We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So impressed by our "room"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Colombier
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“So impressed by our "room"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We wished we could stay longer after we were shown to our room by the owner of the Hotel. We booked Room Vanille for 1 night, actually we prefer Room Chocolat which looks more modern but it was already taken at that time. In fact Room Vanille & Room Chocolat were the former residence of the owner, so our "room" was actually part of a house with a porch & front lawn. We just loved the beautiful lawn outside which has a great open view - didn't mind sleeping there at all. The room itself was very clean & spacious, though the decor was not our cup of tea. The shower area and the toilet were in opposite corners of the room, so after you go to the loo, you have to go to the other end of the room to wash your hands, but no big issue. The Hotel is situated very close to town, just a few minutes' drive. The owners were friendly and we want to thank them for their recommendation of La Treille Muscate where we had a wonderful dinner. In all, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    134
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
325
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

A wonderful place to stay.Madame and Mousier made you very welcome and have created a lovely hotel, the standards were very high.
We had booked into the standard room, this was one of just 4 in the original house, room 23, the other rooms were connected to the reception area so no need to go outside to reach your room.
Plenty of parking and their were garages that you could book, we were on a motorbike and we were given parking for free in one of the lock up garages.
Our room was a double room of a fair size,dressing table, couple of chairs and a double wardrobe with a safe.The bathroom was very modern,had the hairdryer which is a must for me. The room overlooked the patio area which was set out with tables where we had breakfast each morning, there was a breakfast room for when the weather did not make that possible.The view from the room was stunning, as was the whole area.
There was a pool area which was a fantastic place to go after a day out.The village of Moustiers was an easy 10 minute stroll and there were plenty of places to get a drink and meal there.
If in this area, look no further for somewhere to stay, just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexGizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in June - the property is just outside the village of Moustiers-St-Marie, which is a very pretty village with good walks and a good selection of excellent restaurants. We had heard it gets very busy with tourists in July and August, but it was fine in June, and as long as you booked a bit further in advance for dinners, I am sure it would still be fine with a few more people
The accommodation itself is quite simple, but does the job - given the relatively low price in relation to other nearby options you shouldnt be expecting luxury, but we found it fine, and the location is great for the village and the nearby Lake St Croix and Gorges Du Verdon, which are spectacular
We didnt have breakfast in the hotel as it sounded a bit pricey for what you got - better to walk up the hill and get your pastries and drinks in town!
We didnt spend much time at the hotel, but the pool area looked quite small, so maybe not the place for you in you wanted to hang out all day there...
Wifi wasnt free, but at 3 euros for unlimited access, the cost was fairly close to free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a very well run hotel in an excellent location just outside town. The friendlly owners have thought carefully about everything. The rooms are very well configured, there is ample parking and it is in a very quiet location with lovely views. Nevertheless it is a short walk into the village where there are a large number of dining options. Breakfast is served on a pleasant terrace or inside if you prefer. There is a pool area where you can sunbathe.
For us it had everything and at a very reasonable price for what was offered. Our enduring image is of the hard working owners ensuring that nothing is left to chance in terms of the enjoyment of their guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, KY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Very convenient for lots of day trips. We like the peace and quiet and also the ease of parking since it is just outside Moustiers, but within walking distance. The rooms are about average size for France. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and the staff is very friendly. The only negative we found was the lack of shelf space in the bathroom to put toilet articles, but there is a nice closet just outside the bathroom so it wasn't a problem. They have a big lounge area and also a wonderful terrace with tables/chairs. Great place to do trip planning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TullyToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

A very friendly, family-run hotel, close to the Verdon Gorge and a 5 minute walk from the charming village of Moustiers Ste Marie. We had room 45, which had a private balcony, catching the sun brilliantly during the late afternoon. The room was a decent size with lots of storage space, and the bathroom was quite modern, although the hairdryer was a bit of a fuss! We got the breakfast, costing around 8euros, which consisted of a hot drink, orange juice, cheese, croissants, bread and a yoghurt, with a selection of jams, and we considered this good value. Unlimited internet was 3euros. The hotel has a pool and jacuzzi but both are only open in high season.

Staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and lovely (although speak little English so come prepared), but the locals in the village are also brilliant and very friendly. On the walk to the village there is an 8 til 8 supermarket and a really good pizza restaurant opposite. A post office and bank is just a little further up, and the village itself is just gorgeous. Pretty much behind the Colombier is Alain Ducase's Bastide de Moustiers restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaqkgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2nights at this hotel whilst walking the Gorge du Verdon and like other reviews here, would have no hesitation in recommending it. The hosts were very friendly and the hotel was clean and comfortable. A Big Thumbs up for the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.9 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Colombier

Property: Le Colombier
Address: Saint Michel | Route des Gorges du Verdon, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Colombier 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Provence, located at Moustiers Sainte Marie, at the starting point of the Gorges du Verdon and 5 km from the lake of Sainte-Croix. Features swimming-pool, jacuzzi, tennis, parking private and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Moustiers Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing