We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special village - unique hotel”
Review of Casa Pinto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Pinto
Ranked #4 of 11 Monsaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visit the Algrave each September and for some time have wanted to get up into the Alentejo region to get a sample of inland Portugal. How glad we are that we finally got round to it and thankful that we made a good selection in booking Casa Pinto.

Firstly, the village is nothing short of beautiful, steeped in history with views of the surrounding countryside that really give you the true feel of what Portugal is all about. You could not call it touristy as it not suited to cars (indeed we almost got a ticket for parking in an area for residents only) or even pedestrians in anything but sensible footwear. All vehicles must be parked outside the village walls during the day and luggage needs to be carried up to the hotel.

There is no signs of Health & Safety with high walls and escarpments with no handrails or fencing. You have to be careful climbing the steep narrow steps but the reward is the sight of looking down on the rooftops and terraces gardens laid out below.

On to Cases Pinto. This is a very special place. From the moment we entered the impressive hallway on arrival until we departed the following morning we were enveloped in a feeling of spiritual serenity. The room, we had the Macao, was decorated authentically in oriental furniture with subtle lighting. There is no window in the room, but this does not detract from its quality, however there is a ventilation window high up in an alcove that can be reached by way of a pole. The smallish on-suite is well appointed with a good shower and the quaintest bowl-like wash basin.

The terrace looks North over red roofs of properties below and on to the open countryside and hills. It is said that the sky above Monsaraz is amongst the darkest in Europe. Having witnessed it we can well believe that this is a true claim. After a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant next door we sat on the terrace with a bottle of Alentejo red wine transfixed by the masses of bright stars in the jet black sky and pondered the meaning of life.

During a walk round the castle before breakfast we discovered the small bullring which is still is use during the annual festival.

We ate breakfast outside in the gardened terrace which, in line with the rest of the property, is set out tastefully and to the highest quality. The lemon tree is full of fruit and has a Buda sitting below. There is a small babbling stream in the corner and the fragrant scent of a joss stick burning. I love the way they make coffee in Portugal but the one served with my breakfast was the best I have ever tasted. How can everything be so exceptionally good??

There are no catches with Casa Pinto - it is whatever you make it. We loved it and cannot wait to return. Next time we will know what to expect and will savour every moment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Georginabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Casa Pinto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

I do recommend!!! I love this hotel and Monsaraz... One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojteks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The village is a must. It could have served serve well (if it not did) as a scenario to Sergio Leone's / Clint Eastwood western movies of the 60's, as it is very similar to the empty and sunny spanish (I believe) villages which hosted those great films. The village hosts perhaps the most beautiful pottery shops I ever visited. Casa Pinto is a clean, new, quiet place, cosy , and beautifully decorated. Excellent bed and shower, beautiful sunset at the terrace, very good breakfast. We will definitely come back to the village and to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remy_Martin_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

A perfect hideaway within the walls of the old city. Tranquil and soothing. The Dili room with it's four poster bed and exceptional bathroom was fantastic. Watching the sun set on the beautiful roof terrace will always be a treasured memory of mine. Breakfast was very good and served with a smile.
There are a selection of restaurants and artesan shops within a few metres of Casa Pinto.
The owners are wonderful and have put a lot of thought into developing this perfect space. I wish them all the luck in the world and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsCatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This litle hotel can be in any place in the world, N.Y., London, Toquio, etc...The decoration very beatiful, good hospitality, very quiet,the details make unique, it´s 6 stars!!!Monsaraz is very beatiful village with lake Alqueva on horizont.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at the Casa Pinto for one night. We liked it very much. We stayed at the Macau room, it's a little small but we could see that attention was given to the small details. Together with the village (monsaraz) it's really a unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Only for special people with very good taste! Amazing place! Everything is perfect!
Miguel

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tequilha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monsaraz hotels
0.7 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
0.8 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
0.9 mi away
Monte Alerta
Monte Alerta
#2 of 11 in Monsaraz
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Horta da Coutada
Horta da Coutada
#3 of 11 in Monsaraz
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dom Nuno - Turismo de Habitacao
0.0 mi away
Casa Rural Santo Condestavel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pinto

Address: Praca Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira 10, Monsaraz 7200-175, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Monsaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monsaraz
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinto House is a charming hotel in the historic village of Monsarz Alentejo area is located in the town square opposite the churchThe village rises on the Great Lake Alqueva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Pinto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pinto Hotel Monsaraz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing