We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute rooms, too many annoyances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ye Olde English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hollister B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I started out loving this place, but the cons were just too much to outweigh the positives. No elevators. Central air = the only control you had over the room temperature comes from opening or closing the register above the doors. And the noise. On Friday night, a band plays until 11pm. It's so loud it, you can clearly hear it on the second floor with the doors closed. I can't imagine how people can talk in the courtyard while they're playing. In the room, I could only get 1-2 bars on my ATT cell phone. It took multiple attempts to connect a call to someone in the same hotel. In the plus column, the place was very clean, the rooms were nicely appointed, and the free wifi was easy to connect to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the band if you're there on a Frday or Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brighnasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 84 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have not stayed at the hotel, but I can tell you that the restaurant is now one of my favorite places to eat. Home-cooked!!! REAL POTATOES and delicious. Very friendly also. I had the home-fried chicken and green beans and mashed potatoes, and sure beat any restaurant where I've ever eaten

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyonthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It was our 1st anniversary and we couldnt leave town, so we have stayed here a couple of other times and loved it!!! Very Accomidating and helpful friendly staff will go above and beyond really enjoyed our stay!! Thank you!! Will be back again!!!! also love that they have restaraunt and bar on premises and you can walk to a few other places!! Perfect for Quiet getaway. They even sent me a Thank you card in the mail !!!! Very nice!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is wonderful! Charming, inviting, and cozy, the English Inn is a nice change of pace from the hustle and bustle of Branson. The rooms are small, but comfortable and perfect for a cozy couple's retreat. The food is EXCELLENT and the pub is everything you would expect with some of the best bartenders around. Way more than you would expect from a little town in the heart of farm country! The front desk staff was attentive and polite and suggested many local attractions and hotspots you won't find in a travel guide. If you're looking for a quiet getaway that's still within walking distance to the best Branson has to offer, look no further than Ye Olde English Inn in Historic downtown Hollister.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyKad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My office went for our Christmas party with our spouses. We always try somewhere new. This one is a keeper. The staff was awesome. Super friendly. Very charming felt so comfortable like home.The rooms are small but the bed was comfy and the room was clean. They have setting areas which we all really like. Nice fieplace in the lobby and dining room. Our dinner was made there and was great. We also enjoyed the pub with the live band. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smile002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed there for the first time a few weeks ago and was surprised to find it. I've attending meetings in Hollister and Branson for years but never knew this little jewel existed. The service is great, the rooms are small but quaint. It has a nice relaxing feel and the pub is nice too.

They may have an elevator, but I didn't see one. So if you cannot climb stairs you might want to call and check.

Room Tip: If you are thinking about getting the suite to accommodate more people, don't. It will accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited friends in Hollister, MO and stayed for two days at the Inn. Our friends highly recommended the Inn. They were right; it was a memorable experience for us. The style, the furniture all of the appointments were fascinating and rich. The personnel were very friendly and professional. We will go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landing View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
1.3 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks
1.4 mi away
The Branson Hotel
The Branson Hotel
#1 of 48 in Branson
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde English Inn

Address: 24 Downing St, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-5568 (Formerly Ye Olde English Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollister
Price Range: $75 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ye Olde English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ye Olde English Inn was built in 1912, it is a registered landmark, as is all of Downing Street. The Inn has been fully refurbished to it's original glory. Our quaint Inn offers 3 Suites, 1 Deluxe Suite and 17 intimate wing rooms. There are sitting areas to read, relax and visit. In addtion, the Downing Street Pour House adjoins the inn. The Pour House is open for lunch and dinner and has a full bar. We have been known to have guests from the past make themselves known! The Ye Olde English Inn is perfect for a couples getaway, couples retreats, intimate weddings and receptions. The 21 room property is great for reunions as well! We are conveniently located to entertainment, attractions, outdoor adventure and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ye Olde English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde English Hotel Hollister
Ye Olde English Inn Branson, MO - Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing