We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, quiet and so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Bastide de Moustiers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, quiet and so much more”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is out of the way, and a couple of hours from the busy Côte d'Azur (but anice drive via Les Gorges du Verdon). One big plus already. Alain Ducasse is another big plus. He is not there often, but his approach to the overall dining experience is so obviously present. Another plus is the value for money: you get fine food for your money, the ingredients are fresh and cooked to perfection. Add to that the attentive staff (same level of attentiveness as a two or three star), and there's a winning combination. Next time, when we drive down to the Mediterranean, we will stay in the hotel and check it out. Highly recommended dining.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, our entire team would like to thank you for all your words about your stay, it is the best answer we can get after a stay.

We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    92
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
64
319
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Food,grounds,decoration,service:outstanding;only black point:not so easy to find this paradise(few directions...)dining rooms are intimate and well decorated;breakfast in the garden is a wonderfull experience.we regret we stayed only one night.Certanly coming back...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the restaurant of the Bastide de Moustiers.

It is a real pleasure for our team you enjoyed your culinary experience. We shared your feedback with all the team and we thank you for all your comments

We hope to see you again soon in our wondefull restaurant,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were expecting this hotel to be remarkable in every way and we were not disappointed. The area is utterly beautiful, the hotel is truly bijou and the food and service were absolutely excellent. Breakfast was wonderful, only surpassed by dinner. I dream of my next visit to this unusually attractive hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We want to thank you for your comments. We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. Your positive feedback is a real encouragement for our team.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comment.

It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

There are some fabulous elements to this hotel: Lovely building and grounds, rooms are well designed to create a feeling of space despite the fact that they are quite small, attention to detail in the decoration is great, pool is nice, and the breakfast and dining areas are exactly what you would like out of an al fresco dining experience in Provence. The food is excellent.

A few negatives: During our stay the wifi was down due to "a storm" that had occurred the day before. The staff apologized and of course this was not their fault - however we felt that their efforts to make up for the significant inconvenience this caused (my husband runs an internet business and was doing so remotely at the time) were far from adequate. They offered that we simply use their desktop at the reception desk. For a hotel of this standard and price range, we would expect to be offered something to make up for the inconvenience. The setting & location of the hotel is not particularly dramatic. The Bastide is located down in the valley below its namesake village, and the view at dinner is rather uninteresting compared to some other Bastides we have visited in Provence.

All considered it was a great break for 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btsincolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the restaurant of the Bastide de Moustiers.

It is a real pleasure for our team you enjoyed your culinary experience. We shared your feedback with all the team and we thank you for all your comments

We hope to see you again soon in our wondefull restaurant,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a wonderful retreat for a few days. Great staff, comfortable rooms and fabulous restaurant. Quite a trek from Marseille airport, so recommend hiring a car, as a taxi costs $250 euros each way! There is a helipad for those flush enough!
Pool area quiet and not heavily used, we didn't bother booking lunch in the restaurant, as the pool menu is sufficient.
We had Olive Room, which is actually in a small cottage at the end of the drive, so nice and secluded with your own front garden with sun loungers and breakfast table, which they will bring room service breakfast to you.
Don't expect spa, 24 hour room service etc., it's not the type of hotel. If you want a grown up, classic Provence retreat, this is it.
It is also a great base for many of the hiking trails and the restaurant in the evening is fabulous.
Finally, the staff are excellent and can't do enough for you, really friendly and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Olive is stunning worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passportstamp967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, our entire team would like to thank you for all your words about your stay, it is the best answer we can get after a stay.

We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our 2 week stay in Provence and it did not disappoint. Absolutely beautiful property next to a very charming village. Our hopes were high, it being owned by Alain Ducasse, it did not disappoint. service was spot on, nothing too much trouble. One day we forgot the time whilst lounging at the pool and so missed lunch service, when asked if we could have any food, we were told no problem and then followed a beautifully presented tray of fresh tomato salad from the garden, local cheeses and some home made bread. Ate in the restaurant both nights which was excellent. Complimentary soft drinks around the pool. Beautiful little shop where we bought some stunning local pottery. We stayed in the little bungalow as you come in the front gate with our own private sun terrace. We stayed in several "top hotels" throughout our stay and this was the only one that served freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. Meticulous attention to detail. Outstanding service

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the restaurant of the Bastide de Moustiers.

It is a real pleasure for our team you enjoyed your culinary experience. We shared your feedback with all the team and we thank you for all your comments

We hope to see you again soon in our wondefull restaurant,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We only stayed at the La Bastide de Moustiers one night and it was such a pleasure with total solitude and relaxation. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are very quaint and clean with lots of light streaming in the windows. We had lunch in the restaurant with views of the surrounding area and it was a magical moment. The prices are high and was a total splurge for us, but worth every euro (glass of bubbly wine $17 euros). We ordered off the pool menu and had the most delicious salad and cheese plate. So if you want a romantic experience in a magical setting and don't mind the high prices, La Bastide is the place for you. It's worth the splurge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, our entire team would like to thank you for all your words about your stay, it is the best answer we can get after a stay.

We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service.

We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
255 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Moustiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Moustiers

Property: La Bastide de Moustiers
Address: Chemin de Quinson, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Moustiers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Bastide de Moustiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Moustiers Hotel Moustiers Sainte-Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing