We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TripAdvisor has entires for this attraction on 2 different sites !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbaye Saint-Michel de Frigolet

Abbaye Saint-Michel de Frigolet
Book In Advance
More Info
$762.57*
and up
Private Guided Bike Tour Around Saint Rémy and the Provencal Countryside from...
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Tarascon
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor has entires for this attraction on 2 different sites !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This attraction, ranked 3 in the Tarascon area (actually it's closer to Graveson) is the same as St Michel de Frigolet (ranked no.2 in the Tarascon area. I've just done a review under the other heading.
Either way it is a great place to visit -very peaceful and if you have the energy to walk in the grounds, there are some exceptional views in all directions if you walk up to the hilltops at the end of the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    54
    15
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great viewpoint of the Montagnettes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Abbey is only 3 miles from Graveson on a small road off the D road between Graveson and Tarascon.The road winds up through a pine forest and is approx 200m high . The complex is now a Premonstratensian monastery founded in the 19th century. The old church dates back to the 12th century and the main church has colourful 19th century murals. They occasionally have concerts in the church. The atmosphere is welcoming and there are large grounds at the back where people picnic and young people play volleyball.
I recommend that you walk through the fields and ascend the hills and clifftops (only 20 minutes walk). You get a fantastic panoramic view of the area with Les Alpilles in one direction and Mont St Victoire on the other. There is a 1 hour waymarked trail that is worth following.
If you continue to drive along the road you come to the picturesque village of Barbentane which is definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“information on internet not very clear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a long drive from Bedoin, Mont Ventoux, where we are staying , to the abbey of Frigolet. We thought we could visit the abbey every day. Information on the internet was not very clear to us, since it said for individuals visit every day from 16 h, except for the days mentioned on a list, but maybe they meant only the churches. So with the info we had from the internet, we went to the bookshop to buy tickets for the visit of the abbey, where the lady in the bookshop told us this was only possible on sundays. When I told her the info on the internet was not very clear and we came from far to visit the abbey, she became very arrogant and inpolite , saying she was not responsible for the internet. When visiting the church, I repeated my remark to one of the friars,(very friendly person), who promised me to check the data on the internet. What we expected to be a very informative visit, ended in a visit of only the 2 churches. Have to admit that the churches are worthwhile visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Real Sleeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just stumbled onto this marvelous attraction. The abby is pleasant, but when you enter the church - wow! The paintings and decoration are wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Please just skip Tarascon altogether”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

There is very little in this town to recommend. We likes Beaucaire better but still, we would not recommend this part of lovely provence to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye Saint-Michel de Frigolet also viewed

Tarascon, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Abbaye Saint-Michel de Frigolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing