We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hollister B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Hollister! We picked Ye Olde English Inn because we wanted to avoid the rush of Branson and it worked perfectly! We were able to get around the main street traffic and get to our destinations easier, however, main street was very close should we have wanted to go there. The staff was great and the hotel was clean. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: If you like ghosts choose room 309 or 307, we had some interesting experiences with our lights and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The next time you are in or near Hollister MO, you must stay at this very charming inn! My sister, niece, and I recently stayed here for three nights and loved it! We did our research in advance and realized that many rooms are small, so we opted for three rooms next to each other (although there are several larger suites available). Our rooms were very clean and comfy, each with a nice updated bathroom which included a tub/shower. The inn has a dining room and pub attached. It is also about a five minute drive to downtown Branson. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here in the future and we hope to meet the owner someday, author Janet Dailey, to thank her for restoring this wonderful treasure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Some of the rooms are a little small but larger rooms are available. The people who work here are the best I have ever encountered. I do travel quite a bit. Location was perfect for our golf vacation needs. Just a few minutes from downtown Branson and also Hwy 76 entertainment/eating establishments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Book this place!!!!! It is marvelous. Great old building but up-to-date with all the necessities. The Black Horse Pub is filled with great beer and greater staff. Very friendly, very attentive to needs. Have always gone to Hollister for the antiques - now will go back for Ye Olde English Inn and the antiques.

Room Tip: We toured several rooms and could not find fault with any. Be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We came to visit family, this charming hotel became the meeting place for everyone. Linda in the kitchen is a terrific chef....all homemade....must have homemade pie! Jamie at front desk was Awesome, handled any concern with speed and efficiency and last but most important, Tobias in the Black Horse Pub...attentive, funny. this charming hotel is the best place to stay, just close enough to Branson, but seems a world away. if they can get some cute shops and boutiques to open on the same street, it will be perfect. Look forward to coming back!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mary Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Ye Olde English Inn because the street was quaint, inviting, and quiet compared to the Branson landing. We shopped at a few antique stores and then got a beverage at the pub attached to the inn. We received great service, and enjoyed some great local beer from Mother's brewery and White River brewery in Springfield. The friendly staff gave us a tour of the rooms in the inn. My wife and I will likely stay here next time we are in town. The rooms are very nice and recently redone with an antique style that is still modern and comfortable. The bartender, Tobias was eager to share their plans for their outdoor patio which will include a bar, live music and drive in style movies on summer evenings. He was also knowledgable in local events, festivals, and attractions in Branson, and the surrounding area. The onion rings are fabulous, and were a great compliment to our beer. We will return, and hope to see great things in the future. I highly recommend stopping by if you support local business. The location is close to downtown Branson and all attractions without the tourist trap prices and tackiness.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliparkhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped at Ye Olde English Inn and their adjacent Black Horse Pub. It was a 95 degree day in Branson Mo and we wanted to escape the craziness of The Landing in Branson. Took a five minute drive to Hollister MO and wandered in to the Black Horse Pub. Staff was friendly and bent over backwards to make their customers happy. There were four of us and we each ordered a different lunch -- all were excellent. The Pub had great decor and a very nice shaded outdoor patio under a large oak tree. Highly recommend. Hollister was such a relief after three days in Branson -- just a few miles up the road to a quiet and welcoming place. We toured the Inn -- a completely renovated building with a history that goes back to 1912 - a one time lodge for rail travelors and fishing enthusiasts. Now a 24 room/suites beautiful escape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landing View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
1.4 mi away
The Branson Hotel
The Branson Hotel
#1 of 48 in Branson
201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde English Inn

Address: 24 Downing St, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-5568 (Formerly Ye Olde English Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollister
Price Range: $83 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ye Olde English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ye Olde English Inn was built in 1912, it is a registered landmark, as is all of Downing Street. The Inn has been fully refurbished to it's original glory. Our quaint Inn offers 3 Suites, 1 Deluxe Suite and 17 intimate wing rooms. There are sitting areas to read, relax and visit. In addtion, the Downing Street Pour House adjoins the inn. The Pour House is open for lunch and dinner and has a full bar. We have been known to have guests from the past make themselves known! The Ye Olde English Inn is perfect for a couples getaway, couples retreats, intimate weddings and receptions. The 21 room property is great for reunions as well! We are conveniently located to entertainment, attractions, outdoor adventure and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Ye Olde English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde English Hotel Hollister
Ye Olde English Inn Branson, MO - Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing