We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your credit card!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastide du Paradou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Bastide du Paradou for two nights in September 2008 and enjoyed it. Unfortunately, recent events have soured our experience. Exactly 12 months later to the day, I noticed my credit card had been charged with the equivalent of two nights accommodation. Having had no contact whatsoever with the hotel during the year since our stay. I suspected fraud. This has now been confirmed by VISA who have charged back the amount to the hotelier. Beware.

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
3  Thank meltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

We spent 3 nights in the Bastide and found it very over-priced for the quality of the room and service. 140 Euros per night including breakfast. The rooms were quite bare, no soap provided or hair-dryer. There was a TV with only a few French channels. Windows in the room were cracked and draughty and it was infested with ladybirds.
This hotel is definitely not worth the money. We were very disappointed. Moustiers itself is a very nice village - just wish we had found a nicer place to stay. Quality of breakfast was OK but no set time as the owner went to get the bread at 8.00am.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WicketEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Very helpful manager.
Stayed one night only, wish it had been longer, as it was the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in this trip.
The rooms are very nicely decorated and the breakfast was ver satisfying.
There's a footpath from the hotel to the village, but since it was dark and the path is not lit, we didn't want to get lost, so we took the car.
The place isn't well marked, so we did 2 round trips until we found it.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Le Paradou was by far my favorite inn experience of MANY throughout France (and the competition was stiff--I spent four months traveling in France and stayed in many hotels/inns). Jean-Louis is an incredibly gracious host and he keeps a lovely inn. He bent over backwards to make our stay perfect, and it was. I will be going back again as soon as I possibly can.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiedepapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Moustiers Sainte Marie is the most beautiful small village. I couldn't stop taking pictures
of the buildings, flowers, mountains, views.
The owner of this hotel is a very sweet man. He let us look at all the rooms
and choose the one we liked. "Saturn" is the one we chose. The rose petals on the bed added a very romantic touch. The bathroom and shower was very modern.
The hotel has a garden area in the back. We sat and drank a bottle of wine and
chatted with some of the other guests. Breakfast was a treat in this beautful
sitting area. The owner was very helpful. He let us borrow a flashlight for the walk
back from town. This hotel is a short walk into town. He also let us borrow a hairdryer, converter and his computer.
I would deffinately visit again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanielleChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We were looking for a stay of a few days in Moustiers, particularly to drive the Gorges du Verdon and this little place seemed a good possibility. The countryside to this place is often mountainous and there are peaks above the village from which hangs the famous star and from which parapenters leap, gliding down over the village in the early evenings.

The owner of La Bastide, a rather eccentric character, was most welcoming. He suggested a room on the first floor to limit carrying luggage and ourselves up and down the stairs. He provided us with a map of the gorges and a torch to light our way back from the town at night. Our bedroom was spacious with a tiled floor, a comfortable bed scattered with rose petals, and a bathroom with a tiled shower recess that was easy to use. Outside was a very pleasant garden with umbrellas and tables where we took breakfast and an evening drink. We learned only after having a rather bad meal at a local restaurant on the second evening that mine host would also have prepared a meal for us, as he was doing for other guests that night. He also had a little bar and was able to provide wine and beer in the garden.

Breakfast was a feast, and included yoghurts, goats cheese with honey, rolls and pastries, some ham, home made jams. I have no doubt that the owner was quite a gourmet cook and we wished we had known that he could prepare a meal for us.

It is a steep walk up to the town along paths and some of the road. We decided to walk up the first night, but having worked out where the parking lots were near the town we drove up the second night.

The town itself is very pretty, rather small and not a place where you would want to spend a lot of time, though it could be used as a base for visiting other places. There is a waterfall through the centre and many cool, fresh springs and fountains, welcome on a hot afternoon. It is famous for its Faience ware and there are several artists studios. We had a very pleasant evening meal sitting on the terasse of Les Santons while a local music festival played in the square and the parapenters drifted past.

Driving the gorges was a white knuckle occasion as the French do not seem to use guard rails on the edges of roads very often. The rocks and scenery were magnificent, the lakes the most incredible blue. No picture could really capture the size of the gorges and mountains.

I would recommend both the Bastide and the tours of the gorges. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Charming rooms, scrupulously clean. On one side of the village so access is easier than through the main tourist route. The hotel's owners is helpful. Would go back

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.6 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide du Paradou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide du Paradou

Address: Jean-Louis Noailles - Le Paradou, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range: $149 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide du Paradou 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide du Paradou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing