We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and fun historic inn with great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hollister B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

During our three-day trip in Branson, we agreed that this Inn was our favorite part of our whole trip! The Inn is over a hundred years old and has been completely renovated while maintaining its beautiful Tudor charm. It is in a nice, quiet area away from the traffic and craziness, but also quite handy to Branson Landing as well as downtown. We loved the Black Horse Pub downstairs, where a very talented man with a group called the Medicine Man Show played great music. We also really enjoyed our delicious and inexpensive breakfast at the Inn's restaurant, which also serves lunch. All of the staff were wonderful and helpful. Our historic room, like most historic rooms, was small, but very comfortable and pretty, and they've made excellent use of the space. Everything was also very clean; I actually took a bath in a hotel tub for the first time ever because it was so clean! There is also a comfy area on the second floor landing for playing games or reading. My only tip would be that if you will have children along, you'd need to get one of the larger rooms. Our room was the standard size and was perfect for two, but there would be no way to fit children in. We have already decided this will be "our place" in Branson from now on!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I needed a place to stay for one night before catching a plane back to Chicago and was a little turned off by most of the places I saw in Branson. Just not my cup of tea. I came across the Olde English Inn on TripAdvisor and was immediately swept away by the wonderful history of the building. Every inch has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated. The author, Janet Dailey, is a native of Hollister and is one of the co-owners of the hotel. I was told that she personally oversaw each detail of the redecorating. Be sure to notice Thunder's antlers mounted over the fireplace...and the beauty is that Thunder is alive and well! The room I had was perfect for one person...exactly the size it would have been around the turn of the century. The bed was so comfy, I could have easily missed my flight! The little touches, the soaps and lotions, are custom made. Each room has a wonderful spa robe to use. I just loved the whole place. There isn't an elevator, just a gorgeous grand staircase, but that could make it difficult for someone with mobility problems. I had heard from the desk clerks about the wonderful masquerade wedding as another reviewer mentioned. I think they were as excited about it as the wedding party! The only thing I would like to see the hotel do is to add a couple of taxi cab company numbers to their in-room phone listing or offer to call a cab for me. It was imperative that I be able to get to the airport the next morning and they were not able to supply me with any numbers. The bartender in the pub did and I got good service from ABC Cab the next morning. That was the ONLY issue I had with my stay. I'm really looking forward to going back and having more time to delve into the history of the area. I thought the Inn was just great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momski54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just had a destination, masquerade ball wedding for my step-son at this hotel. We booked all of the 21 rooms for 2 days, and had everything from the rehearsal dinner to the reception on the property. When I first started planning it was a little scary because it was difficult to communicate with the property manager at that time. Fortunately, she brought in an excellent event planning company (Branson Party Rentals) before she left. Her replacement was well organized, but one of the first times we visited her, the kitchen staff had walked out and she was in the kitchen. Turns out, all of this was a good thing because now, the hotel is well run, the food in the restaurant is excellent, and the pub and courtyard are loads of fun. The rooms are small but in great shape for the age. The chef is way better than you would expect to find in Hollister, Missouri and the staff could not be more accomodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We thought this would be a charming place for an overnight stay. Could not be more disappointed. Arrived after 6 and were directed to the pub for dinner. After 10 minutes of not being acknowledged by anyone we left and then were chased down by a server. We passed. The bed was comfortable but the room smelled. The odor was like old rancid cooking oil. Considered leaving at 2 am but decided to stick it out. When turning in the keys there was no inquiry as to how our stay was - and I just wanted OUT. While I think it is great to preserve historic buildings there is an expectation of competent management.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My daughter worked at Kamp Kanakut just up the road and I drove to pick her up the following morning. I wanted to avoid Branson and it's main drag (Route 76) at any cost. The property is dated, garishly decorated, but acceptable. $92 for a single night, I have no idea how this compares to Branson, but my full breakfast in their restaurant was about $7 - no complaints there. A train (tracks are 30 yards across the street) in the early evening worried me that there would be more, but either there weren't any or I was just too tired after my long drive from Houston. Don't expect extras in this tourist area, but basic service at a reasonable price goes down fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped in at the Black Horse Pub on Sunday, 8/4/2013 after spending an inordinate amount of time trying to get through traffic in Branson.

We had a wonderful time there, food was excellent and the atmosphere was just what we were looking for. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Would definitely stop back there again.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Inn, however in the future would love to. Just had a very nice dinner in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Hollister! We picked Ye Olde English Inn because we wanted to avoid the rush of Branson and it worked perfectly! We were able to get around the main street traffic and get to our destinations easier, however, main street was very close should we have wanted to go there. The staff was great and the hotel was clean. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: If you like ghosts choose room 309 or 307, we had some interesting experiences with our lights and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landing View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
1.4 mi away
The Branson Hotel
The Branson Hotel
#1 of 48 in Branson
201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde English Inn

Address: 24 Downing St, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-5568 (Formerly Ye Olde English Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollister
Price Range: $83 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ye Olde English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ye Olde English Inn was built in 1912, it is a registered landmark, as is all of Downing Street. The Inn has been fully refurbished to it's original glory. Our quaint Inn offers 3 Suites, 1 Deluxe Suite and 17 intimate wing rooms. There are sitting areas to read, relax and visit. In addtion, the Downing Street Pour House adjoins the inn. The Pour House is open for lunch and dinner and has a full bar. We have been known to have guests from the past make themselves known! The Ye Olde English Inn is perfect for a couples getaway, couples retreats, intimate weddings and receptions. The 21 room property is great for reunions as well! We are conveniently located to entertainment, attractions, outdoor adventure and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Ye Olde English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde English Hotel Hollister
Ye Olde English Inn Branson, MO - Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing