We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food in a special setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oppdal Municipality
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kongsvold Fjeldstue
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a special setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one overnight with my son during our road trip in Norway. We had a very good dinner and ate the best meet we've ever had - "old cow". The meat melted in our mouths and was incredibly tasteful. They even had Moskus on the menu! Service was friendly and relaxed. Our room was in an annex and very basic. The bathroom was in need of an upgrade. At 10 am there was a hiking trip with a guide to look for Moskus and in 90% of the time you get to see some. Great place for daily hiking trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kongsberg, Norway
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A warm welcome and good service in beautiful surroundings was just what we were looking for after a long walk over the Dovre mountains. Kongsvold Fjellstue's beautiful old buildings nestling on the hilllside makes a perfect picture, and the restaurant and lounges in the main building are charming. However, our bedrooms which ran at Oslo four star prices were disappointing, being similar in standard to those in one of the better Norwegian Tourist Association cabins.
The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and tasty, but the menu rather pretentiously assumes you are unable to choose your own courses and only offers the choice of several ready-composed three-course (or seven-course) dinners. Having worked up a healthy appetite, some of us would have welcomed a bit more food on our plates! However, the service was impeccable and the staff were both friendly and helpful, if a little too eager to sell us expensive drinks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We came here rather unsure of what to expect as this area of Norway was completely new to us.
We had originally planned to stay for 3 nights, but almost immediately increased this to 4 (we would have stayed even longer if we had had time). Our room in the main house was extremely comfortable with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. We chose to go for half-board and we are really pleased we did. The food was simply stunning, personally served by the brilliant Icelandic chef, Vilhjalmur Axelsson. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, giving good advice on local walks. The Alpine Garden attached to the hotel was fascinating and the scenery surrounding the hotel superb. We walked each day (different routes) and each day saw Musk Ox as well as a host of beautiful wildflowers and singing birds.
This place is brilliant! We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel with tradition dating back to the 1800's. All rooms are individual with squeaking floorboards. Food in restaurant is excellent prepared. Ideal location for hiking trips to Snøhetta and lots more. they also offer "safaris" to watch Moskus.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

For the second time this summer we chose to have dinner at this old and beautiful lodge. And we were not let down this time either. Local ingredients, lots of flavours and well presented!Beeing a traveller in the Dovre mountains for the last 30 some years, Kongsvold has always been a place for serenity and summer delight. Yes - the place has a history dating back to King Eystein in the early 1100s and have been used for travellers between Trondheim and Oslo ever since, so don't expect New York Hilton standards. All buildings area also under the Norwegian protection act, so I guess the owner has some mean restrictions on his hands...Instead suck in the atmosphere of times past and enjoy a charming senery and great food. Expensive? Oh yes...even by Norwegian standards. It takes quite an effort to keep authenticity alive - just loved it!

Room Tip: If you're a family - why not try the Vinjestua or Fantstua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertFrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here so we could see musk oxen and reindeer and for that purpose this location is ideal - a wild musk oxen was viewable from our bedroom window pretty well throughout our stay.
The mountain lodge is a collection of charming wooden buildings, in a lovely mountain setting. The rooms themselves are however very basic, like a dated youth hostel.
The main house is furnished with traditional local furniture, ornaments and photos and there is a little museum which, although showing signs of wear is still quite interesting.
The hosts are very proud of their lodge and have a passion for high quality cuisine. The food was elaborately presented and well made, although personally I find myself irritated by places where the chef explains the dish to you, especially with fancy descriptions ('with chocolate air' - come on, it was a bit of froth!). The chefs were not very experienced in catering for vegetarians which is not unusual in Norway but they tried to give us something special every day. We did not drink alcohol which was as well as the prices were astronomical even by Norwegian standards.
The young waiting staff and our musk ox guide were lovely but we found the host somewhat superficial in his hospitality - he started to tell us about the history of the lodge then wandered off and never came back; nowhere to be seen on our last morning.
It was a pleasant enough stay and the location was great, but the accommodation is not really up to scratch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalvåg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our week long trip which took us along the the beautiful Atlantic drive and through Kristiansund to Trondheim was planned around a visit to Kongsvold Fjeldstue and the stunning Dovrefjell and the nearby alpine plant collection. It had been featured in a Tv documentary we had seen and I had read several reviews in travel magazines so we were really looking forward to our stay. We arrived at reception to be told that we had no booking. When we showed a copy the confirmation we were sent by e.mail we received no apology just a grunt and were given a twin room which the Queen of Norway had stayed in once upon a time. The room was cold and could be described as of 'vintage youth hostel' standard, the adjoining bathroom must have been from the 1960's. We had booked dinner in advance and came down to have an aperitif 15 minutes before dinner was to be served. We couldn't find anyone to serve us and when we did they said dinner was delayed.We had plenty of time to look at the antique furniture which fills the sitting rooms. Nearly an hour later we were ushered in to the dining room. The portions were so small it was ridiculous,postage stamp size fish course, the garnishes were tired, the only high point was the full bowl of roasted potatoes and the dessert. We choose to have the house wines with each course - the red wine was served colder than the white and when I asked for a more room temperert wine I was told that we were on the top of a mountain! The accomodation, food and especially wine was incredible expensive even by Norwegian standards and the service non existent. We definately will not be back.

Room Tip: The ' Queens' room is over a sitting room with a piano, there is no sound proofing - take ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oppdal Municipality
20.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Skifer
Quality Hotel Skifer
#1 of 7 in Oppdal Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
20.2 mi away
Oppdal Turisthotell
Oppdal Turisthotell
#3 of 7 in Oppdal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
22.3 mi away
Dombas Hotell
Dombas Hotell
#1 of 2 in Dombas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Smegarden Camping
Smegarden Camping
#7 of 10 in Oppdal Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
12.8 mi away
Furuhaugli Turisthytter
16.9 mi away
Granmo Camping
Granmo Camping
#1 of 5 in Oppdal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongsvold Fjeldstue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongsvold Fjeldstue

Property: Kongsvold Fjeldstue
Address: Dovrefjell, N-7340, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Oppdal Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Oppdal Municipality
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kongsvold is a historical hotel with traditions from year 1100. Described in Rough guide as "one of the most charming places to stay in the whole of Norway" A reknown restaurant serves dinner every night at 19 o clock, friendly atmosphere in the Dovrefjell mountains, easy to find along E6 and has also its own railway station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kongsvold Fjeldstue Norway/Sor-Trondelag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing