We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive, not value or quality for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manoir de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grignan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“too expensive, not value or quality for money”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This hotel is overpriced and does not merit its star rating. It has changed ownership in the past few years yet prices remain high wiht no significant improvements to the hotel itself. It is located just outside the charming village of Grignan which is entirely missed due to the Roserie's location.

For a far more charming and tasteful hotel, excellent value for money, with LOVELY, helpful, thoughtful owners, IN the village, rather chose Clair de La plume.

A second, less pricey, more modest but with well-kept charm,taste and gracious proprietors try the Hotel Sevigne (not to be mistaken for the brasserie Sevigne).

on the positive side for the Roserie:
The grounds and swimming pool are lovely esp in the blazing heat of summer.

  • Liked — grounds and outdoor pool
  • Disliked — simply NOT value for money. Overpriced for room, decor, service, owner welcome
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SimmonsUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    70
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
58
193
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

They have a nice website.... promising pool and tennis courts, beautiful rooms....

We have been there. The tennis cousrt is in bad condition - not usable. The pool is o.k. The rooms are less beautiful than in the prospectus or on the website. The overall impression I had, is that the hotel has a great potential, but there is someone missing who has this ambition. The plants in the pots are dried and dead, the breakfast is standard (industial croissants, baguette and marmelade, the ham and sausages are "grey") - My recommendation: Go better to the cafe at the village center, get your croissants from the bakery (the cafe does not provide those and is recommends you buy at the bakery) and watch the local people enjoying life. The hotel is definitively not a 4 star. I have seen better 3 star hotels around. My recommendation: Le moulin de Valaurie ( [--]).

Finally: All is closed an shut down at 23:00. We have been there in August - high season - and came back from a nice dinner at 23:00 and found ourselves in fron of closed doors and ther is no bell or night person.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank django8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

If you are looking for a superb little hotel with great service from the owners ..this is it.. what a superb and romantic stay we had me and my wife.. Absolutely delightful..The owner , Laurent and Sophie were so nice with us and they are always there to assure that everything is perfect... The food was splendid... much better than paris... We will be back and Merci Milles fois pour le merveilleux séjour ... Pietro et Danielle

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Campagnaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This is the fiirst time we have stayed at Grignan. Everything was excellent. A nice pool in a large green garden, with benches and chairs scattered around under beautiful trees. A spectacular indoor/outdoor dining room, very good food, excellent service, a quiet and well appointed room. And even internet access.

  • Liked — quiet room and beautiful garden
  • Disliked — odd shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grenouilleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

An excellent choice in a charming village. We have stayed here with four bicycle tour groups. This hotel has changed ownership as of last spring and has been revived by a curteous and well trained staff. Beautiful grounds and attactive rooms some of which are undergoing further rennovation. We have stayed in many of Frances finest Chateau hotels during 27 years of conducting bicycle tours and would not hesitate to rank this hotel among the top five for attentive service. Negative reviews are now out of date with the change in ownership.
Bill Wildberger, Managing Director
Bicycle France and Italy Too!

  • Liked — Service provided by staff
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chianti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

Stayed here for one night in September whilst on the way from Lyon to Barcelona. Hadn't booked but saw the hotel in a travel guide and took our chances.

Contrary to the other reviews on the website, we loved it. Had a large and very individual room in the converted outbuildings. Great bed and bathroom. The hotel had nice grounds and a good sized pool ( we had a quick dip but it was September!).

The staff couldn't have been more helpful both in the hotel and the dining room. We had our best meal of the holiday here, and the staff were only too happy to adapt their menu to suit our very plain eating 12 year old son's taste.

It wasn't cheap but we all remember this stay fondly.

PS Grignan was fabulous too and well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Individual room and great dining
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Definitely a hotel to skip. This place does not deserve a single one of their stars. The owners are con artists, not hoteliers. Come to Grignan, but don't fall in the trap of this hotel...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank enzoenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grignan
0.2 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
597 reviews
12.1 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
0.8 mi away
La Bastide de Grignan
La Bastide de Grignan
#4 of 7 in Grignan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
249 reviews
9.0 mi away
Domaine du Colombier
Domaine du Colombier
#1 of 2 in Malataverne
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevigne
Hotel Sevigne
#3 of 7 in Grignan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Roseraie

Property: Manoir de la Roseraie
Address: Chemin des Grands-Pres | Route de Valreas, 26230, Grignan, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Grignan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manoir de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing