We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Le Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The hotel was lovely! The waiter spoke english and was very nice. The rooms are new and clean. The location is perfect: right in the center of Mostiers. The food was excellent!! Included in the half pension where 3 dishes, everything fresh and very good. Also the breakfast buffet was great. Nice decoration.
There is a water fall just next to the hotel, which was quite loud, but it didn't disturb during the night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuelschieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Le Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2008

Le Relais is a pleasant hotel in the main part of the village, overlooking the valley. It is clean and comfortable and, unless you have a room overlooking the waterfall beside the building, quiet.

But...

The owners spoil the experience by being so grimly and occasionally unpleasantly miserable. There is not the slightest smile, the mildest warmth, on arriving or on leaving. To give you an example: on the morning we left, having just handed over 120 euros or so for our room and and our breakfast, we asked at the bar if the owner (the woman) would mind filling our bottles with water. Just ordinary water from the tap. We were going cycling.

She snapped: "You can fill it from the public fountain outside, you know! It's just the same water!"

She did fill the bottles, a 10-second job. She pushed them across the bar at my wife without a further word. You'd think we had had a big falling-out with her or been difficult guests. Far from that, we had dozed much of the afternoon and been back in the hotel and asleep by 9.30. Our payment and the request for water were the first words we had exchanged with her, the first time we had even seen her.

Such a shame. A pleasant hotel but unpleasant owners. They spoiled everything and I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank quatresacoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

This family run property is an excellent budget place to stay in Moustiers. We opted for the room-only option, but you can have meals with your stay. In the shoulder season, we found most restaurants in town to be closed, so we ended up eating at the hotel as one of our only options. Centrally located (although nothing in town is far) with a waterfall out our window, we were able to easily explore the town and the church way up on the hill before enjoying an excellent 3-course dinner. It fit within our 60 euro/night budget for a double with private bath and did not disappoint. We reserved via email in English, although some French is useful when you're checking in and out.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SLPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

What a wonderful experience. This quaint and welcoming hotel has it all if you are looking for a Provencal mountain village experience. I recommend asking for room 22 or 23 as the shutters open to the village's lovely waterfall below you. It is loud but it's beautiful. The colors in the dining room with lamps giving off a soft, welcoming light make you feel like you belong there. There is also a patio overlooking the waterfall and the mountains in the distance. We had a superb dinner there. The owners and the wait staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice in the main dining room with fresh croissants and baguettes, of course. It also has a bar for cooling off in the late afternoon after a drive around the Grand Canyon du Verdon or a paddleboat ride and swim in the turqoise but chilly Verdon River & Lac de St. Croix. We stayed here in June which was comfortable. It may get a bit hot without A/C in July & August.
We would visit here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank mermaiddancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lilibel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank petervoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank axie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moustiers Sainte-Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais

Address: Village Center, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range: $107 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Hotel Moustiers Sainte-Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing