We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really taken care of by helpful owner”
Review of Le Cadran Solaire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graveson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Cadran Solaire
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a beautiful property in a lovely part of the world. We were traveling around the south of France and this is a perfect base to visit Avignon, Nimes, Arles, Pont du Gard , etc as well as some local villages with real character.
The owner really went out of his way to make you feel welcome, give you help on places to visit, parking, restaurants, local markets.
The room we had was exquisite, the furniture, pictures, antique pieces, all fitting into the era of the property.
There is a small terrace and garden area which is pleasant but the house does not have many facilities. So don't choose this if you want more than just a beautiful place to stay.
Breakfast is ok - we found it about par for the course compared to other places we stayed at.
Graveson is small and not a great deal going on, had a couple of good meals at L'Olivier restaurant, there is a medium sized supermarket where you can get anything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2,202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful inn. Our room was large and clean and the breakfasts were outstanding. But what made the stay so special was Jean-Claude and Elisa. Their kindness and hospitality was superior. We loved it and we will be back.

Room Tip: Pictures of rooms are on their website and I am sure you can request one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We arrived at the same time than many other guests in the small parking of the cadran solaire. I was pleasantly surprised by the efficiency and professionalism of the owners. We didn't have to wait and were quickly brought to our beautiful room. The setting is beautiful, they really made a good job in renovating the house and the garden is quite something also. It's like getting into an oasis as the surroundings are not that great. Graveson is an average village with no good restaurants and an uninteresting center. But it is strategically located as we wanted to visit la Camargue and Arles. Jean-Claude and Elise were very helpful in helping us plan our day's expedition. They really know the area and give good advice. They manage to spend time talking with every clients even though there was a lot of people there. We always came back late at night as we were having these excellent suppers and there was no more parking space available on our returns. But there was always plenty of space on the other side of the street. The breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippingVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

As many other reviews already mentioned, this is a nice little B&B. It's very clean and
generally very well-maintained. The garden is pleasant and relaxing and the rooms are, though not big, quite comfortable. Parking is conveniently right on the side of the building.
Breakfast is good: many types of fresh fruit, yogurt and bread/pastries. They charge
EUR 9 / person for it; not cheap but not particularly expensive. There is no restaurant
at the hotel but there are a couple within walking distance in the village. We had dinner
at one of them (a pizzeria) and it was very nice and inexpensive.

Like quite a few others, we've also experienced the unexpected and somewhat panicky
encounter with the owners protesting about us having a snack outside. Yes, we're aware of
the regulations in France. But, this is France, not Germany or Switzerland. And, it's Provence, not Alsace! Most people in Provence are relaxed and easy-going. This couple,
in contrast, is pedantic and somewhat annoying. Moreover, their overzealous enforcement
of the "no-eating rule" is bizarre: later, we've observed guests having a drink (wine, etc.)
outside while eating accompanying snacks. The owners didn't seem to have trouble
with that. We also had a bottle of wine in the garden with some olives and crackers.
Again, the owners didn't mind.... So, based on empirical evidence, it appears that if
one is having a drink (alcoholic!) then eating is allowed. But, just plain eating is not.
This would make a nice mini-plot for a comedy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrottaGnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stayed in this lovely house for many reasons. On one hand, let me tell you that if you plan to tour the Provence, this is the place to stay. You can go to Orange, Arles, Tarascon and many other cities, towns and villages which are in the vicinity. On the other hand, the couple who owns this romantic hotel will make you feel at home.
They will help you find special routes and little restaurants which will make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmeraldGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Beautifully restored old mansion with traditional, cozy, clean, spacious rooms. Loved the breakfast in the garden. The owners are fantastic people, they proactively gave us excellent recommendations every day what to do, where to go, what to avoid, where to eat ... . We liked the place and all the surroundings so much that we already plan our next trip there - hopefully in September. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonAlejandro72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This inn is really charming ! The location is great , if you want to use it as a base to visit the cities around.
Tasteful decoration in all areas, specially outside! The room was a little small, but that didn't bother us at all. Bathroom is also small. Very good breakfast, fruits were delicious, totally worth the extra bucks. The owners were really helpful, loved their restaurant suggestion. You really feel you are inthe heart of Provence

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor! 1st floor have rooms that the window goes straight to the parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNeaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graveson hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Amandiers
Le Mas des Amandiers
#1 of 3 in Graveson
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
#2 of 3 in Graveson
95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontbelle
Domaine de Fontbelle
#2 of 5 in Graveson
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Montagnette
Villa Montagnette
#1 of 2 in Graveson
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Clos des Cypres
Le Clos des Cypres
#1 of 5 in Graveson
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Mas Vieux
Le Mas Vieux
#3 of 5 in Graveson
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cadran Solaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cadran Solaire

Address: 5 rue du Cabaret Neuf, 13690 Graveson, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Graveson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Price Range: $68 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Cadran Solaire Graveson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing