We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Were Looking For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastide du Paradou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We couldn't have been happier with our choice of this hotel for our stay in Moustiers. This 16th century bastide is utterly charming, from our room with beautifully appointed, modern bath and rose petals on the bed, to the room where breakfast is served. For 9e you get much more than the usual croissant, juice and coffee. There was also delicious melon, ham, crusty bread, salted and unsalted butter, goat cheese, yogurt and scrambled eggs. The owner was helpful with planning our trip around the Gorges du Verdon and suggested terrific lunch spots. He even let us pick our room from the few that were available. We had views over the cliffs, village and green countryside. We loved the location - a 10 min walk into the center of the village. The owner provided a map and a light and showed us how to get to dinner. This reasonably priced hotel is the perfect place to stay in Moustiers.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank iaatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2008

We recently stayed here for two nights as part of a tour around Provence and were slightly disappointed in terms of value for money.

The rooms are large and airy but lacking in any comfort (a fact not noticeable on the website pictures) - we did see all the rooms as we had our choice of any of them on arrival. To be fair, the beds all looked very comfortable and certainly ours was. The bathrooms were decoratively tiled but in most cases the shower was one that had to be hand held over the bath and, with no shower screen, this resulted in the bathroom getting pretty wet.

The situation of the accommodation is very good - quiet, down a small lane with parking outside the garden wall. The garden area looked like a relaxing place to be although we were not there long enough to use it. A few minutes uphill walking brings you to the centre of Moustiers.

The owner is generally friendly and helpful although he did try to pressurise us into having breakfast (which is extra) and which we had to say we did not want several times.

Overall, we felt that this accommodation was more basic than the room rate suggested.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

If you wonder where do stay, wonder no more. It's the perfect place for a weekend or more. Nice rooms, beautiful bathrooms, cosy breakfast area with a fireplace and often classical music. The owner is very friendly and will make your stay a perfect one. Walking distance to the village. Have a good one!
Charlotte - Eze-sur-mer - France

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We visited the Bastide Du Paradou in late May this year. It was absolutely gorgeous and I can't recommend it highly enough. Full of rustic charm, the bastide has 9 bedrooms. It's basically furnished but with lots of character, and the white walls and teracotta tiles on the floor mean the rooms feel cool and relaxed. The bed and linens are high quality. The bathrooms are fitted to a western standard and perfectly adequate.
The bastide is situated on a quiet lane, and there is parking. It's a 2 minute walk up to the village of Moustiers, which is beautiful.
The view from our window over the garden and countryside was worth every penny. Jean-Louis, the owner, went out of his way to be helpful to us, booking restauarants and giving hiking recomendations. Breakfast in the garden is a true delight.
We will definitely be back!

5  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pfaffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0p2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: jean louis vous ouvrira les portes, vous choisirez
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benquoi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.6 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
150 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide du Paradou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide du Paradou

Address: Jean-Louis Noailles - Le Paradou, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range: $148 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide du Paradou 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Bastide du Paradou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing