We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in the Branson area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hollister B&B and Inns
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the Branson area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stayed a night in the inn. Although the building is 100 years old this year, the recent remodeling was done supurbly. The staff was very hospitable and the accomodations were very comfortable. A very pleasant place. When they advertise "Includes Full Breakfast", you can count on a FULL BREAKFAST.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are typical of a hotel of its origional era but the suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
39
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I wanted a nice relaxing weekend in the Branson area to shop eat and relax. I have driven by the Ye olde English Inn “original name” ever since I moved to Springfield, Mo in 1997 and always wondered what it would be like to stay there. Three factors prompted a stay there; 1) It is a historical Inn built in 1912 by one of the towns founders, W.H. Johnson. Mr. Johnson and his son W.W. Johnson are very well known in Springfield, Mo area for their neighborhoods that they developed and the homes they built. 2) Inn was completely remolded last year, and they just finished the third floor. & 3) The reviews were great!

We arrived at the Inn very early. I just wanted to check and see how early we could check in. Check in was 3pm, but since we were there and the room was clean they let us right in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. She informed us that there is a complementary breakfast that is provided and then showed us to our suite. The remodel was tastefully done, warm and inviting. One nice feature of the Inn they leave the doors open to they rooms that are not yet occupied, so you can see what they look like. My wife and I found several other suites that we would like to stay in. It was nice and quite in the hotel that night, which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

The breakfast that was included with our stay was just as wonderful. We hated to leave and head home. But with the Inn only being 30-40 minutes away, we will be heading back this fall and around Christmas.

So if you are looking for a nice romantic getaway and you don’t want to stay in a cookie cutter hotel, this could be the Inn for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichSGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night only while waiting to pick up our kids from a nearby camp. I love that it has some history (built in the 1900s) and was remodeled. I think this is perfect for one night, but you might want to stay somewhere else if you need longer. There is no elevator, so you have to haul your bags upstairs. The room was tiny. Only fits a bed and has a small table and small nighstands. Robes in the closet are a nice touch. The bathroom is very small and no counter space for toiletries. It was very clean and the staff was very nice. Like I mentioned, we were only there for one night and it was fine. But keep in mind the room is very small and you might need more space if staying a longer time. Our room came with a free breakfast, but we did not have time to try it. We really liked its charm and it was perfect for one night.

Room Tip: We did notice there were two rooms that are quite a bit larger, so you might want to ask for the upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendersonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Cute pics online. Hotel itself is cute and the staff are kind (although highly understaffed). Room was a shocker! The bedroom could only fit a queen size mattress because the actual bedroom is only about 10x14. It is so small that the "desk" is just a shelf attached to the wall. The shower was pleasant, however the hot water did not really get hot. A/C control was not accessible in room. No bathroom counter. The "Free" breakfast choice included a 40 minute wait ("only one cook to a sold out hotel"). We ordered each of the optional free breakfasts. Although tasty, fruit bowl never made it to the table. Good thing they had plenty of coffee available :) The room was clean and bed comfy. Parking is close and cute shops attached to hotel. Train station out front (runs only during the daytime). For $89, we will pick a different hotel next time. Thank you.

Room Tip: Don't assume that the picture shown is going to be your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trusx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is fun. Its lovely and unpretentious - typical of the area- and so comfortable! Period furniture, plaster walls, and a 1912 flavor - with all the ammenities and creature comforts of 2012, of course. Coffee and tea on the sideboard was a nice touch in the sitting area. Breakfast voucher came with our night's stay and it was very good. Pleasant staff, clean rooms and great price. What more could you ask for? The stairway is wide and easy to navigate. Be aware there is no elevator, however, and some of the smaller rooms have a step up into the bathroom. The larger rooms don't have a step up, and are really beautiful. We will definitely go back. We loved being away from the hustle and bustle of "the strip". By the way, Branson's Christmas Train stops right out side the window!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadweary65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We needed a quick, out-of-the-ordinary getaway...couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Beautifully appointed rooms were comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. Worked well for a couple with an infant, but would have been lovely for just the two of us. Very relaxing and we are already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcaplinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This Inn is stunning. A 100 year old building on a quaint street it's fantastic if you're looking for a quiet getaway, while still being close to branson. The Inn is just over the bridge from downtown branson and you could probably bicycle there. The staff is lovely and the front desk clerk was very attentive to our needs. We decided to upgrade to a suite and paid a small, but worth it upgrade charge. Lisa checked us in quickly, and even offered to make us fresh coffee or tea that evening, she helped us with our bags and even showed us how to work the dimming switches. In the morning Kathy was wonderful at checking us out, and making our departure as enjoyable as our arrival. Did I mention that you get a complimentary hot breakfast too? Not one of those nasty ones either, ours came with biscuts and gravy or an egg and toast option, though I'm sure if you didn't like either you could probably substitue. We'll be going back again!

Room Tip: Pick a suite, the wing rooms are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancing_Slower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
3.6 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#7 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
6.0 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Landing View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old English Inn

Property: The Old English Inn
Address: 24 Downing St, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-5568 (Formerly Ye Olde English Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollister
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the nostalgic charm of one of the area's most recognized landmarks, The Old English Inn on historic Downing Street in Hollister, Missouri. First opened in 1912, the Inn underwent a full renovation in 2010. Enjoy a luxurious stay in one of 21 beautifully-restored guest suites complete with Elizabethan-style architectural detailing, magnificent wooden beds, fine linens and modern conveniences such as 32" LCD TVs, high-speed internet connection and free local calls. The newly renovated Downing Street Bistro, located on the lower-level, features fine dining for dinner and offers breakfast and a Sunday brunch. Next door, the intimate Black Horse Pub offers a full-selection of spirits along with occasional live performances by local musicians. Located just 3 minutes from the Branson Landing, the Ye Olde English Inn is a must-see piece of Ozarks' History. Bring your camera for a photo of the handcrafted staircase, beautifully landscaped courtyard and the carefully preserved mark on the stone walls of the lobby left by the overflowing White River in 1945. Nearby, see the Hollister Train Depot where many of the Inn's first overnight guests arrived eager to meet the friendly people and explore the breathtaking scenery in Harold Bell Wright's 1907 novel, The Shepherd of the Hills. Many of these 1900-era visitors star in The Inn's extensive photo collection. Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a place to reminisce with friends, military buddies or your extended family, The Old English Inn is the perfect place for any type group event, including weddings and anniversary celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Old English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde English Hotel Hollister
The Old English Inn Branson, MO - Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing