We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, very bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The bad-mannered Italian accent 60-something guy running the hotel likes the money more than anything else, including service to customers. The place has some potential but the guy there ruins it all! I will NEVER return to that place and will NEVER advise people to go there (even if I admit that some staff in the hotel make efforts to make it a nice place). Indeed, not the Provence experience you are looking for!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We returned to the Moulin D'aure for the second time in September. It's now under new management and the magic was still there in abundance.

I read the previous negative comments on T/A and I'm not convinced that they are genuine, as I did not recognise any of the issues raised. Perhaps there is an old vendetta still being dragged up somewhere along the line.

Our stay was perfect in every way. The room was on the ground floor with a delightful, small terrace facing the gardens.

The new proprietor and his staff were very helpful and he was most interesting to chat with.

We did not eat at the restaurant however, as we prefer exploring the little villages nearby and tasting the local fare there. The hotel restaurant had a distinctively Italian flavour, but when in France.....

The only point I raised with the management was the cost of breakfast. But a mile or so away is a small villiage (Maillane) cafe which allows you to buy croissants etc at the local boulangerie and eat them at your table with the excellent coffee they serve. Total cost 4€ for two!

OK so Graveson itself is not very exciting, but it is a farming villiage and they are upgrading it slowly. If you don't like the sound of it, don't go there! BTW the hotel is not exactly in Graveson villiage.

We will return.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassius2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant of Moulin d'Aure. Quelle catastrophe ! The friendly (but totally overwhelmed, confused and clumsy) staff couldn't make up the terrible - bland and overcooked - food. A a final touch, we were probably given someone else's (horribly overpriced) bill, as the friend who invited us confessed to us a few days later !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent two nights here on a bike tour through Provence. Nice location amongst olive groves and we appreciated the pool in the heat of the summer. The beds are like trampolines and the rooms are not in the slightest bit insulated for sound. No power points in the bedroom for us to charge our phones or for my husband's cvat pump. One power point that worked only worked when the main lightswitch was on so we had to take light bulbs out so we could get some sleep.

The Fawlty Towers element came in with the restaurant. The first night the food was surprisingly good in the poolside restaurant. The waiter was a bit vacant but harmless in a kind of eccentric way. We ordered Rosé, but we got a chilled bottle of red wine in an ice bucket and didn't want to argue with him. We were never able to get the waiter to return to our table after our dessert so coffee never happened and we just left and went to our room and no one noticed.

The next night the food dropped to a horrendously low standard and the entre seemed to be cans of fish splatted onto a plate and after an hour of waiting for their food we realised that all the other ten tables were without plates on them and food had simply stopped coming out of the kitchen and things went very quiet. The other hotel guests (all French I have to add) staged a bit of a revolt and started telling off the waiter, then the owner and then finally the chef came out to get an earful from the guests. One lady got up and left and informed them she would not be paying. This evening our table also seemed to be on the avoid list. No candle for us so it was dark in the garden by the end. We asked for the remains of our chilled red wine from the night before and were instead presented with someone else's Rosé. Eventually we got our bottle of red but this time it was given to us very warm. Odd!

Owners didn't want to rectify the problems with the kitchen which was disappointing. It was a shame we had prepaid our holiday including the meals or I would have also demanded a refund for the second night's meal.

The location doesn't really make up for the shabby beds and the weird restaurant atmosphere. Would find somewhere else next time. Graveson itself is also a bit of a pit.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and strong nerves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthli_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in demi pension in this disaster hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent to discover the Provence but the food and the arrogant management was the anti climax of a beautiful day. The management thought he was God and had to be served before the gests. He was not eating the disaster food we got. If you like to eat bad Italian food made by a Korean chef who is not allowed to give fish or meet please go to this hotel.
Do not try to make any remark on the food or you will get a reprimand from the owner. If it comes to the price you have to pay for food and beverage they will try to cheat you. Please check your bill twice when paying.
The only positive at this restaurant is the staff that tries to make the best out of this disaster.
To go there wait until the management will change. The best thing that can happen is that we all work to bring them to bankrupt and there will be a take over.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

this is a perfect hotel for smokers. it takes you back to the days when every hotel smelled of smoke and we all assumed that was the smell of a hotel. The site is pretty. The food is terrible, but if you smoke you can't taste your food anyways. the A/C really does not work so choose heat or bugs. Grandpa is the owner but only speaks french or Italian, NO ENGLISH. when trying to explain the problem with my A/C he had to take me to the dining room so the waiter could translate. It was a scene from FAULTY TOWERS! Provence has too many wonderful hotels to waste your time here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Anderson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

You know the area is beautiful, so why ruin it with a terrible night? This hotel claims to have air-conditioning controls in every room, well they just don't work and in the heat of summer you can roast like a chicken. You can open the windows to hear cars and trucks go by or have mosquitoes eat you up. Top that off with the arrogant owner smoking in his lobby and you have a recipe for disaster.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eshiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graveson
1.9 mi away
Le Mas des Amandiers
Le Mas des Amandiers
#1 of 3 in Graveson
121 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adagio Access Avignon
Adagio Access Avignon
#38 of 69 in Avignon
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Bastide de Boulbon
La Bastide de Boulbon
#1 of 1 in Boulbon
455 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
475 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Moulin d'Aure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Moulin d'Aure

Address: 112 Draille de Maillane, 13690 Graveson, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Graveson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Price Range: $130 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Moulin d'Aure 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Moulin d'Aure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Moulin d Aure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing