We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly recommended..."”
Review of Le Mourre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oppede
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mourre
Ranked #9 of 17 Oppede B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Le Mourre in 5 years. Each time we have stayed in the "Le Pigeonnier" unit. Although only a couple, we enjoy having the extra room and the use of 2 bathrooms. During our visits we have come to know Victorine Canac as a kind and courteous person who goes out of her way to make us feel welcome and to enjoy our stay. She is now more like a friend with a fine sense of humour, and we enjoy being challenged by her to improve our ‘basic’ French in conversations. Also she has helped us with restaurant and shopping recommendations for Paris.

Le Mourre is located near the small village of Oppede, a short 15 minute walk away where we would buy a ‘daily’ baguette at the boulangerie. We normally would use the kitchen for making our own breakfast which has been improved by the addition of an espresso machine. Also we would sometimes have dinner at Le Pigeonnier by buying locally prepared dishes from a speciality shop in Coustellet – a few kilometres away (e.g. beef bourguignon, vegetable ratatouille, potato gratin etc). It was so relaxing to sit outside Le Pigeonnier enjoying a pre-dinner drink whilst looking through the beautiful garden to the Petit Luberon hills. We have also tried excellent restaurants in neighbouring villages (the Verandah at Merbes and Auberge de la Bartavelle at Goult).

Over the years we have made day trips to such interesting cities as Avignon, Aix-en- Provence, Orange, Nimes and Arles. Or alternatively Le Mourre is very close to the beautiful hilltop villages of Gordes, Rouisson and Bonnieux. In all locations you are treated to the interesting history and culture of Provence (e.g. roman amphitheatres in Nimes and Arles).

The other simple pleasure we have enjoyed is to go for walks on quiet lanes around le Mourre enjoying the vineyards, olive groves and country life. It is just so relaxing.

We would highly recommend you stay at Le Mourre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at Le Mourre for a week in May. Last year our vacation was delayed with the erupting volcano and the owner was kind enough to keep our reservation for this year so we could exeperience the Luberon as planned in 2010. We were not disappointed. The villa that we had was furnished beautifully with lots of space for 2 couples. We had an amazing patio where we spent every moment that we were at the villa sitting and enjoying the view of Le petite Luberon. We took walks and runs everyday along quiet country roads with vineyards, irises and poppies lining the lanes. We hiked up to Oppede le Vieux one morning to experience a France sunrise. The kitchen facilities were utilize from the amazing product that we picked up a local markets. There are great restaurants within a 20 minute drive in all directions. I couldn't even count the local wineries that we visited. Chatenauf de Pape wine region is worth the 1/2 drive. There is a town 5 minutes away where you can get petro, groceries, wash the vehicle and experience a great market also. The villa also has a lovely pool where you can float and look over the country side or rest on comfortable loungers and sip a glass of local wine.
Wonderful week, can't wait to return as France is my favourite country in Europe.

Room Tip: All the villas were beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I also don't know what that person from NYork is talking about....we absolutely loved Le Mourre and the owner, Victorine Canac was delightful. The accommodation was fantastic, just a joy to come home to after a day exploring the Luberon. This would have to be one of the most beautiful areas in France. My husband, adult daughter and I had the best time at Le Mourre and would highly recommend it. Victorine has done a wonderful job in furnishing the apartments so beautifully and the views from the windows just took your breath away.
Thankyou Victorine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I am not sure what happened with the reviewer who had a bad time with Ms. Canac. We found her to be a fabulous host. Victorina was always there when needed, but never intruded. The property is beautiful and our accomidation was superb- clean, well kept and comfortable. We were there for 2 weeks and wish we could have stayed on.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

On the pictures of the website I just fell in love with this beautiful place. However everything that could go wrong went wrong but what was most disturbing was the attitude of Victorine Canac, the owner. She blamed everything on us, did not make an effort to accomodate us or fix the problem and since there was no manager like in a hotel we had to endure and did not even get a pro rated price for our inconviences. We rented "le moulin" and la Feniere. We were 6 people. At the Moulin the shower water smelled very strong of sulfur and it was impossible to shower because of this and the fact that the drain was clogged. It took 2 days for fix the drain. Not to mention that the bed had a bed frame that could not let a 5'9'' person lye on the bed.
I had advise Victorine Canac that we would cook every night and asked if she had a BBQ. She said the kitchen was well equiped and there was a BBQ. There really was a hibachi only and no electricity in our appartement. She blamed us the whole time making it very unpleasant. We could not even heat water. We could not charge our cell phones or cameras. There was a short and the circuit breaker would blow up the minute we use the hot plate and put the light in the bathroom that did not have a window.
We had to take all our meals in restaurants, an added expense.
Also I would like to add that the picture you see on the website is the property of the owners: a beautifull terrasse in the sunlight. We were on the other side, the northside in the shade, very different from what you see on the website.
The first day the owner gave us directions to a market to buy food for dinner, a farmer's market that is open from 5 to 8pm, that market did not exist for years now and she did not know??? again we had to head for the restaurant.
I would recommend to everybody that is booking an owner operated place to be very careful. You have no recourse !

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank mariannegould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

A beautifully converted farm on a hill just outside of Oppede-le-Vieux in the Luberon valley of Provence. We stayed in the Metayer portion of the property which has 5 other rental options. The house has been furnished and decorated perfectly and comes with a fully eqipped kitchen and laundry. The pool area is nicely situated overlooking the vineyards and olive groves and has a poolroom with shower and toilet. Centrally located and close to all the sights in the Luberon as well as Avignon, Arles and Aix. One of the most beautiful properties I have ever laid eyes upon, period.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 08Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Julien E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oppede hotels
0 mi away
Mas Dansavan
Mas Dansavan
#3 of 17 in Oppede
69 reviews
0 mi away
Le Jardin D'ivana
Le Jardin D'ivana
#1 of 17 in Oppede
191 reviews
0 mi away
Les Petitons
Les Petitons
#1 of 1 in Oppede
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Petit Cafe B&B
Le Petit Cafe B&B
#16 of 17 in Oppede
49 reviews
0 mi away
Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes
0 mi away
Le Mas Des Lones
Le Mas Des Lones
#8 of 17 in Oppede
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mourre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mourre

Address: 84580 Oppede, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Oppede
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Oppede
Price Range: $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing