We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Auberge Camelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed August 7, 2009

At the end of our European vacation, we spent 2 nights at the Auberge Camelia. This small hotel is terrific and Sue and Roger, who own the place, are most gracious hosts who go out their way to make sure you have a great time. We took two adjoining guest rooms that were great. Breakfast is served downstairs in the mornings - and the restaurant - which is managed separately from the hotel is first class. Locatedin a small village, the hotel is very close to Annecy, which is also fabulous, so all in all, this was the perfect choice for us!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cervezaguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
40
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We ended our motorcycle adventures in the French Alps with a stay at Camelia. Off the beaten path in the French country, we had a great stay. In the evening, we sipped Port and solved world problems with our host. How civilized!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We arrived at Hotel Auberge Camelia at 10 pm to a wonderful welcome from Sue and Roger Farrell-Cook. The unexpected provision of an assiette of local cheeses and the bottle of red wine that awaited us were indicative of the service and hospitality that was afforded to us for the whole of our stay.
The Hotel is comfortable with a high standard of cleanliness. It enjoys a wonderful situation high in the Haute Savoie region, with wonderful Alpine views. Auberge Camelia and the surrounding area are steeped in history.
Walks in the intoxicating alpine air accompanied by AT the dog, trips with Roger and Sue in the Van Rouge, fun evenings of great conversation around the fire, enjoying the company of our charming hostess and genial host combined to make our holiday one that we shall never forget. We did not want to leave - we will return.
The reviews of July 2005 are so out of date and unrepresentative of this delightful hotel that they do not have any relevance to the Hotel Camelia in which we stayed.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Zikomo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

When we popped out of the Mont Blanc tunnel it was raining and some.We were on motorcycles and when we arrived at auberge we were dripping and cold.We were greeted by Roger and Sue who instructed us to get out of our wet leathers, they then put all our wet gear in the drying room. They then cooked us a fantastic three course meal, with as much wine as required. This a lovely family run Hotel with a warmth about it. Fantastic food, Roger and Sue the perfect hosts. Stayed two days, need to go back for longer. P.S. let A.T. THE DOG take you on a guided walk.
Steve,Pat, Anne and Anthony, GB.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — rooms a bit basic
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HaworthCooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Beds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We were met at Geneva Airport by Suzanne Farrell-Cook and transported to Auberge Camelia in their Van Rouge and were met by the most genial host Roger. We were immediately made to feel at home and despite the most varied cross section of guests - American, British, Indian - we were soon integrated into one happy family.
There were absolutely no signs of the criticisms made in July 2005, everywhere was clean and well organised, Suzanne's cooking was excellent.
Excursions in Van Rouge with other guests were well planned and most enjoyable, Roger driving and Suzanne giving detailed explanations of flora, fauna and related historical information.
I am unable to fault our visit in any way. Roger's recommendations for a day visit to Annecy were also most beneficial.


  • Liked — Kingsize bed, food and friendliness
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We were really well looked after at the comfortable Auberge Camelia. Roger and Sue were great hosts to our group of 12 for a week and have a wealth of information about this fascinating area., with its links to the 2nd world war French resistance. It is in a quiet rural position, with lovely views and dramatic limestone scenery. The food and ambience were great. I reached the hotel in 10 hours from London by rail to Annecy, and then 20 mins by transport from the hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank hybrid_consumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We have had a wonderful few days at the auberge. We found it to be very warm and friendly. Large comfortable bed. Good food and good company. Sue and Roger go out of their way to make you very welcome. Their knowledge of the region and it's history is excellent and their recommendations of things to do and places to visit should be followed. If we are ever in this region again we would use this auberge and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Liked — warm and friendly atmosphere - good food _ large comfy bed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cariadogymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviernoz
8.1 mi away
Domaine des Avenieres
Domaine des Avenieres
#1 of 2 in Cruseilles
278 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
302 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mont Blanc Hotel
Mont Blanc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pierre-en-Faucigny
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Annecy
B&B Hotel Annecy
#1 of 2 in Argonay
84 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
573 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Annecy Sud
Mercure Annecy Sud
#2 of 4 in Seynod
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Camelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Camelia

Property: Hotel Auberge Camelia
Address: 406 route de Villaz, 74570 Aviernoz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Aviernoz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Auberge Camelia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Auberge Camelia is peacefully situated between Lake Geneva and Lake Annecy in the French Alpine village of Aviernoz.Offering 12 very comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a restaurant, this is an ideal location for skiing, mountain walking or relaxing. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the French Alps, whether enjoying the clear, clean mountain air, or discovering the beauty of the mountains, lakes and villages in this outstanding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Auberge Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing