We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chambres Clerissy

Chambres Clerissy
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres Clerissy
South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This small hotel is situated above an Italian style restaurant in the centre of the village of Moustiers. We stayed as two couples using the top two rooms, which, without seeing the others, are probably the pick of the bunch. The one room is bright and spacious, with a small balcony. The other room is smaller, set out in a loft style right under the ceiling, but well lit by a skylight. The en-suite bathrooms are very spacious. The rooms are very quiet, despite their location over the restaurant, in the middle of town. If you have large luggage, you will need to get your car as close to the hotel as possible, and lug cases a short way to the hotel, then up the quite tight staircase, a bit tricky if you stay in the top rooms. This B&B is extremely well priced for what you get (our cheapest stay of our trip), so is great value. Moustiers is a very charming place, and the convenience of this location, helpful and friendly hosts, pleasant breakfast, and, most of all, value for money, make this a good choice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank africaboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a small B&B (only 4 rooms if I recall correctly) in Moustiers. It is located in the center of the village, close to the main square, bars and shops; but it is in a side alley away from tourist crowds and noise.

The room and bathroom were large, clean and well decoreated. Our room was located in the upper floor (there is no elevator). We had a terrace, really nice to stay into it. The room however was quite hot during the day (we were there in August).

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a terrace in the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Álvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay in this place with only 4 rooms. Room 4 has a lovely balcony where one can sit and enjoy a peaceful moment away from all the tourists. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and cheerful. The town is beautifully situated among the high rock cliffs. The location of these rooms may be a bit hard to find but is well worth the search, a great value! And we agree that the kitchen makes good food too! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed 3 days here in April. What a wonderful small (4 rooms) B&B in a lovely town of Moustiers Sainte-Marie. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Let us borrow the English guide book for Gorges du Verdon. Good breakfast and great choices for dinner.
Centrally located but off the main drag so is quiet. You do have to climb stairs to get to your room. Rooms are over the restaurant but it was not noisy at all.
Allow about 2 hours to drive to Nice airport which is the closest one. You can hike all around the city and also go to the Gorges du Verdon park close by for longer hikes and water sports.

Room Tip: They have 1 room on the highest floor. Try for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2010. This was the best value of anywhere we stayed in France. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked up the stairs to our room, and it was so bright/airy and everything appeared new! The furnishings, etc. seemed very "Ikea-esk", but we were fine with this - as everything was clean and bright. The room we stayed in had a skylight, which was great for helping with the brightness.

We paid for the breakfast in the mornings - so just went downstairs in the morning and they were always there to bring us our breakfast. Definitely not "north american style" - but was the typical French breakfast, of bread, juice, cafe (au lait)!

The one thing we were confused about - which we should have just asked before we went, was where to go. We found the restaurant fairly easily coming into town, but wasn't sure how to gain access to our room as the restaurant was closed! We should have just asked previously - or knocked harder - as they were there to meet us. We waited until the restaurant opened again and they gave us the key to our room upstairs right away.

The restaurant attached was great - we went there our first night in town, and my husband liked it so much, that rather than trying somewhere new, he wanted to go there again our last night!

If we ever make it that way again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamaraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed ad Chambres Clerissy for 2 nights. It was easy to book (just an e-mail was enough). The staff was very friendly, the food (pizzas and pastas) was good. Even more importantly, while all the other restaurants did not serve lunch any more, we managed to get lunch at 14.30. The rooms were impeccably clean and charming. Excellent location: right in the historic centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

This place is very simple, nicely decorated. It is very small, only 4 rooms. It is located in the middle of the historic part of town of Moustiers Sainte-Marie. Parking is very close, about 5 min walk. We have paid 47EUR/per room for two people/night. The breakfast is served in the same building, for 5EUR per person. This place is right in the middle of the town, easy to walk anywhere one likes, with plenty of restaurants, and shops in the area. If you have car, please do some touring around, such as the verdon river valley, lake St. Croix, or just drive through the lavender fields. We fell in love with this town and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alespesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moustiers Sainte-Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Bouscatiere
La Bouscatiere
#8 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres Clerissy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres Clerissy

Property: Chambres Clerissy
Address: Place Chevalier de Blacas, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing