We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time staying there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holts Summit
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Overall worse experience of my life in any hotel! I live in this community and normally would recommend but the people are rude, service stinks, and once your in at night your locked down like a prisoner. There late check out is only noon, but at 11am got a rude call to check out, not a good morning, thanks for staying with us nothing just time to check out I was told could wait until noon so was finishing up getting ready to leave 5 minutes later a knock at the door, seriously??? Never in my life would I stay there, recommend anyone to stay there, and the worst hotel ever don't waste your time drive 10 min to Jefferson city and get a real hotel with real customer service!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustMeJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI338, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Jody:

To all are other guest and potential guest, please excuse my non typical response below but sometimes frustration and bewilderment make it is just necessary.

Ms Jody, last name unknown, fore not the registered guest. While all reviews are a persons subjective view, to slander a business just because you did not like using the night check-in window at 3AM and than equate it to being in a prison is horrendous. You and your male friend had the freedom of not checking in and going elsewhere? You had the freedom to just go home, for you live just down the street in the community. You had the freedom to change your mind and check out right away. But no, you elected to stay. The local TV station, KRCG, even did a story on hotel safety in December 2007 following a desk clerks murder at 4AM in Columbia, MO and urged the general public to look for hotels with night check-in windows. Why????, SAFETY, SAFETY, SAFETY. SHAME, SHAME, SHAME on you Jody for making a MOCKERY of a late night check-in window that’s there for the employee's safety and the safety of the hotels guest.

All future potential guest, we here at Holts Summit Americas Best value Inn always have your interest in mind to provide you a safe, clean, homey atmosphere and for a quiet SAFE nights sleep because you deserve it. We have served tens of thousands of guest over the last 14 years successfully and will continue that service in the continuing months and years ahead.

Sincerely
Arthur Kristofik
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

After doing farm maintenance all day, we found the small but welcoming ABVI in Holt’s Summit to be the perfect anecdote. We especially liked the hosts, Arthur and Kathy, a married couple that has run the place for a couple of decades. They were pleasant and welcoming, doing all they could to make us comfortable.

The room itself (King double) was clean and well-kept, given the age of the place. The shower packed a welcoming punch, and the bed was firm and fine. The only drawback was that the light switch activated the fan in the bathroom, which meant that nighttime visits meant either fumbling in the dark or waking up the partner.

In the morning they offered free coffee, tea, pitchers of juice (No juice machine, YEESS!), and a modest selection of hot and cold cereal, bagels, and tiny donuts.

For those who prefer an espresso or a latte, the McDonald’s across the street offers the only option short of Jeff City.

Nothing fancy, but all of the essentials! Recommended, especially after hard labor!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hospitality and being close to Jefferson City are good reasons i cose to stay. You are dealing direct with the owners so they aim to please.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hi. My friends and I come up to Ashland for a workshop and twice now we have stayed at this location. I believe the owner's name is Arthur and he is most helpful and polite.

The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and the price is right.

I recommend this place for a brief stop along the road or for exploring the area. You are located near restaurants in Columbia and Jefferson City, just a short ride away.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and chat with the owner. He is very nice.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelelasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI338, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback, as so often people only take the time to point out the negative. We appreciate your taking that extra step to let us know that we are serving your needs in the manner you deserve. We feel we are truly blessed when we succeed in making a valued guest, such as yourself, feel welcome. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to be your host for any future travels to Holts Summit, Mo. Arthur Kristofik Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our recent stay was horrible to say the least. I could not believe the unprofessional and down right rude staff. We were asked to pay an additional 100 dollar deposit to "make sure we didn't smoke in the room" and then in the morning they inspected our room in detail before the deposit was returned. When we had two guests over to visit with us we were asked when our guests would be leaving Also we received a phone call telling us we were being loud. First of all this is odd to us since we were speaking to each other in a normal conversation and secondly odd to us since this hotel had only 3 other people in the entire place while we were there. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone under any circumstances. Make the 5-8 min drive to Jefferson City where you can stay in a real establishment that actually values their customers.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI338, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

At Americas Best Value Inn, we strive to provide a superior experience for every customer, and therefore your feed back is very important to us. We are a small 30 room hotel that takes great pride in offering our valued guest a safe, clean and quiet nights sleep that they paid for. If you were the guest being disturbed at 1:30 AM, we would have offered the same polite courtesy call to the guest disturbing you. I am sorry that the action of calling you at 1:30 AM made us “rude and unprofessional”. We are consistently highly rated by Americas Best Value Inn Chain for appearance and cleanliness and been a member of Americas Best Value Inn 500 Club several times over the past 13 years.

If you would like to discuss this further, please call me, Arthur Kristofik, Owner/Operator at 573-896-8787.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We lived in Holts Summit for 4 years and were never in the motel. We went back for a visit and chose it for convenience. We stayed in 3 different hotels over 5 nights, and this was by far the best value and our favorite. Our room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. The owners were pleasant and friendly. Do not count on a hair dryer or shampoo in the room, but we carry those with us anyway. They offer a simple and satisfying breakfast with a choice of cold and hot cereal, donuts, juice and milk, coffee, bread and a toaster. We are planning another visit within the year and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Two floors and no elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have paid twice the price, and they weren't half as nice as this motel. Room was super clean. The owner, Kathy Lee, was very friendly and helpful. Would definetly stay there again. If your going to Jefferson City, it would be worth the ride, it's only five miles away.

Room Tip: In a quiet area, and easy to get to.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papabear18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holts Summit
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
6.2 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
20.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Jefferson City
Econo Lodge - Jefferson City
#13 of 13 in Jefferson City
50 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#5 of 13 in Jefferson City
508 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 150 City Plaza Dr, PO Box 549, Holts Summit, MO 65043-0549
Location: United States > Missouri > Holts Summit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holts Summit
Price Range: $73 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing