for a night or two, with a good restaurant that you might eat at two or three times and a spectacular night sky, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casapinto, Director General at Casa Pinto, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks for your apreciation, it means Casa Pinto is already a success!
We only wanted to make guest feel good.
Best Regards, and hope see u again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was the perfect place to spend a weekend getting away from the everyday stresses of work and the city. The village on Monsaraz makes you simply stop, take time to just sit and drink in the views of the Alentejo and the wide open skies that surround you in Monsaraz. Casa Pinto is an absolute gem. As soon as Joao opens the door you step into another world. The rooms are beautifuly decorated with incredible attention to detail. Sitting on the terrace looking up at the stars in the night sky with a fabulous music mix playing in the background was a perfect way to end an evening. Breakfast is also spot on. The whole experience was just perfect. We will return every year to this little slice of heaven to remind ourselves to simply stop and take time to enjoy.

Room Tip: Goa Room was beautifully appointed. It overlooks the breakfast terrace. The Mombasa room looked am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in Evora, and luckily, Casa Pinto (30 minutes away from Evora) popped up. I couldn't believe our luck upon driving up the hill to this beautiful medieval town of Monsaraz, then our luck was doubled by getting to stay in the Casa Pinto, then tripled by the fact that we were there for the big bull festival! We stayed two wonderful nights, the second of which was the festival. Joao has done a wonderful job decorating the Casa and is a very gracious host. We stayed in the Macao room and even though there was a raucous festival going on all night the second night, we were never bothered by the noise. I'll never forget the calm, beautiful evenings watching the sunset from the rooftop terrace (aided by vino verde, of course), followed by the thrilling running with the bulls on the plaza in front of the Casa! The Casa Pinto is a must for anyone traveling in Portugal!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were not planning on spending a night in Monsaraz, but when we got there we were awed by the medieval atmosphere and white-washed houses on the top of a hill. Let's spend the night if we can, my husband suggested. We went to the tourist info office and they gave us a card from Casa Pinto and another tiny hotel. We noticed the TripAdvisor sign on the door of Casa Pinto and knocked on the door. The door flew open and there was Juan -- a Spaniard who had also been blown away by the village on his first visit, chucked in his window-dressing job in Barcelona and bought this tiny house. Every room is decorated in a different theme--all Portuguese former colonies like Macao, Timor, and Mozambique--and so lovingly decorated! The piece de la resistance was a rooftop terrace, where we had wine brought up to us and we sipped and watched the sunset over the countryside. Also included is a terrific breakfast on the patio surrounded by tropical plants. It's fabulous and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All nice but we chose Timor because of the lovely bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsaraz
0.7 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
0.8 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
23.2 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monte Alerta
Monte Alerta
#3 of 11 in Monsaraz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dom Nuno - Turismo de Habitacao
0.8 mi away
Horta da Coutada
Horta da Coutada
#2 of 11 in Monsaraz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pinto

Property: Casa Pinto
Address: Praca Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira 10, Monsaraz 7200-175, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Monsaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monsaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinto House is a charming hotel in the historic village of Monsarz Alentejo area is located in the town square opposite the churchThe village rises on the Great Lake Alqueva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Pinto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pinto Hotel Monsaraz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing