We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good.”

Mr. Gilberti's Place
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Hollister
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving the best Italian food in the Ozarks. From Authentic Chicago Style Pizza to delicious Italian favorites like Eggplant Parmesan and Baked Mostaccioli, all of our dishes are prepared fresh in our kitchen. This family-owned restaurant is proud to invite you to our table to enjoy our recipes that have been handed down through the generations.
Branson, Mo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are in the Branson area looking for a great meal in a small authenic Italian restaurant you will want to try Mr Gilberti's. This locally owned restaurant never disappoints. A favorite of the locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    52
    12
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedalia, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“slice of Chicago in Branson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great pizza and atmosphere. Family owned. Away from all the hassle of the strip. Gotta go to experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mynamenotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to Gilberti's for dinner purely on the strength of its TripAdvisor rating and reviews. Usually, TripAdvisor gets it right for us, but not this time. We'll leave aside the over-eager and over-familiar server who clearly knew less about the menu than we did - it was her first night, after all, though since she pointed out that she is an experienced server she surely should know the difference between welcoming and intrusive. The food is what we came for.

And the food... was overall mediocre. Side-salad: a few limp leaves of lettuce and four pieces of red onion (we had asked for no tomato, but surely it takes more than three ingredients to make a salad? Cucumber, perhaps?). Garlic bread: what looked like cheap hamburger buns very thinly spread with garlic, to the point where some pieces didn't get any garlic at all and were just lightly toasted. Only the first couple of slices were hot, as well (and 'hot' is an exaggeration; warm). The rest was cold before we got to eat it. Probably the worst garlic bread I've had in an Italian restaurant.

But it's the pizza everyone raves about. So... Well, the base was excellent. Crispy, light and tasty. That's about as good as it gets, however. Far too much tomato paste on top of the cheese - I had to scrape at least half of it off. And the mushrooms came from a can. That astonished me - mushrooms are NOT expensive and do not take a great deal of preparation. A restaurant that can't put fresh vegetables on its pizza does not deserve the reputation it has.

The saving grace for my other half was the carrot cake, from a famous carrot cake restaurant in Branson Landing, which he had been hoping to try anyway. Excellent and highly recommended. The rest of the food... I've had a lot better at national chains.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaWideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Chicago style pizza around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently brought a friend to Mr. Gilberti's because he always talks about Chicago style pizza! He was very impressed and plans to bring his family next time!
I have always had excellent service and quality food! The eggplant casserole is AWESOME!!

Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLG615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We just ate at mr. Gilbert's and it was fantastic! My husband had a Chicago style pizza and I had spaghetti with meatballs, both were amazing! Mr. Gilbert came up to our table and talked to us, him and his wife were very sweet. He also told us they don't re-use food which is good to know! Must try!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Gilberti's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Gilberti's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing