We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Bastide de Moustiers
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

An excellent place for a getaway in Provence, surroundings are fantastic with breathtaking views if you drive up along the gorge. The village itself is very pleasant and laidback. We stayed in the Abeille room and it was really nice and lovely. The food is outstanding and be prepared to eat alot if you go for the set menus, the wines which were recommended were all local and fitted the menu very nicely. All the staff were extremely helpful and service minded without being in the way.

We paid 550 EUR for a package with dinner, lunch and breakfast and one night stay excluding beverages and it was worth it. I can highly recommend this place for anyone who enjoys good food in a nice and rustic atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GN321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

We really wanted to thank you for this opinion posted on the Tripadvisor website. My team and I are doing everything we can to make your time with us a unique souvenir.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome and serve you again soon at La Bastide de Moustiers.

We remain, Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    98
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
331
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

An excellent 'haut cuisine' restaurant, especially considering the price, which is very reasonable
for this type of food. Everything was great, and the desert was divine. You may want to but some olive oil in their shop, it si very good, too. Fortunately, you can walk off the consequences of too much eating by taking a hike in the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakCv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We want to thank you for your comments. We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. Your positive feedback is a real encouragement for our team.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comment.

It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed one night during our trip around Provence. The general location is nice, but do not expect any particular views especially from the room. We were allocated the room #05Rose, which opened into a tiny poorly kept garden. I hope that the situation has improved since our stay in May, but at that time the grounds in general looked depressing and neglected. If there is a gardener on the spot, this spring he was definitely away on holiday. The room itself was in a separate cottage right next to the entrance to the premises. For 385 euro (bed only) we got nicely furnished room with homely touch. The atmosphere in the room was totally relaxing, however I would add a small coffee-table and an extra chair. The service was amiable and helpful - we were brought tea upon request in the evening and charge for that was not applied. I suppose that guests come to this hotel because of Alaine Ducasse cuisine, however I can not comment on that due to the fact that we didn't eat there. Summing up the hotel itself, I think it is lacking proper hotel facilities to be really luxury and is not worth money paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I acknowledge receipt of your opinion dated on the 10th of November 2012 regarding your meal at the Bastide de Moustiers.

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have given us, and to share your comments with the entire team.

Indeed, our constant concern is to make our guests live an unforgettable moment full of generosity and conviviality, with a sincere and authentic cuisine as an "Auberge en Provence".

The team at the Bastide de Moustiers, which has been renewed since then, and I would still like to apologize if your meal has not lived up to your expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our inn, and remain at your disposal so that we can reserve you a special welcome.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Moustiers Saint Marie is on the west side of the Gorges du Verdon. The town itself, famous for pottery, is lovely. La Bastide de Moustiers is a small boutique hotel just outside of town. We stayed in one of the free-standing cottages: magnificently furnished, comfortable, with real rustic elegance. Without question, the nicest place that we stayed during our week in Provence. The restaurant was truly excellent, as expected. Highly recommended. Warm, friendly. Yes, it is expensive but we felt that it was reasonable value.

Room Tip: We only saw two of the deluxe rooms, and they were deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the restaurant of the Bastide de Moustiers.

It is a real pleasure for our team you enjoyed your culinary experience. We shared your feedback with all the team and we thank you for all your comments

We hope to see you again soon in our wondefull restaurant,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'll start with the restaurant as I was most impressed this... a seasonal tasting menu with much of the produce grown onsite served in the main building by professional and efficient staff. This was some of the best food i have tasted for the price of the menu and the setting.

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Coquelicot room which was away from the main building with plenty of space around it and great views. The room itself is a little small but for 2 nights it was fine, perhaps a little pricey for what you get.

The breakfast was lovely, fresh and traditionally french. It wanted extra items cooked it was no hassle but you do need to ask - there is no menu as such.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, our entire team would like to thank you for all your words about your stay, it is the best answer we can get after a stay.

We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Alaine Ducasse at his best - unpretentious, simple and the freshest of local ingredients simply cooked. Octopus salad with edible flowers and herbs from the garden. Tete de veau with 3 different sorts of courgettes once again from the garden. Superb Provence wine and the most excellent breakfast imaginable with homemade croissant / preserves / breads and by far the best fruit juices I have ever tasted. 3 nights of pure heaven. The room was good but not good enough for 300 Euros a night. We would return for the food alone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdFinnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We want to thank you for your comments. We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. Your positive feedback is a real encouragement for our team.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comment.

It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have terminal cancer and my sister treated me to a trip of a lifetime to France. We had booked La Bastide months in advance and had emailed the chef twice as to my dietary requirements since I have special needs. They responded by stating that they would be more than happy to accomodate my needs...great. We had booked for 3 nights and arrived to be put into a room where there had been a fire in the fireplace a few nights before but apparently no one had bothered to air out the room. Due to my health we requested another room but were told they could not accomodate our request due to a full house..we figured we would see how the room faired after airing it out for a few hours and sleeping with the windows open. We went to dinner at which time I was served a bowl of steamed rice and steamed vegetables...are you kidding me (80Euros)?! We spoke to the chef after dinner to see if he could be more creative ( I have to eat Vegan these days but other 5star chateaux had been awesomely creative)...he replyed "I cannot compromise my kitchen or the style of Alain Ducasse"...they should have stated that before we had booked there! We went to our room after dinner and decided to book other lodgings in the Gorge the following day. Our sleep felt like we had been smoking cigarettes all night. The next day the staff groveled to keep us there but sorry Mr. Chef with major French attitude we were not going to spend 500 euros a night to be treated like crap. Overpriced and not a great place even prior to our treatment. This was my sister's 7th trip to France and even she was shocked by this awful customer service.

Room Tip: look for other lodgings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, June 18, 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I acknowledge receipt of your opinion dated on the 15th of September 2012 regarding your stay at the Bastide de Moustiers.

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have given us, and to share your comments with the entire team.

Indeed, our constant concern is to make our guests live an unforgettable moment full of generosity and conviviality, with a sincere and authentic cuisine as an "Auberge en Provence".

The team at the Bastide de Moustiers, which has been renewed since then, and I would still like to apologize if your stay has not lived up to your expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our inn, and remain at your disposal so that we can reserve you a special welcome.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
215 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
495 reviews
4.6 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Moustiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Moustiers

Property: La Bastide de Moustiers
Address: Chemin de Quinson, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Moustiers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Bastide de Moustiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Moustiers Hotel Moustiers Sainte-Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing